We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“GREAT”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fruitbat4...
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“GREAT”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Fabulous place,loads 2do,even when its raining!!Good excersise climbing the 42 steps,reminded me of a film,although im sure that was only 39 steps,lol!!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willandme
Loughborough, UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Solid roof!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

And a pleasant place to stay all round, with very helpful owners. It rained most of the weekend we visited, so having a nice place to retreat to was good. The location might not be for all (steep driveway + 40 steps) but the reward is an excellent view of High Tor. The house has been imaginatively and thoughtfully renovated. Handily placed by the A6 for easy access to the local area.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul-Sara...
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Comfy and Cosy”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Booked the cottage at short notice after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. Paul, the wonder was extremely accommodating of us. We weren't able to say for certain what day we would arrive owing yo work but this didn't seem to be a problem. Paul also let us check out a couple of hours late, which is always extremely helpful when you have a toddler (and we had lost an hour with the move to BST)!

Before we got there, we mailed Paul many times with questions and he always responded promptly with a comprehensive reply.

The cottage was a little difficult to find but this didn't cause us any anxiety or stress. A couple of times up and down the road and we worked out how to gain access.

As the site illustrates, there are a lot of moderately steep steps up to the cottage but this was no problem for us or the little one.

There was parking for the car.

The cottage was as expected. Very, very clean, maintained to a high standard and tastefully decorated. The cottage has bags of character, and is decorated with lots of pretty and interesting nick-nacks.

There was central heating and constant hot water. The cottage was lovely and warm with/without the heating on.

The wi-fi worked perfectly well for the duration.

The living room offers a fantastic view of the Tor and we were lucky to have great weather. There is a small television, a dvd player and some good DVDs so we watched a couple of films during one evening.

There is no dining room but we ate at the table in the kitchen for all our meals. The kitchen was very cosy, perfect for a romantic dinner for two! Everything we needed in terms of appliances, cutlery, crockery was available.

The downstairs loo was very handy especially with the toddler. The stairs to the first and second floor bathrooms are quite steep and I wouldn't have liked to have had to rush up or down them with the toddler. In this respect, a stairs gate would have been helpful and would have given us some peace of mind but we did find a way of blocking off the stairs at the top so we were able to relax upstairs without fear of our daughter injuring herself.

The beds were not too soft for us, unlike others have said, they were quite comfortable. They did creak a little although this didn't disturb us too much. We had to take a travel cot for the toddler because there wasn't one available. Given the steep steps and stairs, it would have been good to have one provided but again, not too much of a problem, once it was up in the bedroom. The bed linen was pretty and high quality. There was no noise disturbance from the road at night.

The bathroom and shower rooms were lovely. Lots of towels and nice complimentary toiletries. The view from the velux in the bathroom was great! Being quite small I was able to look out quite comfortably and appreciate the views.

Matlock to the left of the cottage has plenty of shops including a good butcher and there's a supermarket. There are also lots of restaurants which I would have tried had we been staying longer. Matlock Bath to the right has pubs and tea shops, as well as lots of Fish and Chip shops.

Both towns are within walking distance.

If I returned again, I would consider going during the week, to escape the (literally) hundreds of bikers in Matlock Bath. I have nothing at all against bikers themselves but the noise from the bikes frightened my daughter and at times, it was so noisy in the town that we weren't able to chat as we walked.

We took our daughter to Gulliver's Kingdom on Saturday and spent a good half day there. She loved it, so we were also happy. It's definitely not somewhere I'd have gone if we had not had our daughter with us but it bailed us out really, because Matlock Bath was so busy and noisy.

Overall, we had a really great experience at the cottage we will almost certainly stay again. Even though we only stayed 2 nights, we felt as if we'd had a holiday!

When we go again, we will go on the steam engine, which we saw just as we were leaving on the Sunday.

Thanks to Paul (and Karen) for a lovely stay at Imladris!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The romantic kitchen, the views and the bathroom at the top of the house.
Liked least: Nothing really. Would have liked a stairs gate but technically you can't dislike something that's not there!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Hi Paul
I appreciate your feed back , although we say it's not totally suitable for toddlers I think a safety gate is a good idea, we can put t in the cleaning cupboard for Justin ( just in case ) pardon the pun

Regards

Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy P
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Charming and comfortable”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had a short weekend break at this cottage. It has been lovingly restored and although small, charming, comfortable and clean. Very comfortable bedrooms and lovely en suite bathroom and shower facilities. Wonderful view of the Tor. Note steep ascent to the cottage so not for the inactive!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location.”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

After an initial hiccup with double booking on our first day (which we have been told we will be compensated for). Everything after that turned out lovely. The cottage has everything you need, has great views and is perfectly located for Matlock Bath and Matlock. Just remember the steps at the end of a busy day...LOL!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quaintness of the cottage and the amazing bathrooms.
Liked least: The double booking incident. Oh and the soft beds.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing