We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“50th Birthday Bash for Son”
Exterior view of Pear Tree Farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior view of Pear Tree Farm
Front exterior view of Pear Tree Farm Guest Lounge at Pear Tree Farm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Exterior view of Pear Tree Farm
Front exterior view of Pear Tree Farm
Guest Lounge at Pear Tree Farm
Dining Room at Pear Tree Farm
Kitchen at Pear Tree Farm
Double Room at Pear Tree Farm
Family Room at Pear Tree Farm
Twin Room at Pear Tree Farm
Attic Twin Room at Pear Tree Farm
Lavender in Pear Tree Farm's garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tony W
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“50th Birthday Bash for Son”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Couldn't have chosen a better place. Brilliant accomadation, fantastic setting.
Plenty to do in the area,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mushy007
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here with family and friends, one of the couples had stayed here last year and planned the entire weekend. The house, location, space, facilities are all first class and we had a great time. It's modern, clean and very spacious for large groups with the kitchen having everything needed to cook and cater for many people. Met Dave the owner who is always on hand if you need help and really nice. That good we are planning on doing it every year.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth T
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Pear tree farm hen party mayhem”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My friend booked this venue for her hen party and the pear tree farm guesthouse was a perfect venue for such event. We were greeted by the owners and given a grand tour. They explained how every electrical appliance worked and answered any questions we had.

The guesthouse sleeps 22, but we were just 14 people and I feel this was a comfortable number based on the dining/living space. The bedrooms are a mix of double beds and twin rooms all beautifully decorated with clean bedding. The guesthouse has an old feel to it. Lots of chintz and doilies everywhere.

All bedrooms are en suite with some showers working better than others (some don't drain well)

The kitchen has every appliance, serving dish and essential you could need, perfect for cooking big breakfasts/Sunday roasts. They also have 3 fridges and washing machine if you are staying for more than a week.

We attempted to hook up my IPad to the TV in the living room but were unsuccessful, I feel like the owners need to invest in more modern equipment (including the CD player) as I suspect most hen party's would like to use the technology for games they had planned.

The guesthouse is also an arts/craft centre and there is art hanging everywhere with prices on for people to buy. The art is not in keeping with the decor and feel like its a bit in your face.

If you want to venture out of the barn the nearest village is a 3 mile walk away, there are pubs and cafés and a train station in Cromford.

We paid approx £1600 for a 2 night stay in March, I think it is a perfect venue for a hen party and you won't be disappointed with the space

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2015
Thanks Michelle for feedback it is appreciated and pleased you all really enjoyed yourselves!. We note the shower trays need checking (thanks for telling us) and will invest in new tv/dvd player to enable games, although ipod docking is provided on the new digital radio/dvd for music etc. The nearest pub/restaurant is the Jug & Glass in Lea village 10 minutes walk away, shop in Holloway 15 min walk and Crich or Cromford are only 2 miles away. Price you paid was £1350 for sole use of the whole guest house for 2 nights not £1600 as stated although we do charge around £1650 for a 3 night stay. Best wishes and hope to see you all again and many thanks for leaving the place in really good order. p.s. the artwork does change apx every month and paintings are the normal display.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HXMilners
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“New Year Celebrations in the Derbyshire countryside”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Fantastic house, roomy and really well equipped and quality furnishings. Our party of 22 had plenty of eating, living & sleeping space in this lovely home from home. Super walks and nearby sledging fields made this a New Year to remember for all our party, we definitely hope to visit again. We cannot recommend this property strongly enough.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mishymoo9...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent location and accommodation.”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We hired out the whole of Pear Tree Farm for our annual get together of twelve adults and eight children under six years old. The cottage met our requirements perfectly. The house is situated in a beautiful, countryside position with stunning views and scenery all around. It is very well maintained and kept immaculate by the owners who live next door. All bedrooms are en-suite, are a good size and are kitted out with towels, hand soap shower gel and shampoo. They also have a fridge, hair dryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Because we had sole use of the property we had full use of the excellent catering kitchen that was very well equipped and included a massive fridge and freezer, dishwasher and every utensil that you could possibly need! During our stay we visited Chatsworth House and The Heights of Abraham, both of which were within half an hour of the property. We had an excellent 3 night stay,i cant recommend Pear Tree Farm highly enough and we look forward to visiting again, hopefully next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing