We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Character property. ideal for large family group”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Mill signage in front of the property.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Mill signage in front of the property.
The Front Gate at Church St. Holloway, DE4 5AY. The driveway parks 2 cars.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
The Old Mill signage in front of the property.
The Front Gate at Church St. Holloway, DE4 5AY.
The driveway parks 2 cars.
Old photo, at the back of The Old Mill
Fridge and freezer at the entrance with tea and coffee facility.
The landing through Tower Bedroom, Twin Bedroom, Bathroom, Lounge and going down to the Ground Floor
The Landing.
The Lounge with 4 settees.
1st bedroom - Tower bedroom; double bed,  sleeps 2.
1st - bathroom toilet at the 1st floor.
3rd bedroom - bunkbeds room;  2 single adult size, sleeps 2.
4th Bedroom - 2 double beds, 1 single, sleeps 5.
4th Bedroom - 2 double beds, 1 single, sleeps 5.
Family ensuite, shower, toilet and wash basin.
Shower toilet at the family bedroom
Dining Room with large table seats 10 and small table seats 4.
Dining Room.
Fully equipped Kitchen.
Fully equipped Kitchen.
Laundry room - washer dryer and fridge freezer
Patio with gas bbq, tables and chairs
Patio with gas bbq, tables and chairs
5th bedroom - at the Cottage; double bed,  sleeps 2.
At the Cottage sofa bed.
At the Cottage - Sofa bed; sleeps 2 children or 1 adult.
Dining, living room at the Cottage.
Kitchen at the Cottage
Shower toilet at the Cottage
Shower at the Cottage
Shower toilet at the Cottage
The Boats in Matlock Park
At Matlock Park Playground
The Train in Matlock Park
Relax in the park
At Matlock Park
With Removable Children's Safety-Gate.
With Removable Children's Safety-Gate.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MiltonKey...
miltonkeynes
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Character property. ideal for large family group”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for a week and had a lovely stay. The old mill and cottage is ideal for a large family and is well equipped. set on three floors. The lounge had seating for 10 comfortably. Downstairs there is a dining room that seats 10 with an overflow table.. There is a family bedroom that sleeps 4 with a double and a set of bunk beds. It has en suite with a shower. There is another room on this level with bunk beds. Kitchen with entrance to the garden It has small self contained patio area with barbeque.. Double room in the tower upstairs. Twin bed room at entrance level and a family bathroom. . We had parking for three cars on the drive. The kitchen is small but well equipped with a utility room off the garden area. Washing machines in both properties. Our group included a two year old so at the first sight of the spiral staircase I was a little anxious but it was fine and we all took turns to escort him up and down. If you have mobility problems then this would not be ideal but I guess you would not be visiting the area if you had mobility issues as it is full of steps and hills.The cottage is self contained and has a double bedroom small lounge kitchenette and en suite with shower Holloway village has a post office/ general store and an excellent butchers. Good pub close by. Matlock is a short drive away and there are plenty of good walks. The property was clean well equipped and we found the owners to be helpful and friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: annexe was ideal for our party
Liked least: spiral staircase
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah-hud...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average property in great location”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Good points:
Nice village, great area for walking and very picturesque, with nice pub (jug&glass) nearby
Lots of space (sleeps 12)

Not so good points:
This is probably affected by the time of year, but house was very cold and not at all cosy- could do with a log burner in the living room
Only 1 shower in main building
Wasn't enough hot water for a bath
Internet access didn't work (not a problem for us but better not to advertise this)
A few things weren't in great condition such as kitchen floor, placemats
Stairs made unpacking and getting things to the kitchen v difficult

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2015
Unfortunately unbe known to us the central heating is inefficient during this weekend. Subsequently we have replaced this with the brand new Worcester Bosch Boiler and now the central heating is working efficiently.
Regarding the showers, there are 2 new Power Showers have been fitted in the Mill and 1 Power Shower in the cottage.
Regarding internet facilities, there is now a new WI FI internet facilities.
The old beams and spiral staircase are all part of the original features of The Old Mill and this is advertised in our website. If there is any large, heavy items we can carry them round to the kitchen/ground floor for the customers.
The kitchen floor and the placemats have been replaced.

We appreciate your concern!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
punkyfish...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Brilliant stay!”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at the Old Mill over New Years 14/15 and it was perfect for our group (all in our early 20s). The house was lovely and fit all 12 of us in comfortably and the location was great. Only a short drive away from the Peak District and we were able to visit Bakewell, Chatsworth and Dovedale really easily. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix C
1 review
“Very comfortable... Great accommodation...”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The accommodation was spacious and very well equipped with ample parking for our party of 11. The property is set on a hill with great views of the surronding area. Locating the cottage wasn't difficult but coming from Norfolk was a pain... 'A' Road hell... Our hosts were lovely... Local attractions were in easy reach and the local shop / post office is a must visit with amazing offers on very good wines...

Would not hesitate to recommend or stay here again... it really is lovely

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The travelling...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B
1 review
“A perfect place for a family getaway”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We spent two nights at the Old Mill and Cottage and cannot recommend it highly enough.

As we are a big family, getting together at one of our houses is always a squeeze, so this property was perfect - plenty of room for all! The place is full of character and charm, we wish we could have stayed longer. The house is fully stocked with all you need for self catering.

The only small downside is that the lower floor of the Old Mill (containing the kitchen and dining room, as well as two of the bedrooms) is only accessible by a very tight spiral staircase, which may not be suitable for elderly people.

Apart from that, full marks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charachter of the property
Liked least: The staircase
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing