We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Mill signage in front of the property.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Mill signage in front of the property.
The Front Gate at Church St. Holloway, DE4 5AY. The driveway parks 2 cars.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
The Old Mill signage in front of the property.
The Front Gate at Church St. Holloway, DE4 5AY.
The driveway parks 2 cars.
Old photo, at the back of The Old Mill
Fridge and freezer at the entrance with tea and coffee facility.
The landing through Tower Bedroom, Twin Bedroom, Bathroom, Lounge and going down to the Ground Floor
The Landing.
The Lounge with 4 settees.
1st bedroom - Tower bedroom; double bed,  sleeps 2.
1st - bathroom toilet at the 1st floor.
3rd bedroom - bunkbeds room;  2 single adult size, sleeps 2.
4th Bedroom - 2 double beds, 1 single, sleeps 5.
4th Bedroom - 2 double beds, 1 single, sleeps 5.
Family ensuite, shower, toilet and wash basin.
Shower toilet at the family bedroom
Dining Room with large table seats 10 and small table seats 4.
Dining Room.
Fully equipped Kitchen.
Fully equipped Kitchen.
Laundry room - washer dryer and fridge freezer
Patio with gas bbq, tables and chairs
Patio with gas bbq, tables and chairs
5th bedroom - at the Cottage; double bed,  sleeps 2.
At the Cottage sofa bed.
At the Cottage - Sofa bed; sleeps 2 children or 1 adult.
Dining, living room at the Cottage.
Kitchen at the Cottage
Shower toilet at the Cottage
Shower at the Cottage
Shower toilet at the Cottage
The Boats in Matlock Park
At Matlock Park Playground
The Train in Matlock Park
Relax in the park
At Matlock Park
With Removable Children's Safety-Gate.
With Removable Children's Safety-Gate.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
punkyfish...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Brilliant stay!”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at the Old Mill over New Years 14/15 and it was perfect for our group (all in our early 20s). The house was lovely and fit all 12 of us in comfortably and the location was great. Only a short drive away from the Peak District and we were able to visit Bakewell, Chatsworth and Dovedale really easily. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix C
1 review
“Very comfortable... Great accommodation...”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The accommodation was spacious and very well equipped with ample parking for our party of 11. The property is set on a hill with great views of the surronding area. Locating the cottage wasn't difficult but coming from Norfolk was a pain... 'A' Road hell... Our hosts were lovely... Local attractions were in easy reach and the local shop / post office is a must visit with amazing offers on very good wines...

Would not hesitate to recommend or stay here again... it really is lovely

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The travelling...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B
1 review
“A perfect place for a family getaway”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We spent two nights at the Old Mill and Cottage and cannot recommend it highly enough.

As we are a big family, getting together at one of our houses is always a squeeze, so this property was perfect - plenty of room for all! The place is full of character and charm, we wish we could have stayed longer. The house is fully stocked with all you need for self catering.

The only small downside is that the lower floor of the Old Mill (containing the kitchen and dining room, as well as two of the bedrooms) is only accessible by a very tight spiral staircase, which may not be suitable for elderly people.

Apart from that, full marks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charachter of the property
Liked least: The staircase
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jns123
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Rental Property for Family Holiday”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My extended family (12 adults in total) rented both the Old Mill house and the adjacent cottage for four nights surrounding my Wedding in Derby. I cannot express the wonderful time that we had during our stay!
The location is great - the area is beautiful (we did have time to take a walk along a public foot path) and the people in the village are lovely.
The old mill house itself is clean and there is a lot of room - I'm sure another 3 people could have slept on the sofas in the living/sitting room if it was necessary. The living room is quite big and it allowed for the entire family to sit together and chat well into the evening. We even had some family local to the area come and visit - there was ample space for us all!. The kitchen is well equipped and we cooked a couple of family meals there. There are two refrigerators (one upstairs and one downstairs in the kitchen) which was handy and held all of our groceries. There is a spiral staircase which may be a problem for young children or people who have difficultly walking/climbing - but our oldest family member was 75 and had no trouble (we did make a sort of assembly line for transferring groceries down the stairs). It was difficult/nearly impossible to bring heavy suitcases down the stair, so we left a few of them on the main level. Honestly, the stairs look scarier than they are and no one had any trouble once they went slowly and held onto the handrail.
There are two bathrooms in the house, but only the one downstairs has a shower. The bathroom downstairs is off the family bedroom, but once we were all up, we took turns using that bathroom or we wend over to the cottage to use that bathroom (which also has a shower).
My parents stayed in the nearby cottage which was lovely and also have a fridge and small kitchen (though we didn't use it). There is a small sitting area which I think could have held a single blow up mattress if necessary. We actually used the cottage as the dressing area for myself (the bride) and my 3 bridesmaids and the mother of the bride. while there weren't many mirrors it gave us a lot of space to do our hair and makeup away from the rest of the family also getting ready.
Another important thing to mention is that there was free wifi which was important as we were all from out of the country and didn't have data on our phones.
I believe that there was parking for 5 cars in the drive excluding the owner's vehicle (which also fit). The owner and his family were extremely friendly and greeted us upon arrival. They even left us chocolate on two occasions and gave my husband and I a bottle of champagne for our wedding as a gift! They are truly nice people.
If any one is traveling to the area with a large group, or a couple away on their own, I would definitely recommend the Old Mill House and/or Cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of the house
Liked least: Only two showers
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndielou...
Norfolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place and now part of some very happy memories.”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Old Mill to celebrate our Ruby Wedding with our family. Our party consisted of 6 adults, 2 teenagers and 2 younger children. It all worked really well for us particularly with the extra space in the adjoining cottage for our son and his new partner. Mr and Mrs Wood were friendly and helpful and very kindly provided a couple of lovely thoughtful touches which were much appreciated. The accommodation was very well equipped, clean and comfy. Loads of cold storage space and excellent wifi. I wondered how our 2 year old grandson would negotiate the spiral staircase but there were plenty hands around to help him and it was not a problem. It all made the experience a bit quirky and part of the adventure. There were toys inside and out and they were a great success with our little grandsons. Plenty to do around the area. We opted for a day at Gullivers Kingdom and it proved a great decision as older kids and adults were allowed on the rides and encouraged the little ones to have a go. Good fun and stunning scenery too. After a lovely family party in the evening we decided to relax the next day and let The Jug and Glass provide us with an excellent meal. It was a magical time for us. Great to be all together in such a lovely place and so glad that we chose it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing