We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for a college reunion”

Review of Castle Cliffe

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Ground floor plan
1st floor plan
2nd floor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stevenmou...
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place for a college reunion”
Reviewed 2 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a fantastic time at Castle Cliffe for our annual college reunion. The location is perfect for access onto the bike trail to Bakewell and some fantastic pub walks around Monsal Head. The house is very well equipped and the layout works well for family groups coming together. Thank you and we hope to return soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stbotolph...
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious house for family meet up”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We all had a great week at Castle Cliffe
Really lovely warm house. Great venue for big group - space to do things together and separately. Packhorse pub is very friendly with good food.
Went on some fab walks and the younger children loved The heights of Abraham - they enjoyed hide and seek in the house best of all though.
Hope to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
658lisa
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideal house for large family gathering”
Reviewed 11 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We have been booking family get-togethers on an annual basis for the last 20 years and have stayed in many large houses across the Peak District, Yorkshire and the Lakes. Castle Cliffe is one of the best we have used. The location is fabulous with lovely views and walks straight from the door. A pub within walking distance is another of our criteria when choosing properties and Castle Cliffe has two! Many properties that are advertised for big groups can't seat everyone round a dining table but again Castle Cliffe delivers. If you don't want to cook, I can recommend Jo and Simon at the Green Pavilion, Buxton who delivered three delicious trays of food - Beef Stifado, Lasagne and Caribbean Chicken with accompaniments on the Saturday night. The house has lots of space, is very well equipped and the bedrooms are all of a good standard with lots of bathrooms, 3 with baths as well as showers. A great place to stay and one I'm sure we will return to.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gradlip45
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Residence for a Group Holiday”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We were a group of seventeen Suffolk bellringers on a weeks ringing holiday in Derbyshire. We all get on well; some are married some single and Castle Cliffe was the ideal plece to stay. We were so impressed with its facilities, decorative order and comfort. On our first morning we were all in the kitchen making our individual breakfasts and there were enough facilities and room for us to achieve this without any problems or much waiting. The dining room was ideal for communal eating and the lounge areas just so comfortable. The bedrooms were excellent, most with en-suite facilities and views and there was ample car parking for our vehicles. This is an ideal choice for a group event.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mike l
adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing place for group in peaks”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed for a wedding weekend at Hassop hall nearby.
Great house for a large group, well provisioned kitchen and great gardens.
Neil was excellent in settling us in and cannot fault communication.
All guests keen to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing