We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect little cottage in lovely surroundings”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Views from the rear garden,there is also a small village recreation area to the right
Chatsworth house and park land
We've got beautiful walks from Devonshire Cottage along the river to Chatsworth Bridge
Chatsworth House & beautiful gardens to walk around,get lost in the maze,picnic on the lawn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jo P
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect little cottage in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed 5 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this cottage for a short Valentines break in the Peak District. The cottage is perfect - the great decor and small finishing touches make it home from home. It was also spotlessly clean! We even had a bottle of wine waiting for us in the fridge. The cottage is well stocked with kitchen utensils, cleaning products etc - and the rooms are a good size. We booked it just for the 2 of us but the cottage is big enough for 4. It's great to have a fire to light in the evenings while cosying up on the sofas. There were logs when we got there but we called the mobile number supplied and had some more logs delivered for a reasonable price. There are also lots of information on walks, maps etc.
Beeley is a lovely little village in the Chatsworth Estate - good location to explore. We did one walk straight from the cottage up to Beeley Moor (to Hob Hurst's House which we'd recommend as it was quiet and away from the crowds) and down around the estate. We also drove to Bakewell and did the Monsal Trail. Highly recommend a Bakewell pudding! The Devonshire Arms is literally across the road but we wouldn't recommend it for an evening meal (or even a quick drink as its more of a hotel/restaurant than a nice local pub) - but ideally located.
Overall perfect cottage and wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend to others.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage with beautiful surroundings!”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a lovely stay in Devonshire Cottage with our friends. The cottage is furnished to a very high standard with everything we needed for a very comfortable stay. Our hosts also left a bottle of wine to welcome us, which we thought was a nice touch. We highly rate this accommodation and will definitely visit again!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyJuli...
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful charming cottage”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here for 2 days, it was absolutely immaculate, everything you need, beautiful views from the back garden, lovely pub across the road expensive but hay your on your jollies
We had a lovely day in Bakewell not far at all.
Would definitely recommend and will definitely come back
Thank you

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prudie201...
Atherstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Charming cottage in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beeley is a lovely village close to Chatsworth and surrounded by glorious countryside. The cottage is beautifully furnished with everything a holiday maker could need. Very clean and well prepared. Marlene was welcoming and most helpful and pleasant. It is a great base to explore the Peak District

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation
Liked least: We prefer a bigger bed and a thin duvet would be great in the hot weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie S
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, beautiful location”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a lovely week at Devonshire Cottage. Marlene and her family were very welcoming and the cottage is beautifully presented and very clean! The cottage is opposite a great pub and its location is perfect for many of the Peak District's days out, as well and there being multiple walking routes on the door step.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing