We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Welcome to The Barn at The Old Bakery 'Your holiday awaits!' View from The Barn's Balcony, 'Perhaps the first walk of your holiday?'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Welcome to The Barn at The Old Bakery 'Your holiday awaits!'
View from The Barn's Balcony, 'Perhaps the first walk of your holiday?'
Relax in the The Barn's Lounge: comfortable seating and Maple flooring throughout..
Lounge: Maple floor throughout the whole property.
Fast Broadband wifi.
We provide all 'home from home luxuries'
Enjoy a 'home cooked meal' or a Take away delivery'
The Bedroom awaits!
Dream of your next adventure in a King Sized Double Bed
'Enjoy watching the stars, or close the blind and have complete darkness'
'Relax and unwind' 
A VERY comfortable king sized bed with all the linen provided:
Relax and unwind in a comfortable King sized bed
Shower or relax in a bath of hot water in the fully refurbished bathroom.
Enjoy a relaxing shower or soak in the bath after a great days walk in the Peak District.
Relax and enjoy a Complimentary Bottle of Wine, upon your arrival !
Lounge area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Sleep in a King Sized Double Bed 'dreaming of your next adventure'.
Bedroom
Bedroom
...'And so to Bed'  Corridor to the Barn's Bedroom
Summer Scene:
The beautiful River Bradford, Bradford Dale, Youlgrave. 5 minutes walk away
The Stunning River Lathkill, 10-15 minutes walk away.
A site of Special Scientific Interest.
The Source of The River Lathkill. 30 minutes walk away.  A Fantastic walk
A Mill Stone found in Lathkill Dale, used for grinding; Emblem for The Peak District National Park
Youlgreave's Water Tower: an historic monument. It stored water for the village people to collect.
Fountain Well Square:
The Water Tower and The Bulls Head dominate the architecture.
Kitchen area
Lots of video's
Lounge - diner
Lounge
Lounge
Feature window
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Kitchen Table
Kitchen area
Maple flooring throughout
The entry to The Barn
Staircase to The Barn
Staircase to The Barn
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Bank Top Well 2017
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Emma W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Accommodation”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The accommodation is well well equipped with everything you could possibly need! It was also spotlessly clean and in a brilliant location for walking and visiting sites, like Bakewell, Matlock and Eyam. I would highly recommend and would without a doubt visit again! Thank you for a fantastic holiday.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that the accommodation lived up to your requirements. We have tried to ensure that The Barn @ The Old Bakery provides a 'home from home' experience for our guests. As you rightly point out the property provides an ideal base to explore the local towns, yet equally provides a great base to walk from the door of the property into the wonderful Peak District National Park.
We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess W
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect! Clean, cosy, comfortable and a great location for walking.”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Absolutely fantastic week staying at the The Barn @ The Old Bakery. The flat was so nice and cosy, spotlessly clean and in a lovely location for some great walks. Ken and Carol were greats hosts, very helpful and attentive. We had a fantastic time exploring the beautiful Peak District and definitely want to come back and explore some more! The Barn is in a great location for walks straight out the door, and close to Bakewell to get your fix of tasty tarts!

Would recommend to anyone - could not have asked for more from a holiday apartment.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased that The Barn @ The Old Bakery exceeded your expectations. This makes us feel proud, as this is what we aim for.
Walking from the door of The Barn @ The Old Bakery, offers a wealth of possibilities to explore the beautiful Derbyshire Dales Countryside of the Peak District National Park.
We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
483timd48...
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Superlative- Great Value!”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

What more can you say other than 'superlative'!
Our stay was greatly enhanced by the wonderful friendliness of the next door butcher.
We very rarely eat meat but are not 100% vegetarian. We can highly recommend his home cured bacon (this was a stand out for us as we hadn't touched bacon for well over
a year). We also enjoyed his Cumberland sausages and his pork pies.
Would love to return for longer!
Tim and Anne

Date of stay: January 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2015
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in The Barn @ The Old Bakery. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the village and its friendly community. We are blessed with 3 pubs and two shops within the village which certainly enhances the amenities for our guests. As you say the local butcher, 'less than a stones throw away', offers a great service.
We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianbT7413...
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Stay”
Reviewed 17 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Thank you to Ken and Carol, hosts at the The Old Bakery Youlgreave, who made our stay in The Barn @ The Old Bakery so pleasant. The accommodation is first class, the scenery beautiful and Youlgreave as a base is perfectly situated for visiting this part of the Peak District. The Barn is clean, cosy and warm and has every luxury you would wish for. Ken and Carol go out of their way to make you feel welcome and are there to give advice on the area if needed. Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will be back and have no hesitation in highly recommending both The Old Bakery and The Barn @ The Old Bakery to everyone. Ian and Sonya, Northamptonshire.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation, a home from home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
Thank you for your review, it is really appreciated.
We are pleased to read you found The Barn @ The Old Bakery met with your expectations. We try to ensure, if guests have not visited The Peak District National Park before, that we provide them with as much information as possible to enrich their stay in this wonderful area. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Dec 2014
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you found The Barn @ The Old Bakery met with your expectation.
The accommodation is well placed to explore the White peaks and the wider Peak District National Park.
The village is blessed with three good pubs all serving home cooked food and great ales. We also have a well stocked butchers and grocer/Post Office within 20metres of The Barn.
We hope you are able to return to continue your exploration of this beautiful area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.