We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful relaxing break in Yourgreave”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Vicarage Barn

Old Vicarage Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Vicarage Barn
Old Vicarage Barn Old Vicarage Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Old Vicarage Barn
Old Vicarage Barn
Old Vicarage Barn
Sitting Room
Mezzanine Bedroom
Bathroom
woodburning stove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vanessa T
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing break in Yourgreave”
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Wonderful, fully equipped bijou barn conversion that felt like a home away from home. The log burner was most welcome after a snowy/sleety walk in the wonderful area that surrounds Youlgreave. Small touches like the chocolate cake and milk in the fridge allow you to unpack while you enjoy a cuppa. Having to not bring extras like cling film, foil, washing up liquid etc was a bonus. There is even ground coffee granules in the fridge. The wonderful slipper bath was a treat for sore legs after a long walk. Thank you for a great stay

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
Thank you very much for your comments. Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimie62
Walsoken, Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean property, excellently located for fantastic scenic walks & village pubs serving food.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our 3rd annual visit to Youlgreave in 2014 which was also our 2nd stay at Old Vicarage Barn. After staying in other accommodation in our first year, and driving round the area checking out nearby villages we don't intend to stay in another village or property when we return as we don't feel any other place could match what is on offer here. The accommodation is well thought out, very clean, well maintained and provides many amenities/necessities so you don't have to pack as much. The extra touches also make it feel a bit more special - such as fresh free range eggs, pint of milk, basic provisions and a yummy cake! I think the view over the dale from the peaceful garden at The Old Vicarage Barn is priceless and a place i find myself feeling very relaxed and content in! Such a kind gesture for Penny & Mark to share that with us guests! After reading a previous guests review (which i thought was harsh regarding the bird poo on the car - seriously can a property owner be accountable for the actions of local wildlife? - i can confirm we only had one bit of bird poo on the car after a week parked there and that may have come with us for all we know!) i have to say it is a huge plus to have a property with a decent off road parking space as on road parking in the area can be limited - so the off road parking being included is a bonus too. The property is situated central in the village near the butchers/general store, post office and pubs that serve good value & tasty food. Plus a short walk to the pretty river that runs through the village. Locals are very friendly and welcoming. You don't feel like an intruding outsider when you visit this area at all - everyone greets you with a warm good morning or hello on passing. The village is well situated for getting about further afield in the area, but also very peaceful and laid back. It's easy to find walks where you hardly pass anyone too and can just take in the scenery and surrounding views. The whole area is very dog friendly including the ability to take your dog in the pub with you whilst you have a meal. Over the 3 years staying in the village we have tried to use the car as little as possible as there is so much you can get to with Youlgreave as a base to walk from. Tried and tested favourites that we continue to revisit are the Bradford Dale river which runs through Youlgreave in both directions either to Alport or to Middleton, Lathkill Dale via Alport and also across the fields to Robin Hoods Stride including the hermits cave and nearby 4 stone circle. We also liked finding many of the nearby 'Middleton Sites of Meaning' which are stone carvings & verses located in various places (worth looking up online). If you are in need of help to get your bearings i would recommend getting a village map from the butchers opposite or the Youlgreave Walks Guide from the post office in Youlgreave. For more choice of shops and places to eat Bakewell is a 5 min drive away and that also has fab walks too. As far as we are concerned the only negative about Old Vicarage Barn & Youlgreave is having to leave at the end of your stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful views from the garden.
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanThorne
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Modern with bird mess”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The barn was not what we expected but on reflection and looking at the pictures it is as appears- very small and modern. The metal staircase leading to the mezzanine bedroom was a bit steep especially coming down in the middle of the night to go the bathroom. The barn has all mod cons but lacks a nest of tables to put a glass or cup on when sitting on the small sofa. The main disadvantage of our stay was the daily chore of cleaning the bird mess off the car. The only other option would have been to leave the car in the main road if you could find room.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2014
Thank you for your commentss.The village always has an invasion of rooks at this time of year! Coffee table now provided. Many thanks, Penny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe F
East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cottage and area the best we have found in the Peaks”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Our second stay here, first time a week of sunshine, second a week if rain but we still loved it just as much. The cottage is very comfortable, everything we needed was there and the bath superb after a long day walking in the rain. Penny has put in those extra special touches and her cakes are superb. Youlgreave must be be the nicest position to stay in the Peak District, a lovely peaceful village.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2014
It is always a pleasure having you to stay. It was a shame the weather was not as kind to you this time but maybe next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retired-p...
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautifully converted barn in lovely countryside”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Old Vicarage Barn, in the grounds of the owners' house, is in an excellent position in the High Street in Youlgreave village - easy walking to 3 pubs for evening meals (we recommend The Farmyard - booking essential), a butchers/bakers and a post office (both of which sell some groceries etc). The countryside all around is ideal for walking (several books of walks and OS map at the barn), and well placed for visiting many stately homes, mills, mines and museums. The Barn is really well equipped as a home-from-home, the flagstone floor with underfloor heating being one example of how a conversion can be practical but very comfortable. There is a small sunny patio next to the barn, and an area at the end of the owners' garden for guests to enjoy the countryside views. Mark and Penny were friendly and helpful hosts (fresh eggs and Penny's yummy chocolate cake were thoughtful welcoming gifts) - we definitely recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall very high quality of conversion, furnishings and equipment, also excellent location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing