We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and warm welcoming pub”
Review of The Peacock Inn

The Peacock Inn
Ranked #20 of 88 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Great selection of meals. Well cooked and good service. Glad we booked. Very popular.

Be prepared for large portions!!

Will return when in Bakewell.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Mark529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, GREATNESS IS ALOT OF SMALL THINGS DONE WELL at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you Mark529 for a fantastic bullit point review of the Peacock Inn

Looks like we ticked all the boxes and did our job! and you did yours by taking time to show your appreciation

Will see you again on your return to Bakewell

ONE KIND WORD CAN WARM! you gave us more than one !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 1 365 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Good pub with some good beers, was very busy when we were there which I suppose is a food sign, the food isn’t cheap but it is good quality and a fair price. Would come again if in the area

3  Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, THE DECENT MAN AT THE PEACOCK at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hey Glenn W

Many Many Thanks for reviewing our Little Inn in Bakewell

Decent pub! well yes, I guess were are Glenn and its usually a good sign when a place is busy!

Some days we are heaving out the door for hours! We say ITS A GOOD PROBLEM at the Peacock!

I suppose the word cheap depends on your outlook on life, I personnally never normally quibble price untill after, then you make your assumptions on what you have just eaten or drank! I keep saying it, you get what you pay for in life, and if you buy cheap! you buy twice! Here at the Peacock cheaps not on the menu! but QUALITY is !! all the time.

Decent Pub + Decent customers = A GOOD CHANCE OF DECENT SUCCESS !! Thank you again Glen

See you again when your next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Came here for lunch after a wander around Bakewell as it looked nice from the outside and the weather was good. When we walked in the place was packed, which was to be expected, we weren't seen by any staff so we pinched some menus off the bar and went and sat outside. There were no staff taking orders so you had to order at the bar. We ordered food which was horrendously expensive for what it was (over £3 for a pint of lemonade!), it also took an unacceptable amount of time to arrive with one of our party having to wait an hour after the rest of our food arrived for theirs to come! The staff weren't friendly and were acting as if we were an inconvenience. Overall this pub has a lot of potential but needs a complete rethink and a change of staff! Would avoid if the town is busy or you want to save some money!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
19  Thank Nomad2k17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, THE UNIMPRESSED RESPONDER at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

OH HERE WE GO NOMAD2K17 >> BIG SIGH

So you came to the Peacock, THE BUSIEST PLACE IN TOWN !!!! AND WE WERE PACKED, YES PACKED TO THE RAFTERS INSIDE AND OUT!

We take "ORDERS AT THE BAR LIKE IT STATES AT THE TOP OF THE MENU NOMAD2K17"

Now lets think about this, if you thought the food and drink were horrendously expensive WHY DID YOU STAY AND ORDER?? How do you judge expensive?

By how much money you earn?
By how much money you dont earn?
By how you value life?
By how much you pay in your local?
By how much produce costs in the shop?
By listening to the opinions of others?
Who knows!

Read the reviews NOMAD, we serve great food and drink here !!

We dont profess to be cheap! what is cheap? if it's cheap it's usually cheap for a reason.... it's crap!! if you wanted cheap then you should have gone elsewhere within your budget !! instead of trying to damm the Peacock

We buy the best quality ingredients from ALL local suppliers (other than the fish of course) We pay a premium for premium produce and this reflects in what is GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY! .. you said it your self the food was nice!

Its always easy to blame the venue or the operator on price without knowing the cost! We are not expensive nomad2k17 and we are not cheap!

Not sure what you mean by an unacceptable time to arrive! but if there is a wait ...... then there is a wait for a reason, everything is cooked fresh to order and we are not magicians, there is no ping and ding!!

Im guessing you ordered seperately to your friends! so therefore the food wouldn't come out at the same time or if your friends ordered hot food and you cold, then its possible there was less wait time on cold food. Either way if the place is busy, you would have been informed. Im not saying your exaggerating (or maybe I am!) but most people do when it comes to wait time!.. fortunately for us the till doesn't lie and records the time!

Dont get me wrong nomad2k17 your entitled to voice your opinion! after all our opinions are just that, OUR opinion and not always the opinion of many others!

If its about saving money then I suggest you bring a pack up next time your in town! because beauty comes at a price!

Peace and prosperity nomad2k17.. then maybe you can afford to return to Bakewell !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed for a few days with my wife. Staff, room, food - all absolutely superb.
Very friendly and helpful. I really could not find fault with anything.
We’ll be back!

3  Thank Laurence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, THE MAN WHO CAN RECOMMEND THE PEACOCK at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

HEY LAURENCE A !!!

short sweet and to the point !!

Thank you also for re booking in January! same room!

You make our job worthwhile with your appreciation

THANK YOU FOR YOUR PART IN MY JOURNEY OF LIFE AT THE PEACOCK!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

My husband and I wanted a drink at the Peacock. We felt very unwelcome it’s seem to much work for the landlord. First we taught it’s because we did not want to eat. However a lot of people cued up to order food. The service in the pub needs to change. It does not cost anything to be polite and smile when dealing with the public.

21  Thank Gudrun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, ALWAYS LOOK ON THE BRIGHT SIDE OF LIFE at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Well GUDRUN not sure what your problem is but I suggest you lighten up about life! We are a great friendly bunch at the Peacock! and TBH I'll keep this short and sweet!

The food and drink service is amazing here given how successful we are! People were in a QUEUE (i was a little snookered by your spelling of queued) at the bar not just for food but for drinks! We cant help being busy Gudrun, I honestly thought thats why I am in business?? perhaps I was wrong!! And if in a given moment we showed a frown, its because more than likely we were under pressure! so I can but apologies. But a little severe dont you thing to publically try to condem the Peacock and its very hard working staff? shame on you!

TWO SIDES TO A STORY GUDRUN, YET PEOPLE END UP LISTENING TO ONE SIDE AND BELIEVE IT TO BE THE TRUTH


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Peacock Inn also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Youlgreave, Bakewell
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Peacock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing