We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming, clean and comfortable, but awkward...”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of cottage - a real get away from it all !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage - a real get away from it all !
Little hideaway!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Front of cottage - a real get away from it all !
Little hideaway!
Cosy lounge
View from bedroom 2
Complimentary wine on arrival !
Rear patio area with barbecue
Master bedroom with 5ft King size divan bed - very comfortable
Attic with double bed - slightly restricted head height
Bedroom 2 with double bed
View from master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pwr0gers
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming, clean and comfortable, but awkward access and parking”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Peak Cottage is a mere 10 minute uphill walk from the centre of Bakewell. Bakewell makes a perfect base from which to explore the Peak District, but is a charming, characterful market town in its own right and certainly deserves at least a day exploring.
The cottage was very clean and comfortable, with good facilities. Communications with the owner (Debra) were excellent and we were made to feel very welcome.
On the down-side, however, access to the cottage is via a short, narrow lane, in need of some repair, the top of which was very muddy and slippery. It made off-loading and reloading luggage quite awkward, and would be potentially hazardous in wet weather. Furthermore, cars must then be parked somewhere on the main road (for which there is some competition) because there is no space available to park in the access lane for tenants of Peak Cottage.
In short, a lovely cottage in a lovely town, but let down by its access and parking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2017
Hi roger so glad you enjoyed your stay - we do advertise that there is only on street parking as we are a secret hideaway - I also noticed that it was getting muddy due to heavy rainfall as this rarely happens however we are placing a ton of hardcore at the top of the lane and also we are having a new patio laid this week so this will improve access so thankyou for your feedback Debra - ps parking in Bakewell is a premium
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJBlount1...
Worcester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended ”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed here for a birthday weekend in January. The cottage is lovely, very clean, well equipped and extremely comfortable- it has been made to feel like a home from home. We would highly recommend the location and cottage - the owners are very helpful and approachable, I doubt anything would be too much trouble. We will absolutely revisit!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure hosting your stay, regards Debra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne A
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Lovely stay over the New Year period. Greeted on arrival by a well presented cottage and a bottle of Fizz and mince pies! Cosy living room and fireplace with wifi and good choice of tv freeview channels. Hairdryer and straighteners in bedroom should we have needed them.
Great bedrooms and beautiful views. 10 minute stroll down the hill to central Bakewell.
There to celebrate new year and my birthday - couldn't have enjoyed it more.
Would highly recommend, great communication from the owner felt very welcome there.
Thanks Debs! We loved it :) xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Oh what a lovely review thankyou so much it just shows that our hard work pays off in you enjoying your stay thankyou very much and another thankyou for leaving our cottage so clean and tidy x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmawT304...
Alfreton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect Christmas retreat”
Reviewed 27 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We had a fab 4 night here! Lovely cottage very cosy and within walking distance of bakewell! We will definitely book again! And the doggie approves too

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2016
Thank you Emma so glad you enjoyed it x come back soon !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth L
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Really enjoyable weekend spent in Bakewell. Nice cottage in a good location. Plenty of great pubs a short walk away. Recommended!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2016
Thank you for staying with us we hope to see you again x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing