We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Classy 5-star self-catering for groups who like...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Grove Barn

Grove Barn, with Bath in the distance.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Grove Barn, with Bath in the distance.
Our grand design - Grove Barn.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Grove Barn, with Bath in the distance.
Our grand design - Grove Barn.
Probably the best view in Wiltshire, looking out across the valley towards Bath.
Master bedroom en-suite. Underfloor heating.
Bedroom 2 en-suite shower room.
Grove Barn is dog friendly. Please let us know if you would like to bring a pet.
Organic vegetables are available to buy from the farm.
Fabulous walks are right on your doorstep.
Grove Farm - beautiful all year round.
Grove Barn at sunset.
Welcome to Grove Farm!
See you soon!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Corsham, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gaijinett...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Classy 5-star self-catering for groups who like views, space, light and mod cons”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I booked both Grove Barn and next-door Grove Lodge in late February for 8 family members to celebrate my wedding. There were three dogs, which requires a small additional fee, but it's a very dog-friendly environment with lovely walks literally outside the property, a water bowl and outdoor tap for washing muddy paws (and boots). My parents, used to more modest self-catering, brought everything but the kitchen sink with them, but affable owners Giles and Fiona supplied everything you might need from cling film to a dishwasher, not to mention the modern indispensables of internet and decent coffee maker, and the ultimate winter luxury, underfloor heating and a wood burning fire.The Barn sits above the Box valley and the city of Bath can be seen in the distance. The Barn's huge windows means you can simply sit with a glass of wine and look out at the view, day or night. Stylish uplights around the property add to the nighttime atmosphere. So, the property and facilities are excellent. Now to the location. Aside from the view, there is a really great 'local' five minutes' walk away (which also has stunning views and which does a fabulous Sunday roast), and a lovely walk - with or without dogs - through the woods opposite, which are riddled with old stone quarrying mines (hence the pub name The Quarrymen). You can even go underground with mine tours arranged by the pub (I think). The village of Box, a short drive down the hill, has everything you might need such as a small but well-stocked Co-op, another pub (good for live music), a PO, a chemist and a great Indian restaurant. If you have a large group and are visiting Bath, I would strongly recommend you stay here rather than try and stay in Bath. Other fantastic places to visit nearby include Bradford-on Avon, Lacock and the underrated Corsham. But why would you even want to leave Grove Barn? I had planned for my family to go out in the evenings, but it was so nice at the Barn we simply made buffet-style food, lit the fire and sat around drinking, talking and playing the piano on the mezzanine level. It was so cosy and sociable! In fact my whole family said we should get together again in warmer weather to take advantage of the outside table, BBQ and huge open glass doors. This place really is a gem. It really brought our family together in so many ways, and everyone had a fantastic time. Thank you Giles and Fiona.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The views and huge glass windows
Liked least: I liked everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2016
Wow. What a great review. Lots of really useful information for future guests. Thanks! G and F.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
born2trav...
weymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So good we have been there twice now”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Excellent quality, with 3 double rooms each with their own ensuite. Room to relax with space if you would like a bit of quiet time. Great for family and friends. Light and airy with stunning views and local walks, and a local pub just a couple hundred yards away with excellent food

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Having ensuite said for each bedroom
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back a third time! G and F
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail
Liked least: Having to leave on Monday morning!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Dec 2015
Thank you for your generous comments. We hope to see you back at Grove Farm one day. G and F.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nikkipear...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing light & stunning view!”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A return to Grove Farm. This time however we stayed in the 'big' barn. Our previous visits have been to The Lodge.
A lovely welcome pack greeted us, (Fiona, you really do make THE best choc brownies!), & the dogs were in luck too-special treats! Thank you.
The Barn manages to give you a wonderful feeling of space, whilst remaining cosy & welcoming. The light flooding in from the lovely floor to ceiling windows brings a warmth to both sitting areas, & a feeling too, that nature is on the doorstep. It engages all the senses, and should anyone staying be a little bit creative......this is the space in which inspiration will happen! With the light & the sky constantly changing, (all can be viewed from the very comfortable & well positioned sofas); what is there not to love?!
The bedrooms & bathrooms are beautifully fitted, water constantly hot, heating controls easy to adjust, kitchen well equipped, log burner,.......everything is of a high spec.
Should you wish to venture out, there are plenty of places to visit. National Trust properties are close by, Bath a few miles, lovely walks on the doorstep & The quarryman's Arms a short walk down the lane, perfect at anytime; but particularly Sunday lunch! The views are good from there too.
Well done, & thank you Giles & Fiona, you work so hard to make sure all is as good as it can be for your guests. Always on hand, always greet on arrival, & help if it is needed. You are a shining example in the world of holiday lets!
Just checking diaries to see when we can return............!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Thank you *so* much for your kind review. We are delighted that Grove Barn proved a big success. We look forward to welcoming you all back very soon (and the lovely dogs!)

G and F
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robins196...
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not one to be missed, an amazing barn conversion in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Wow Grove Barn exceeded all of our expectations! We had a glorious week in a super clean ( coming from someone who is super fussy when it comes to clean kitchens and bathrooms!!!), well equipped barn. The owners are lovely and the barn is a credit to them. They have taken great care and attention to ensure it is equipped with everything you could possibly need whilst there, even down to dishwasher tablets and soap. The brownies, fresh bread, butter and milk were an pleasant treat upon arrival. The barn is huge but has a lovely airy feel to it. It was very enjoyable to sit and look across the valley. It was that comfortable we struggled to get our son to go out ( there were even some toys in a cupboard). Would highly recommend and will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic views from the barn
Liked least: Having to leave!!!!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
We are delighted that you had such a successful stay at Grove Barn! We do hope to see you all again very soon. Best wishes, G and F.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing