We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
120
40
12
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
40
12
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbell tenthot water bottlescool boxlongleat ticketseco toiletsglamping sitecamping experiencelongleat safari parkdouble decker busgreat campinggas stoveclean toilets showerseco campingcafe busstaff onsitecooking utensilstea towels
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018

My family and I visited Botany Farm for an overnight camping stay and frankly were rather disappointed. We paid nearly £60 for two pitches to accommodate 4 adults and 4 young children which seems a little excessive for what we got. The campsite is not well signposted and overall the site lacks care and attention. The toilet facilities were basic and not well maintained for example there was a notice in the toilet saying 'spare loo rolls in the bin below' but there were none. Obviously no one had checked and considering this was a weekend in summer with a good weather forecast the management might have anticipated that they would have lots of campers. In our field there were two washing up sinks in the open air - heaven help people when the weather is bad. Equally three of the toilet/shower cubicles have no roofs! There is however plenty of hot water thanks to on-site solar panels. I suspect that the management are more interested in making money out of their food outlet which is run from an old double decker bus. The price of two scoops of ice cream was £2.80. I did not enquire the cost of a cooked breakfast or a Thai meal which was on offer. The website states that the price of a pitch includes the use of a barbecue but there were none in usable condition at the time of our visit.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank GrannyKNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crispin C, CEO Happiness at Botany Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Many thanks for you views -

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay at Botany Camping.

All facilities are cleaning daily and checked twice daily.

We have 1 open air toilet, no roof, and 2 open air showers. The toilet paper is kept in a bin in this toilet, in case of rain. we are sorry that this was empty when you visited, many apologies. All toilets need toilet paper all the time, this will now be checked more often. Our happiness team are looking into this - perhaps it would have been kind to mention the loo paper issue when you found it ? Then team happiness would have got some for you immediately - We are not perfect but are always looking to improve .

However, we have a further 4 conventional toilets and 5 showers as well as a 2 composting toilets
There is another covered double washing up area in the next door field. All washing up areas have washing up liquid and hand wash provided.

The thai rainbow bus cafe is a new venture and we have only been open 2 weeks - it totally off grid powered by the sun via solar panels stored in lithuim ion batteries - now the bus has finished its life as a school bus - she is reborn and recycled to a new purpose and home to our Cafe at Botany Camping - @thairainbowbuscafe - serving breakfast / coffee / ice cream / milkshakes and thai food - find us on facebook and instragram - best regards The happiness team @botanycamping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

I had read a lot of reviews before I booked .They were all so positive and I can now see why .On arrival we were met by a really friendly member of staff.We were shown to our tent and shown where everything was kept .We asked any questions we had and the staff were very helpful.It was perfect and had everything you could need in the tent .They had thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and stress free .The cleaning standards were very high in the tent and toilet /shower facilities.There was nothing negative about our stay I would 100% recommend

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Geotyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crispin C, Owner at Botany Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Thanks very much for your review - we are really pleased you enjoyed yourselves - best regards Crispin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

This was our first time glamping and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
The staff couldn't do enough for us and we spent some quality family time together.
The only negative I would have is that our bed was like sleeping on a pallet but that's if I'm being picky.

Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank mikeyd34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crispin C, Owner at Botany Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thanks for your review - much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Third time at Botany camping and despite the weather(it’s never rained before) we had a fabulous time. Felt at home although we were on the second glamping field. Great facilities and this time we went to Longleat, using the discount from Botany. Ten minutes drive and an amazing experience. Crispin was great as usual and let the children see the chickens and the tiny chicks born that day. We’ll be back again!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank ediesmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crispin C, Owner at Botany Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thanks v much for your review - so pleased you keep returning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for the first time with friend in June 2017 and all had a great weekend! 4 adults, 5 kids. Loads of room to play in. Loved the glamping field. Great information about what to bring with us so we were prepared.
The bell tents provide everything you need, we even made pancakes for all the kids.
Loved it so much we came back in August just our family. Kids made lots of friends and everyone was very friendly, the addition of the outdoor table tennis was a hit (I think you need more tables!)

We’ve already booked 3 times this year. Staying here currently and the only mistake is ignoring the helpful email sent to us suggesting what to bring this time and we’ve forgotten wellies and the grass is wet, nothing we can do about that. Wet feet and flip flops it is!

We’re looking forward to our stay in June when two families are coming with us so we’ll be taking over 3 bell tents.

Longleat tickets are great value when booked through the campsite and it’s a great day out.

Facilities are good. Showers are warm, not majorly powerful but I can still wash my hair and it’s like a lions mane!

We can’t wait to try the food bus when that is here! (Although we discovered a great Chinese takeaway tonight - the Great Wall in Warminster if that takes anyone’s fancy).

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank laney1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crispin C, Owner at Botany Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thanks for your review - the thai rainbow cafe is open now so you can try the food when you next visit
best regards Crispin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews