We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, spacious lodge, perfectly placed for...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Warminster, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
familyhol...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, spacious lodge, perfectly placed for Longleat and Wiltshire/Somerset”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed for a week in June with a 3-year-old and eight-week-old baby. Jan and Andy are delightful hosts, who live next door and were unfailingly polite and thoughtful.
The lodge suited us perfectly: a quiet location but not cut-off: there's a village and gourmet pub round the corner, and Warminster's supermarkets were a few minutes drive away. We were also within walking distance of Shearwater Lake.
The single-storey building is convenient and I'd imagine the lodge rates well for accessibility - just bear in mind the driveway is made of loose stones, but inside is handily open-plan.
A particular highlight was dinnertime with the neighbouring cows, who graze on a few nearby fields and usually came right up to the side of the lodge in the early evening - our toddler was delighted!
The lodge has a large bathroom with a separate bath and (electric) shower cubicle, all very easy to operate. There's comfortably enough hot water for a bath a day. The kitchen is well equipped and the fridge has a small icebox. We stayed during a warm spell, but were able to keep the place cool by opening the windows and skylights. Wifi, TV etc all worked fine.
This rental is ideal if you're holidaying with Longleat in mind: I couldn't find anywhere nearer for less than twice the price of Crockerton Lodge, and we were only a few minutes' drive away. I'd probably return if we wanted another 'Longleat holiday'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property location and condition were both fantastic
Liked least: Nothing really. All that could have improved the stay would be blackout blinds: the same windows that are such a boon for light and air in the day inevitably mean the main bedroom is very light at 5am in midsummer. But this applies to most rentals.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison O
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place to stay near Longleat”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights with our daughter and granddaughter aged 9. We were warmly greeted by the owners and found a welcome bottle of wine and milk in the fridge.
The accommodation is first class with everything you need for self catering.
Very convenient for Longleat but other places are within easy reach such as Salisbury, Stonehenge and Stourhead.
We would definitely recommend the lodge to family and friends wishing to stay in the area.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billa282
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Crockerton Lodge is placed near by many attractions like Castles or lovely villages. After a day of travelling and visiting we have been happy to come back home and to recover in the lodge. The lodge is very well equipped, also for 4 persons. We felt like home during our stay with all the comfort. The owners are living near by and have been very helpful, but not intrusively. They gave good tipps what is worth to visit or if there would be special attractions near by. For every body they had an idea. There is nothing I can say what was not ok, it was simply perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: helpful owners
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jagg95
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The lodge is huge, beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and with a cosy home from home feel. I didn't want to leave. Very well equipped with everything you could possibly need and very friendly and helpful hosts Jan and Andy. I would recommend this wonderful accommodation in beautiful countryside and can't wait to come back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
29Nina_H2...
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Holiday Break, could not have been better, Highly recommend”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Crockerton Lodge is a beautiful place to stay ideal for a small family with it's two bedrooms.
It is beautifully decorated throughout and spotlessly clean. We booked a three day break, wanting to get away for a few days and relax with our two year old daughter & this is exactly what we did.
We were warmly welcomed upon arrival by the owners of the property & also found a complimentary bottle of wine in the fridge and a box of flapjacks which was a lovely bonus! The owners were always near by if we needed anything & also offered us the option to stay later on our departure day as we had to take our car to a near by garage before leaving. This was really helpful.
There was a DVD player and DVDs also provided and local visitor information which was useful for planning days out.
The Lodge is situated in a quiet village with a wonderful pub within walking distance & Longleat Safari Park is also very close by if you are planning to visit there. Our daughter Loved seeing the cows every day grazing in the field right next door to the lodge & we also spotted wild deer in the nearby forest. There is also a beautiful lake a short car journey away.
We could not have enjoyed our stay any more than we did & we would love to come back to Crockerton Lodge for another break in the future. We have recommended this accomodation to friends & relatives looking for a peaceful get away break.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;