We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family lodging for the Bushmills area”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Meadow Cottage

The Master Bedroom has matching Canopy, curtains and throw as well as quality furniture.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Master Bedroom has matching Canopy, curtains and throw as well as quality furniture.
Meadow Cottage is set in open countryside with far reaching views towards the Giant's Causeway. The lounge is bright, spacious and comfortable with two reclining leather sofas.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The Master Bedroom has matching Canopy, curtains and throw as well as quality furniture.
Meadow Cottage is set in open countryside with far reaching views towards the Giant's Causeway.
The lounge is bright, spacious and comfortable with two reclining leather sofas.
The lounge is accessed through patio doors and has far reaching countryside views.
The main spacious bedroom showing triple wardrobe and chest of drawers
Looking across master bedroom showing matching curtains and throw plus wardrobe.
Master bedroom looking through door into hallway.
The farmhouse style kitchen is well equipped with everything required for your stay.
The dining kitchen has an oak table and four oak and leather chairs.
A washing machine, dishwasher, microwave, toaster and kettle are all provided.
The first floor twin room is large bright and welcoming.
The built in double wardrobe, twin bedside cabinet's and chest of drawers provides lots of stor
Chest of drawers in main bedroom showing towels and Dora designs  cuddly doorstop.
The shower room is spacious with a large D shaped shower
The large bathroom sink matches the D shaped shower
The oak sideboard in the lounge is full of games and quizzes.
Pictures throughout the cottage hopefully add to its character and charm
With a large Retro style fridge freezer there is plenty of room for keeping things cool.
The kitchen is equiped with all the utensils required during your holiday.
We have tried to make Meadow Cottage feel home from home by using quality products.
With clean linen and towels provided we also have some cuddly friends to welcome the young.
A useful vanity unit is provided in the shower room.
We provide all linen and towels for your stay.
A guest information book is available listing nearest shop's resturants and things to do.
The patio area leads into a large private garden with far reaching countryside views
You can sit outside on warm sunny summer evenings and enjoy the country air and far reaching views
Meadow Cottage carry's Northern Ireland Tourist Board 4 Star rating.
Meadow Cottage provides a place to relax but close to all major towns and attractions.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bushmills, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
humuhumu...
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Perfect family lodging for the Bushmills area”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our family of 4 stayed here in July 2016 and it lived up to our high expectations. Karen and Robert were extremely easy to deal with. The cottage is in the perfect location. It is located in a quiet, countryside area but convenient enough to Bushmills and Portrush. The view out the back is just beautiful. The kitchen was perfect for making a few meals and the beds were all very comfortable. It was extremely clean and the reclining chairs in the living area were just perfect (and I miss them still). It was also very nice to have a washing machine. One thing to note is that the U.S. Tripadvisor site indicates a washer and a dryer. There is no electric dryer (there is a drying rack). Had it been sunny/dry we could have dried things quickly outside (but nature wasn't too kind to us during our stay). We stayed 3 nights so the drying rack was fine, but I just want to mention it (didn't bother us, but some may be surprised). The only recommendation I would have for the cottage would be for WiFi to be added. There is no WiFi which was a bit disappointing for the kids and a bit for us too since our internet connection on our phones wasn't the greatest at the cottage (spotty at best which made researching the area a bit more difficult than I would have hoped). But all in all, this was a perfect cottage that I wouldn't hesitate to return to. Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in recliners and enjoying the view out back
Liked least: Lack of WiFi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Dear David and Amy,
Thank you so much for staying in Meadow Cottage and also posting this excellent review. We appreciate you pointing out the problem with the mention of the Dryer. We will get this amended. We do actually offer to do a full wash load of drying in our own dryer (for a small charge) next door which is returned dried and folded.
With regard to the WiFi we are at a loss to know why you were unable to access it. All the details and the log in code are in the Guest information Book and it should have been easy to log in. The only thing visitors need to be aware of is that due to our country location it runs at only 8MB so can be a bit slow if all the guests are trying to access it at the same time. We have spent a lot of money and time this year trying to get an improved speed and 8MB is a massive improvement on the beginning of the year when we were just managing a measly 1MB!!
We are delighted that you enjoyed the view and amenities the cottage has on offer. When we purchased the reclining sofas we thought that they would be appreciated for those on holiday. Little touches like that we feel make all the difference.
Thank you once again for choosing to stay in Meadow Cottage and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Kind regards and best wishes,
Robert & Karen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillngerr...
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location, fab amenities”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We Stayed for a week with our 12 year old daughter & her friend. Beautiful cottage, spacious, clean & modern, great bathroom with wonderful shower! Great location, less than 10 mins to Portrush, good restaurants, body boarding & crabbing off harbour.
Would definitely stay again, only small negative would have loved a king size bed! Other than that, perfect !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Dear Gill,
Thank you for staying at Meadow Cottage and providing your kind review. We are delighted that you were happy with what was provided in the cottage. The bed! Yes we are actively looking at present to replace the double with a king-size but us being us we are not happy with just the first thing that we see. It has to look right and above all feel right for paying guests. A cheap option is not an option for us. We intend to have the current one replaced in the very near future!
As you said there really is so much to do in the area given the right weather.
Thank you again for choosing to stay and Meadow Cottage.
Very best wishes
Robert & Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
Dear Graham,
Thank you so much for staying at Meadow Cottage, it was a delight to have you all to stay here. Thank you too for your kind and positive review. We do try our hardest to make the accommodation the best we can and provide as you say that 'home from home' feel. There is certainly much to see and do in the area and some very good places for eating out as we seek to point out in our guest information book. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and trust that you returned home relaxed and refreshed.
With kind regards and best wishes,
Robert & Karen Plant.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patricia...
Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best place to stay ever!”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying at Meadow Cottage last month and only wished we could have stayed longer. Robert and Karen did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible, greeting us personally and showing us around the cottage, making sure we knew how to use everything. The extra little touches like the freshly baked bread, jams, fresh milk only made our stay even more special. The large fluffy towels, the wonderful hot showers (with great pressure - something not often experienced in our travels), the ability to cook ourselves a meal, the wonderfully comfortable beds made us feel like we were in heaven. It was in a lovely and quiet area but was just minutes from Bushmills Distillery, Dark Hedges and all the other sights in the area. Perfection guaranteed. Would highly recommend this gorgeous cottage for a stay but try and make it longer than we did. If we were coming back to the area it would definitely be our first choice of places to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal touches Robert and Karen provided
Liked least: Nothing, it was wonderful
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Dear Patricia,
Thank you so much for such a kind review. We hardly recognized ourselves or Meadow Cottage! We are delighted that we managed to get so much right for your all too brief stay. We do try very hard to make every individual's stay as special as we possibly can however we always feel we can do better and will always strive to that end.
Thank you so much for staying at Meadow Cottage, reviewing it so positively and please come back and stay longer next time.
We trust that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday here in the Emerald Isle.
Kind regards
Robert & Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista L
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, great location, friendly owners.”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We spent a week at the beginning of April in Meadow Cottage. We were warmly welcomed on arrival by Karen. A delicious welcome pack was waiting for us in the kitchen (even a few dog biscuits for our four legged friend). The cottage was very warm, cosy and very clean. The kitchen was well equipped with good quality crockery and utensils. The main double bedroom is down stairs. The bed was very comfy and there was plenty of hanging and storage space. The second bedroom is upstairs and has twin beds. Once again, comfy beds and lots of storage. The location of the cottage was perfect for us. Only a short drive into the village of Bushills. A ten minute drive to The Giants Causeway or Carrick a Rede Rope Bridge. (both National Trust locations and well worth a visit). There are several great beaches only a short drive from the cottage too. The cottage is joined to the owners main house but this does not cause any issues at all. This is a property I wouldn't hesitate in recommending. It ticked all the boxes for our family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
Hello Krista,
It really was a delight to have you and the family stay at Meadow Cottage as well as the lovely Bodger! Thank you too for taking the time to review your stay and marking the cottage so highly. In fact since you stayed we have changed the downstairs bedroom furniture by incorporating two new bedside cabinets and a lovely matching chest of drawers . You were also the first to experience the new bigger, better, brighter Panasonic TV and DVD player. We were just happy that we managed to set it all up for you before you arrived as neither of us are great experts in the technology stakes! We really do want to only offer the best to those paying their hard earned money to stay here. We ourselves have had too many poor experiences of self catering cottages in the past.
As you found, the area here has so much to offer especially if you enjoy outdoor pursuits. The beaches are great for dog walking or just relaxing on the lovely sandy shoreline and as you state some of the other attractions are not to be missed.
Thank you once again for staying in and reviewing the cottage and we hope to see you all back again one day soon.
Best wishes and Kind regards to you all in Cheshire.
Robert & Karen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing