We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well set out display”

Giant's Causeway Visitor Centre
Reviewed 28 June 2018

This is a great addition to the Giant’s Causeway experience with entertaining but informative images, videos etc. Worth spending some time on if you’re visiting this amazing geographical feature.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"the bus"
in 172 reviews
"guided tour"
in 58 reviews
"a national trust member"
in 29 reviews
"finn mccool"
in 30 reviews
"natural beauty"
in 30 reviews
"actual causeway"
in 24 reviews
"world heritage site"
in 26 reviews
"northern ireland"
in 47 reviews
"rock formations"
in 25 reviews
"the cliff"
in 33 reviews
"long walk"
in 22 reviews
"information"
in 195 reviews
"souvenirs"
in 73 reviews
"audio"
in 94 reviews
"legend"
in 78 reviews
"video"
in 55 reviews
"geology"
in 67 reviews
Filter

132 - 136 of 2 274 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018

This building itself is modern and beautiful. Inside is a top-notch gift shop with local goods, great books and less-touristy gifts. The visitor center staff is not up to par however, with a venue that sees that many visitors each day. You are given no information when you enter. Our group had vouchers for entry, but then there was no direction for where to go for the tours. Once I found someone, she told me to stand in an area by a marker, that a tour was starting in 15 minutes, but no staff ever came to get us or came to the designated area. Again, I searched someone out and was told we had missed the tour, but maybe we could catch up to them outside. We never found them outside, and at that point there was no opportunity to get the audio guides so basically our entire group missed the narrative and any history/geology/information. We walked down ourselves, took a few photos and left. So very disappointing to have planned our trip to N Ireland around visiting this area, to have travelled so far to visit, and left with such an anti-climatic impression. The causeway is nice, but the only thing I know about it is from what I read before we travelled 4000 miles from the US and another 3 hours from Dublin to get there.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank queenofsqueeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

On arrival to the Causeway we were ushered into the car park and given a price list. We were quite confused at this point as my wife and I were under the understanding the causeway was free (which we have later confirmed). All directions were for us to go to the visitors centre which is where you are required to pay, to go with this there is no student reduced priced which is a little bit ridiculous and the cost of getting into this visitor centre is £11.50 which basically gives you access to a cafe, souvenir shop and an audio guide it doesn’t even give you the ride down to the causeway, that costs extra!

There was very little communication about the Causeway itself being free to see which I feel is being quite deceiving. I think the National trust should look at its signage, costs and maybe try cooperating with the English heritage group as people who joined it have already forked out a chunk of cash and they should maybe have a reduced ticket for that too? And a student priced ticket.

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank samuelcJ4734DF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Get the audio accompaniment program for this site. This is such an awesome natural beauty. This is a must do. We almost past it by, but so happy we didn't. The stories with
The views are wonderful. The stones are so perfect and amazing to see.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018

We really enjoyed the interactive displays and a short movie detailing the geologic formations of the Causeway and the legend of Finn McCool. Also, the food in the cafe was excellent. I got the Jacketed Potato and it was very tasty.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giant's Causeway Visitor Centre also viewed

 
Bushmills, County Antrim
 

Been to Giant's Causeway Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing