We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely location, quaint cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hillcrest Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Carrickfergus, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
GemAndyCu...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely location, quaint cottage”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were met by Bob on arrival who kindly showed us around, lovely welcome. The cottage was a typical country cottage with amazing views over carrickfergus and Belfast lough. The upstairs was very well decorated with a lovely living area. My mum loved the upstairs bedroom and ensuite and commented that the beds were very comfortable. The downstairs bedroom was comfortable also. Kitchen had everything we needed for our weeks holiday. The cottage is very tidy, my only negative being that there was alot of cobwebs and spiders and the bathroom downstairs could maybe do with a bit of rejuvenation. As we had two little children with us the stairs did cause a problem as we are used to having stair gates at home. Overall we were happy with our stay and would recommend to others. Thank you very much Bob and Norma.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2014
we are glad you enjoyed your stay in our cottage. As we are in the country you tend to get more insects. However we are surprised you found any spiders or indeed any cobwebs. My wife and I clean the cottage ourselves and we are very thorough and remove dust, cobwebs etc., giving the cottage a final check shortly before handover. All I can think is that they occurred during your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vic2r01
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic location.”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I found the surroundings interesting, near the sea front, which would be great in the Summer. The cottage had everything included and was close to all shops an supermarkets. The Family as a whole were friendly and helpful. The location was, what you would expect from an Irish cottage,warm and inviting , mixing old traditional feel , with modern appliances.
The area is not a troubled spot , so even in difficult periods in the summer, individuals from anywhere can feel safe and secure. I would go back to this location and I would certainly recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: away from it all
Liked least: weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2014
thank you for taking the trouble and time to write a review. We are pleased everything was to your satisfaction and hope to see you in the future. Norma and Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Central Heating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Jan 2014
I must apologise for the heating thermostat in the cottage not working. Unfortunately we were not able to get an electrician over the Christmas period. Regarding updating, the washer/dryer, fridge freezer, cooking pans, cutlery and stair carpet are all new this year. In addition the downstairs bedroom was completely refurnished in quality solid oak. The twin room will be updated this year. Our cottage is assessed every year by the Northern Ireland Tourist Board and our 4 star grading was confirmed in August. Regarding the electric showers the temperature needs to be set before you get into the shower. Regarding the lack of contact,it was winter with short days. It was also Christmas and your family and my family were busy doing what one does at Christmas so we were both not there a lot. The cottage is close to our house and you will recall I did say when showing you around the cottage not to hesitate to call us if you needed anything. In our years of renting our cottage we have found that you have to be careful not to be intrusive of guests privacy so there is a fine line to walk. We try to get it right and hope we generally do. We hope you will stay with us again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Firum
Sainverness
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cottage stay at Hillcrest”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Overall a great location with all you could want ample parking lovely location with stunning views the off the road location is not isolated but quiet and peaceful within easy reach of Larne or Belfast and the main road only 5 minutes from the cottage.
The cottage is immaculate and has all you want for family or couples and the Wi-fi is an added bonus Bob and Norma who run the cottage are lovely and could not be more helpful we will certainly book next year highly recommend the cottage for a stay or a base to go further.
Dave & Janet

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the overall layout of the cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2013
Thank you for submitting a review. Look forward to seeing you in the future. Regards

Norma and Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mawnanfam...
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

stayed here with family for 3 nights and it was a truly wonderful little gem set in countryside just out of town. the owner and his family were very welcoming and the cottage had everything you could possibly want for a short break. will definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage was comfy and well located for exploring the coast of N Ireland.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you had a pleasant stay at our cottage and you found it good value and found it clean and tidy. Look forward to you staying with us again.

Regards

Norma and Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing