We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mountain View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Suzanne P
Stoke On Trent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Wow, just wow. I stayed in Mullaghbawn at Mountain View as I needed peace and quiet for my research studies (two children, a crazy dog and a husband make it difficult to concentrate). The area itself made me catch my breath, but the surroundings and the house itself are just breathtaking. The house is impossibly perfect and Conor's hospitality unrivalled. Mountain View is a perfect house, where every room has a living canvas, each room is decorated to a high standard, well laid out and was also impeccable in cleanliness. Conor was and is quite possibly one of the nicest people I have ever met, nothing was too much trouble and if he was not around, then his Dad (totally adorable) was on hand. I can only say, 'stay at Mountain View, you will not be disappointed.' Huge thanks to Conor and his Dad once again; see you both soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran196...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wonderful location”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

this is a place I would advise you pay a visit fantastic views, a lovely welcome from Conor and his family and the cottage is very comfortable and well equipped, we will be visiting again in the future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugeneguy...
Newtownards, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All the rooms had a view! ”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thanks Mary for the warm welcome to the cottage. The house was perfect for our needs, lots of room for 3 & 3 dogs too.

Early morning (5.30am) dander in the garden, watching the world wake up, the dawn chorus were the cows a few fields over! Where else would you get it sure?

Everywhere was easily accessible from the house, Dundalk is only 10 minutes down the road, Newry the same. Lots of wee roads to explore too!

We've never slept so well in all the years we've holidayed in Ireland, so thanks for the comfort.

A 5* house, with everything you could want.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caremandb
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ticked all the boxes and more”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous and well equipped house with a friendly welcome from the owner. Good layout of the accommodation to allow independent space for 2 sons back from Uni on a free holiday with us!
Ample space for cricket in the garden, amazing scenery and not far from the Mourne Mountains either. The birds of prey were spectacular as they swooped down low from the mountain side. Would recommend for couples, families or anyone seeking tranquility

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: level access wet room upstairs rather than on the groung floor. Threshold barrier to wheelchair level access(occupational therapist professional opinion)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blozmack
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have asked for a better accommodation.”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our family enjoyed Mountain View! Our children loved the mountain that is literally in the back yard! The views are breathtaking. The house is fully equipped and the owner was very accomodating. The beds were very comfortable. The donkey was an added bonus!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing