We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We really enjoyed it.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Allenford, Bruce County, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lauraruss...
Oakville, Canada
1 review
“Great location, cottage needs some TLC.”
Reviewed 11 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The cottage is in a great location, on a nice lake, close to Sauble Beach, Wiarton, Owen Sound. Nice dock, deck, and fire pit area. Beautiful sunsets. Nice to have the hot tub. Would have been nice to have a kayak or canoe to use, there is only an old fishing boat with paddles to use (no motor), we didn’t try it, not sure it would float or how easy it would be to paddle. There were lots of spiders and spider webs on the outside of the cottage and around the cottage.
The inside of the cottage could use some updates, looks like the owners have done some work, but after being closed up for a while it is very musty smelling and we were sneezing a lot inside the cottage (?mold). Looks like the shower was recently updated, but there isn’t much water pressure. Kitchen is well stocked, everything you need for cooking.
Rentcottage.com is great to deal with, only issue is having to clean the cottage at the end of your stay. Not a great end to your vacation, wish there was an option to pay extra for a cleaning service (although cleaning should be included for the price you already pay!).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawtee19...
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decor could be updated but everything was up and working. Over all nice experience.”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Owner very helpful with any issues. Water front was nice. Need water shoes..sunset was pretty and lake was small and quiet with some water skiing etc. So many spiders, hot tub was nice but very basic. Over all enjoyed our week.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TO-Cat
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed it.”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our time at this cottage. My family of 4 stayed there last week.
It was a good basic cottage. Not fancy, but just what you would want for a cottage. There is newer furniture in the sun-room and a newer tv than what's in the pictures which is really nice.
We've stayed in lots of cottages and every cottage has its pros and cons. We liked this cottage a lot, but it's not perfect and I think perhaps slightly overpriced. They are able to charge more because of the waterfront and hot tub.

Pros:
-Very clean inside.
-Well stocked kitchen - pretty much everything we needed. (they’ve added cookie sheets)
-Multiple living spaces. Living room, sun room, upper deck with bbq and table, lower deck right on the water. Lots of outdoor furniture.
-West facing. Spectacular sunsets every night.
-Loved the sun room. All four of us sat in there on a rainy day and read books, played instruments, or played board games.
-Cottage owners supplied lots of board games.
-Hot tub was nice to have, it fits 4 adults comfortably, but as mentioned by other reviewers, it's an older model. We'd often sit in the hot tub to watch the sunset, then have a campfire.
-Fire pit was great - with a nice location... i.e. on an outcropping of land by the water, with no overhead trees. Lots of kindling and firewood provided.
-Good sized master bedroom with a ceiling fan and 3 windows for cross breezes.
-Each bedroom had 2 windows for nice breezes.
-Right on the water. Nice dock and decks.
-No deerflies and horseflies! + limited mosquitoes (may have been the time of year). Also a few wasps but not so bad. Frankly we were happy not to have deerflies and horseflies buzzing around our heads while we swam.
-Liked that the cottage owner provided a rowboat and water toys.
-Busy lake, lots of activity - water skiiers, wake-boarders, tubers, etc. We liked the activity, made it seem lively, but this might be a con for some people.
- You can rent canoes and kayaks from the camp at the end of the lake.

Cons:
-Not as private as the pictures make it seem. There is no neighbor on one side, but a neighbor on the other side and the road is very close behind the cottage. If you look at the pictures... that boathouse beside the dock belongs to the next door neighbor. They have done a good job of using trees and fences for privacy, but the neighbors are very close and it is at the end of a road of cottages that are close together.
-The bathroom really needs to be renovated. Very outdated décor, no counter space at all by the sink, and the shower seems like it was installed by a hobbit. It's very short. I'm not tall, but it pointed at my chest. Needed to do some gymnastics to rinse my hair.
-Spiders. Wow. Sooo many spiders. Unlike other reviewers, we saw spiders mainly outside, but just by their sheer numbers a few got inside. Every day we had to brush the spiders off all outdoor furniture.
-Hot tub is old and the controls to turn it on and off were inside the cabin. Since it wouldn’t start at first, my husband had to crawl under the deck to reset it - as advised by the cottage owner when we called him. (Did I mention the spiders? I’m glad my husband crawled under there!)
-Booking through rentcottage.com means you pay an extra administrative fee and must demonstrate that you have your own contents insurance on your own belongings. Plus there is an extensive cleaning list that you must perform before leaving otherwise you incur cleaning charges.
-Garbage pickup is on Wednesdays, so we had to take several days’ worth of garbage to the dump in Sauble Beach on our way out on Saturday. Cost to dump is $2/per bag if you take it there. They will charge you if you leave any garbage in the cottage.
- The tap water is not drinkable so you have to bring bottled water.
- No washer and dryer.
- No dishwasher.
- It says good swimming on the listing, but to be honest, the water has a bit of algae and zebra mussels, and there are weeds at the end of the dock and in front of the deck. Also too deep for young kids. Our kids are teenagers so this was not such a problem. The water was a good temperature, but we usually pushed off the deck on flotation devices and then dropped into the water when a little further out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sunroom, dock & sunsets
Liked least: Bathroom & spiders
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milton
Reviewed 11 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing