We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
28
21
16
18
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
21
16
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews function room sunday carvery real ale enjoyable meal barton shaving
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Met two friends for a lovely lunch, great new owners & dogs are welcome in the bar area.(was perfect as my dog who had just been to Davies specialist vets at Higham Gobian for hydrotherapy)

Great menu & service!

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Pleasant surroundings in a typical English public house, nice open fireplace . Fairly extensive menu with reasonable portions. Dogs are welcome in the bar area. Recently under new management and new menu. Polite and friendly staff with table service.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank robhilldesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

We have been regulars at the pub for many years and have seen chiefs come and go. We tried the new menu last night and had steak and chips. We all agreed it was the best we have ever had and are looking forward to enjoying the new spring menu.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank debsjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My family had lunch today as it wad easter monday. My husband had ordered a fillet steak to be told they had none but they could do a ribeye. When it arrived it was a very very thin piece of what can only be described as frying steak which cost £20 and lacked any flavor. When my dad had wanted the scampi basket starter he was told they would have to charge the 2 course set menu price for it because he wanted a main which wasnt part of the deal. Wasnt awful but wasnt impressed with it overall.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Tabitha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

The food here is really bad. My whole family ate here at different times and each said it was disgusting. The kitchen is dirty. The Sunday roast is supposed to be carvery but you have to book a table, then wait to be called and the whole thing is frozen.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Vicksterbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews