We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
28
21
16
18
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
21
16
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfunction roomsunday carveryreal aleenjoyable mealbartonshaving
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Pleasant surroundings in a typical English public house, nice open fireplace . Fairly extensive menu with reasonable portions. Dogs are welcome in the bar area. Recently under new management and new menu. Polite and friendly staff with table service.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank robhilldesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

We have been regulars at the pub for many years and have seen chiefs come and go. We tried the new menu last night and had steak and chips. We all agreed it was the best we have ever had and are looking forward to enjoying the new spring menu.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank debsjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My family had lunch today as it wad easter monday. My husband had ordered a fillet steak to be told they had none but they could do a ribeye. When it arrived it was a very very thin piece of what can only be described as frying steak which cost £20 and lacked any flavor. When my dad had wanted the scampi basket starter he was told they would have to charge the 2 course set menu price for it because he wanted a main which wasnt part of the deal. Wasnt awful but wasnt impressed with it overall.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Tabitha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

The food here is really bad. My whole family ate here at different times and each said it was disgusting. The kitchen is dirty. The Sunday roast is supposed to be carvery but you have to book a table, then wait to be called and the whole thing is frozen.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Vicksterbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Room 5 had many unusual and unwanted features. It was too cramped to accommodate any bedside furniture other than the king size bed. This necessitated getting out of bed to turn out the central light as there were no reading lamps. The half a head board was probably a good indication that there is only really space for a single bed. T he room was tired, needed a good clean and complete re decoration. The en-suite incorporated sanitary ware that I have never come across before and am in no hurry to acquaint myself with again, an ecological combination basin and toilet. The waste water from the basin is recycled down the toilet. This monstrosity has several downsides. The foul smell that comes from the toilet when the water is drained from the basin, the ridiculously small size of the basin, and the fact that you have to stand in front of the toilet bowl to reach the sink makes cleaning your teeth or shaving a major challenge. Additional features included a cracked window pane, a noisy outside extractor, the sound of loud music and banging doors drifting up from the bar until the early hours, and a mysterious green glow coming from a ceiling light. The £68 a night room fee did not include breakfast which may have been a blessing. At least the towels and bed linen were clean.

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews