We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
28
21
16
18
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
21
16
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews function room sunday carvery real ale enjoyable meal shaving
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My family had lunch today as it wad easter monday. My husband had ordered a fillet steak to be told they had none but they could do a ribeye. When it arrived it was a very very thin piece of what can only be described as frying steak which cost £20 and lacked any flavor. When my dad had wanted the scampi basket starter he was told they would have to charge the 2 course set menu price for it because he wanted a main which wasnt part of the deal. Wasnt awful but wasnt impressed with it overall.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Tabitha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

The food here is really bad. My whole family ate here at different times and each said it was disgusting. The kitchen is dirty. The Sunday roast is supposed to be carvery but you have to book a table, then wait to be called and the whole thing is frozen.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Vicksterbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Room 5 had many unusual and unwanted features. It was too cramped to accommodate any bedside furniture other than the king size bed. This necessitated getting out of bed to turn out the central light as there were no reading lamps. The half a head board was probably a good indication that there is only really space for a single bed. T he room was tired, needed a good clean and complete re decoration. The en-suite incorporated sanitary ware that I have never come across before and am in no hurry to acquaint myself with again, an ecological combination basin and toilet. The waste water from the basin is recycled down the toilet. This monstrosity has several downsides. The foul smell that comes from the toilet when the water is drained from the basin, the ridiculously small size of the basin, and the fact that you have to stand in front of the toilet bowl to reach the sink makes cleaning your teeth or shaving a major challenge. Additional features included a cracked window pane, a noisy outside extractor, the sound of loud music and banging doors drifting up from the bar until the early hours, and a mysterious green glow coming from a ceiling light. The £68 a night room fee did not include breakfast which may have been a blessing. At least the towels and bed linen were clean.

Stayed: December 2017
2  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

I can honestly say this is one of the worst rooms we have ever stayed in, the smell from the small bathroom was absolutely disgusting a mixture of dampness,bad drainage, it smelt like cats urine. One window was broken in the room the tape covering the hole was hanging off. The noise from the bar is very loud and you hear the constant banging of the door with people visiting the toilet but at £69 a night with no breakfast very overpriced accommodation. On the plus side the staff were pleasant enough and good wifi

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank martybhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Started well on arrival warm welcome
Room ok but watch out for low doors as floors on different levels banged my head badly on three occasions on way to and from bathroom there are no mind your head warnings
Facilities ok and pub food as you'd expect wholesome and tasty
Bed ok and fairly quiet
Breakfast for which I paid £8 extra on arrival was a disaster no one there at 8 when told would be ready chairs all upside down on tables
Man appeared and said things were cooking
Returned 20mins later and nothing waited another 20 and asked cleaner on her arrival if there was breakfast
She returned advising it was being prepared I hadn't asked for anything so had no idea what it was I was then presented with a giant plate of cooked breakfast swimming in fat straight from the frying pan and that was it
No chance of flakes or toast or juice or fruit or yoghurt
One cup of coffee from the machine behind the bar was served then no staff so no more coffee
This place is overpriced and underperforming and littered with various building materials such as ladders etc no sense of impact on customer or creating a welcoming environment
Pity as could be a good one but the overall reviews don't lie and I don't think they care either
Best look elsewhere

Stayed: September 2017
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews