We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Back again and everything is as good as before”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gateholm

Gateholm Dale
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gateholm Dale
Looking up to the garden and woodland Al fresco -enjoy eating out in the sunny garden at the large wooden table and chairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Gateholm Dale
Looking up to the garden and woodland
Al fresco -enjoy eating out in the sunny garden at the large wooden table and chairs
Lounge with double doors to open plan dining kitchen
Lounge with patio doors to garden
Open plan dining and kitchen
Enjoy cooking on the ceramic hob
Master bedroom with en-suite and some sea views
Master bedroom side window
View from side window
Master bedroom and en-suite
Double bedroom with some sea views
Twin bedroom overlooking woodland garden
Twin bedroom wardrobe and drawers
Single bedroom with some sea views
Family bathroom
The garden in Spring
Gateholm Island from the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path
Dale waterfront
Dale village from the headland
Looking back to Dale from the bay
Coastal Path to West Dale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Dale, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
androidGB
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Back again and everything is as good as before”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

After a brilliant holiday last year we decided to return. As before the booking process was faultless and on arrival the house was beautifully prepared. The owners had once again left us welcoming gifts and taken the trouble to write a very nice note, things that point to them really wanting you to enjoy your stay.
All that I said previously holds true, the house being in a perfect location to enjoy all the area has to offer. WiFi again proved very useful for the teenagers, however the selection a games provided meant that we were able to drag them away from their phones and tablets with surprising ease.
The weather was not quite as good as last year, which was exceptional, however we were still able to spend a glorious couple of days at the nearby Marloes Sands. The children also enjoyed a visit to West Wales Karting at Haverfordwest, and the nearby Lost Coins pub provides good value food.
The Griffin and The Moorings kept us well fed and both are staffed by exceptionally friendly people.
We would certainly recommend Dale and cannot think of a better place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surrounding area
Liked least: Distance to major shops
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Thank you for your very nice review and taking the time to write it. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Best wishes, Chris and Phil.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah F
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Gateholm is a brilliant house in Dale and only a couple of minutes to the beach for crabbing and sea glass hunting! Very impressed with the standard of the property and had everything we needed plus lovely extras provided by the owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic size house with great location
Liked least: Would love a king size bed, rather than a double!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2015
We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay in Dale.Thank you very much for booking Gateholm and taking the time to write a review. Chris and Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really top quality house in a beautiful area. Gateholm is very well cared for, very clean and bright. The owners Chris and Phil were very helpful and friendly. Everything that we needed was there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in Dale
Liked least: The wet weather!
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for booking Gateholm and we are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay.Chris and Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
androidGB
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb in every way”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a good feeling about this booking from the moment we contacted the owners. The responses were quick, efficient, friendly and very helpful. Arriving at the property confirmed our early impression. The owners had left us an Easter Card and some welcoming gifts including a bottle of wine, which was thoroughly enjoyed on our first night. The house is light and airy, spotlessly clean and well appointed. There is also WiFi which is pretty essential if you are travelling with teenagers. Dale itself is a lovely spot and there are many outstanding beaches very close by, including the beach itself at Dale which is about 100 metres away. We had a nice meal at the Griffin, but we would also thoroughly recommend the Moorings restaurant in the Yacht Club, great food and superb service. The memories we take away are a very relaxing holiday, in a very beautiful part of the country, inhabited by some of the friendliest people we have met. Thank you very much to Chris and Phil, we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility.
Liked least: Distance to shops
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2015
Thank you very much for writing the review and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Chris and Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh K
Reynoldston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another great weekend at Gateholm!”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Our second stay was every bit as good as the first! Comfortable house, spotlessly clean and obviously well cared for. Great communications with the owner who did all she could to make our stay enjoyable. We will be back to this lovely house and a great location :-)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2015
Thank you very much Sheila and we are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay. Best wishes, Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing