We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
Wrens Nest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wrens Nest
Aerial view of Madog's Wells and the 3 cottages Kitchenette
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Wrens Nest
Aerial view of Madog's Wells and the 3 cottages
Kitchenette
Lounge seating
Wren's Lounge
Single bedroom
wet-room shower
Wet-room shower
Games Room
top bridge of woodland walk
View from the bench on the woodland walk
Bluebell time in our woodland
Emperor Dragonfly drying its wings are emerging from nymph stage at the pond's edge
wild ducklings feeding at edge of pond
Feathered friends -
Pistyll Rhaeadr - highest waterfall in Wales - 40 mins. drive away
Montgomery Canal - tow path walk
Spring time
A recent visitor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Llanfair Caereinion, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 29 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This has been around my tenth visit to here over the last few years, once again it was superb.

If you're looking for a quiet few days, away from it all, then this place won't let you down. It is definitely suited for those who enjoy walking and wildlife/birdwatching. In my circumstance, the dark nights here provide an excellent view of the night sky. Therefore, for anyone into astronomy or astrophotography, it is ideal. Also, if you enjoy driving, the roads around the area are great too.

Accommodation is brilliant, Mike and Ann are very friendly and more than happy to chat as well.

I highly recommend Madogs Wells, and I'll be back again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2015
Thank you very much for your review, so pleased that you enjoyed your stay once again. It was good to see you and your friends enjoying the walks and games room. Look forward to your next visit at the end of the year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky M
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfectly Peaceful”
Reviewed 29 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I booked this little gem of a break to find some peace,and quiet so that I could focus on some meditation practice and finish a hand book for my therapy group. Not only is it the perfect place for tranquility,little tumbling streams, birdsong and a very friendly resident cat.Ann is the most welcoming of hosts. Everything you need inside the beautifully kept property, and views over the hills outside. Definately keeping this on my short break revival list. I went with my youngest niece who also very much enjoyed the rest.Home made jams and chutney are an added bonus, 40 mins to the highest waterfall in Wales, and no time at all to Welshpool, some lovely pubs if you want to dine out in Berriew. Disabled accessbility in all cottages is excellent. One word Perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: perfect retreat from the world,no MOB signal but a payphone available
Liked least: every lovely
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2014
Hello Vicky, Thank you so much for your review, we are very pleased that you and your guest found the peace and tranquillity for which you were looking. We hope to see you again another time. Best of luck with your hand book. Kind regards
Ann and Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila H
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely quiet location/ friendly owners/”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wren's cottage has everything you need for a quiet, relaxing break.The owners are welcoming and friendly and they have worked very hard to provide accommodation suitable for people with limited mobility. The cottage is in a superb location for bird watching. ( I saw my first lesser spotted woodpecker just outside the lounge window!) We were able to visit Dingle Gardens and Glansevern Gardens, plus 4 National Trust properties: Powis Castle, Attingham Park, Berrington Hall and Croft Castle during our stay - all of which we thoroughly enjoyed. We would certainly return if we were visiting the area in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location, warm welcome and comfortable accommodation.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review. So pleased you found the cottage suited your needs. Hope to see you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJF103
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SUPER COTTAGE, SUPER LOCATION”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

A return stay at Madog's Wells but in a different cottage this time. Wren's Nest is another clean comfortable cottage in this beautiful and peaceful location. We enjoyed doing the super nature walk set out in the grounds and also exploring the river side where the wells that give Madog's Wells its name are situated. Once again, a warm welcome from Ann and her husband Michael on our arrival and some excellent advice on "must see" attractions. Cottage was equipped with everything we needed, comfortable furniture and very comfortable beds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, comfortable and beautiful location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2014
Very pleased to hear that you liked it so much. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing