We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blast from the Past”

Hemswell Antiques Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Hemswell Antique Centres brings together Europe's largest selection of dealers who can offer you the widest possible range of antique furniture and vintage collectables. Within four separate buildings you will find around 400 dealer display areas, which will keep you enthralled for hours. Take your time to wander through our vast array of bygone treasures and - who knows - you may discover that antiques bargain you’ve been searching for? Our website is updated daily with fresh pieces and contains over 3000 antique items for sale. This website shows a comprehensive selection of the quality antiques and collectables available at the Centre. Please register your specific interest on the 'item alerts' feature. We are open every day of the year, apart from Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year's Day 10am to 5pm (Christmas Eve & New Years Eve 10am- 2.30pm). We are open all over Easter. We look forward to welcoming you to our centres.
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Visited last week. Amazing array of items, mostly in glass cases. Beautiful jewellery. Free parking and well signposted.

Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, Owner at Hemswell Antiques Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you Wendy P for your review and glad you enjoyed your visit. Please do join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"coffee shop"
in 22 reviews
"guard room"
in 6 reviews
"vintage items"
in 5 reviews
"water tower"
in 5 reviews
"different buildings"
in 5 reviews
"treasure trove"
in 4 reviews
"bric a brac"
in 5 reviews
"for sale"
in 8 reviews
"the main car park"
in 3 reviews
"cakes"
in 11 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 16 reviews
"raf base"
in 5 reviews
"small charge"
in 3 reviews
"sat nav"
in 3 reviews
"allow plenty of time"
in 3 reviews
"home made"
in 3 reviews
"brilliant place"
in 3 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018

Hemswell Antique Centre & Boot Fair is located a few miles north of Lincoln on a now disused former RAF Base. Unfortunately the site looks very run down and is in need of much refurbishment. The main premises displaying antiques & yesteryear memorabilia are well laid out and offer a lot to see but not many bargain prices are to be found. However If you go on a Sunday you have the advantage of a boot fair being on site. Adviseable to park in the main centre car park as the boot fair will charge you £2 where the main car park is half that. There are Several refreshment outlets offering a good selection of food and toilets are available within the display buildings.There are numerous other outlets offering all sorts of services & used goods from garden equipment, plumbing fixtures to furniture. Numerous burgers vans etc within the boot fair are available On SUNDAY'S Only a distasteful practice of charging an entrance fee to individual premises is put in place by some operators. All in all not a bad place to visit but has certainly lost its shine.

Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, Owner at Hemswell Antiques Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Marilyn C,
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. I am glad you enjoyed your visit. Unfortunately, some of the estate is not what it once was. However, our four buildings are made of good sturdy bricks and retain the character of what was once an important WW2 RAF base. We also go to great effort to ensure the upkeep of our outside areas remain pleasant for our visitors. We do only charge 50p per person on a Sunday, this allows us to stay open until 5pm instead of the normal Sunday closing hours of 4pm. This allows you into all four of our buildings which is redeemable against any purchase including the coffee shop. The car parks directly outside our buildings offer free parking at all times. The main parade square car park does not belong to the centres and they do charge £1 on Sundays. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

We stop here almost every trip to the UK. Staff is awesome, and lots of variety in their merchandise selection. Always worth the trip!

1  Thank lawguy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, Owner at Hemswell Antiques Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you lawguy for taking the time to leave us a review. I am very pleased that our staff delivered the great customer service we pride ourselves on. We have had a lot of new dealers move into Hemswell lately, so our stock is changing all the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Hemswell Antiques Centre have 4x large two floored buildings of good quality Antiques housed in the old RAF buildings spaced around part of an old WWII base. Plenty of free parking (except I believe on Sun & Bank Hols) on what would probably have been the parade ground in the middle. As it's quite a journey for us to get there - we usually go every few months & always make it into a full day out. There's a small coffee shop in one of their buildings & a larger restaurant with both inside & outside garden seating (open on sunny days) in another - we have sampled both & they can be recommended. On the same site there's also a small garden centre & other antiques buildings to be visited should you have the time but the Hemswell Antiques Centre buildings are always our first choice.

Thank Clive U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, Owner at Hemswell Antiques Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Clive,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are indeed an old RAF WW11 base which we are very proud of and are going to be hosting a Charity RAF100 1940s weekend 21st and 22nd July 2018, in honor of the centenary this year. The car park is the old parade square, there are many archives of photos that can be found online showing it in use. I am very pleased we did not disappoint in all aspects of your visit and will look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Just passed this location and decided to visit and ended up spending the day there. Masses to see and a very wide variety of items for sale. My first reaction on walking into the Guardhouse was 'oooooooh, Stuff'!! The cafeterias and toilet facilities are excellent and we will definitely be back. Well worth a look.

Thank gillsmum 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, Owner at Hemswell Antiques Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear Gillsmum5,
Thank you so much for your glowing review. It's always nice to hear when people have enjoyed their visit with us; particularly as it was a "just passing" which has now turned into "a must come back" visit. We will look forward to welcoming you on your return visit. In the meantime do keep up to date with all our news, events and items for sale on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hemswell Antiques Centre also viewed

Hemswell Cliff, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Hemswell Antiques Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing