We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning and peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Rear of barn with Llangattock escarpment in distance
View of Black Mountains including Table Top Mountain from the barn
Merryfields Barn from front garden
Nearby Llangorse lake with boats for hire and Brecon Beacons in background
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Llangattock, Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rahbish
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning and peaceful ”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you want a place to stay in Wales then this is your place the barn is finished to a 5* standard with everything you could need for your holiday including a fully equipped kitchen. The location is so peaceful and when the weather was nice it was great to finish off the day in the beautiful garden watching the birds.

We also took our dog who loved it as well, my only tip if you are taking a dog is take a comfy bed for them as the downstairs is all stone floor which is gorgeous but not so comfy for then.

I would definitely recommend to friends in fact I am actively going to!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladywell2...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Views to die for”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Complicated to find at first (turn off the A40 at the Shell Garage and keep going through the traffic lights, over the river then turn left and right would have been more helpful), this was a beautiful holiday cottage. The barn was immaculate, comfortable and warm and frankly the best holiday rental we have had in fifty years..... The view was magical and we would recommend it to anybody. Would certainly come again as Crickhowell is a dear little town and there are several good eating places within easy reach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Small bathrooms. especially the washbasins
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
Thanks, Diana. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the barn and the Crickhowell area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ringlandj...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A stunning, modern barn with exceptional views: What a gem!”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a beautiful holiday barn, with lots of inside and outside space and very accommodating owners. We stayed here four nights in June and were blessed with very good weather and therefore stunning views across to Crickhowell and the Black Mountains. Plenty to do in the area including walking along the Brecon Canal which has some stunning views in both directions. Try not to miss the walk to Penyfan from Tal y Bont.
We will definitely return to this wonderful property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views and lovely, clean internal space downstairs
Liked least: Wifi access was very intermittent
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighC60
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ideal for long stay”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We've just returned home from our week at Merryfields Barn and, with hindsight, we wish we'd booked an extra week. We think it would be an ideal base for anyone visiting the UK due to its good access links to Cardiff, Manchester and London.
Crickhowell is almost directly west of London which means the weather is similarly clement. We were monitoring the forecasts leading up to our trip and there was often only 1°C difference between the two.
We considered hiring a car but didn't feel we needed to. To reach the barn from Abergavenny station costs less than £20 in a taxi. There is also an hourly bus service to Crickhowell although this finishes before 7pm. From Crickhowell you can take a taxi to the barn for about £5. The walk into Crickhowell takes around 20 minutes down a steep, windy road. We are in our 40s and very unfit but found this easily manageable.
The barn itself is stunning with a well-equipped kitchen (often a fault in self-catering lets), a luxuriously deep Japanese bath and a spacious wet room with shower. The whole property is spacious enough for four people to enjoy without feeling cramped. We spent most evenings on the porch enjoying the views and the jaw-droppingly stunning night sky.
The owners, Steve and Angela, are quite simply lovely. Communications leading up to our stay were prompt and helpful. We were greeted with a lovely gift basket when we arrived. Steve popped in on the first morning to answer any further questions but after that we were left to our own devices.
I cannot recommend Merryfields Barn highly enough. I can see us returning in the not too distant future and for a longer stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, magical stay”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Merryfields Barn was a beautiful and unique gem with superb views.

Angela and Steve were so helpful and accommodating, with Angela coming out in the rain and waving at us in order to help us find the property when we got lost driving around in the dark! They live just next door and gave us an official welcome the next day too.

The house itself is so cosy, with underfloor heating and the deepest bath I've ever seen. The kitchen was well-equipped and exceptionally organised, leaving us with everything we needed to make dinner.

Finally, those views - wow. Even though we experienced little sun, there were rainbows over the trees and Table Mountain could be seen clearly when there was no fog. There are plenty of bird watching opportunities, both in the surrounding garden and across the hills, and even at night the sight of Crickhowell lit up is astonishing.

For our introduction to Wales, this was perfect! Thanks Steve and Angela!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Getting lost on the way - it's a tricky drive in the dark and Satnav took us to the wrong house.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing