We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"The perfect little get-away"”
The Granary is located on the edge of the Forest in an area of outstanding natural beauty.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Granary is located on the edge of the Forest in an area of outstanding natural beauty.
Subtle lighting at night means you can star gaze while soaking in 38c water. View from the Granary towards the Welsh mountains and beyond.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
The Granary is located on the edge of the Forest in an area of outstanding natural beauty.
Subtle lighting at night means you can star gaze while soaking in 38c water.
View from the Granary towards the Welsh mountains and beyond.
The first floor accommodation is above the owner's office. This is not used when guests are staying.
Front door access up original stone steps. Many other original features maintained.
The owner is a rose enthusiast and the gardens are full of a range of different varieties.
The Granary is just the place for that romantic break with a difference.
A luxury bathroom with spa bath, lots of bubbles and candles to relax you after a long day.
A Welcome Pack can be ordered for your arrival. Just send us your list and we will do the rest.
Walks straight from the gate; maps and tourist information provided. Pets are welcome.
Winter in the forest is magical. Walks in the snow. Come back to a cosy, warm welcome & spa bath
This secluded property is at the end of a forestry track and provides peace and tranquility.
View from the fields. Way marked walks to the local pubs. (30-45mins.) Walking back is a bit longer!
We make all our guests very welcome and look forward to being able to do the same for you one day.
The west facing property benefits from regular spectacular sunsets viewed from the balcony.
May is the bluebell season and visitors can take the opportunity to photograph these.
November is the Autumn colours season and this beech is at the top of the track.
Summer at Symonds Yat rock. Peregrine Falcons can be seen nesting. Pubs, river cruise and canoeing.
We want you to enjoy your stay, visit again and tell your friends about your stay.
Come with friends who can use our other property number 1783287. Discounts if both are booked.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
English Bicknor, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“"The perfect little get-away"”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Beautiful cosy cottage - loved sitting in the hot tub overlooking the country views! Lots to do- walking, cycling, exploring little villages and local pubs. We absolutely loved our stay. Thanks again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
Thank you for this lovely review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M
1 review
“lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

does not matter if you are active the cottage is a lovely place to relax.
I rate this holiday very highly.
Mandy and David are lovely people and can not do enough for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samidesig...
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect little forest hideaway!”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Beautiful, cosy place and amazing surroundings, especially in Autumn. Close to forest walks and the cycle centre :) Loved the hot tub at night under the stars. The path down to the place is pretty bumpy - so go easy with your car. Thanks again :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: The drive down to the place
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarehenn
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantic stay ”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Amazing place so peaceful and relaxing well worth the drive down the dirt track

Views food everything amazing

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
Thanks very much for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsum8809
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Perfect relaxing weekend away!
Me and my husband spent the weekend here for our wedding anniversary and it was fantastic. Mandy is lovely and the property is quirky and different from the usual holiday lets. The hot tub made it for us - so relaxing after a day of walking and mountain biking. The view from the hot tub and balcony is stunning. The spa bath is also a real treat. Great that we could take the dogs with us too, beautiful area and lovely walks. Plenty of local information provided in the granary.
Very well equipped kitchen (although could do with a sharper knife for chopping).
The track down to the property is particularly bumpy so bear in mind if you have a low car. But worth it once you're down!
Also just for info (not that it mattered to us) but the sky tv does not have a viewing card so only terrestrial channels available rather than all the sky channels. But who needs TV when you're in such a beautiful place?
Our only regret is we couldn't stay for longer!
Thank you Mandy for a lovely stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Really glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated what the Granary has to offer. Will sharpen the knife! Also for anyone thinking of coming to the Granary in the future, we are having the track repaired ready for the winter so it should make things much easier. Hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$120
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing