We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cute, pet-friendly secluded cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Our dog Jodie enjoying the garden!  Wren Cottage welcomes pets.
Autumn tree on Shapridge Hill
Welcome tray including locally made apple juice and biscuits.
A rural location with plenty of horses, sheep, even a couple of pigs and a donkey!
View of the River Severn from Edge Hills - the hill opposite the cottages
Snowy scenes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
C and V...
2 reviews
“Cute, pet-friendly secluded cottage”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Amazing walks and pubs, and very helpful owner.
Cottage warm and cosy.
Lovely scenery, and local bird-life

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad you liked the area and cottage and hope to be able to welcome you and your dog back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandTour...
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Had a very enjoyable stay at the cosy Wren cottage. The cottage has everything you need and the welcome pack was appreciated. However would advise people to arrive in the day time as took us a while to find in the dark! Will recommend to our family and friends and hope to be back soon ourselves.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Wren Cottage and we look forwards to welcoming you back soon. Yes, we do advise people to arrive in the light as is is tricky to find. Not so easy at this time of year with the dark evenings, but anyone reading this, please do phone us if you are lost and we will guide you in!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12douglas
barmouth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“peace and quiet”
Reviewed 23 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

a lovely peaceful break with plenty of walks nearby and a few shops and takeaways not too far away. would book again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet
Liked least: the rough track to the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2016
Thank you for your great review. We're glad you had a good time and look forwards to welcoming you back one day soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moogar
Sevenoaks
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top Notch Cottage”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed for a long weekend in Wren Cottage. Everything you could possibly want and need is in the cottage. The walks are stunning - especially the one that goes via the Abbey. Some of the directions were a little shady, but that added to the fun. Would like to see a few more walks like that in the book - mid length. Such a gorgeous part of the world.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2016
We're really glad you liked Wren Cottage! We agree (and so does our dog ,Teifi), the walks are fantastic here, especially at this time with all the reds and golds. I will have to walk the walks with Teifi and check the directions. So pleased you enjoyed it, and hope to welcome you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris2345...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The cottage was in a lovely location off the beaten track on the edge of the Forest of Dean, with great views across the valley. Ideal for walking and wild life. The cottage was attractive and comfortable particularly with the log burner on some chilly autumn evenings. We did find it on the small side though- particularly the shower room with a cloakroom size washbasin. Surroundings were ideal for our dog.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review of Wren Cottage. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay in this beautiful part of the country. The log burner certainly comes into its own at this time of year! The cottage is a converted one up one down traditional Forest of Dean miners cottage. The washroom facilities would have originally consisted of a hip bath in front of the fire and a loo outside! We hope we have improved on this with our modern renovations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing