We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Our dog Jodie enjoying the garden!  Wren Cottage welcomes pets.
Autumn tree on Shapridge Hill
Welcome tray including locally made apple juice and biscuits.
A rural location with plenty of horses, sheep, even a couple of pigs and a donkey!
View of the River Severn from Edge Hills - the hill opposite the cottages
Snowy scenes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris2345...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The cottage was in a lovely location off the beaten track on the edge of the Forest of Dean, with great views across the valley. Ideal for walking and wild life. The cottage was attractive and comfortable particularly with the log burner on some chilly autumn evenings. We did find it on the small side though- particularly the shower room with a cloakroom size washbasin. Surroundings were ideal for our dog.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review of Wren Cottage. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay in this beautiful part of the country. The log burner certainly comes into its own at this time of year! The cottage is a converted one up one down traditional Forest of Dean miners cottage. The washroom facilities would have originally consisted of a hip bath in front of the fire and a loo outside! We hope we have improved on this with our modern renovations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sipryor
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cute cottage, beautiful location - perfect getaway for a special occasion!”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at Wren cottage which was very cozy and perfect for a couple. The cottage has everything you need including a wood burner which really is the icing on the cake. The inside and outside are clean and tidy.

I informed Karen that we were coming for a special occasion and she put a huge amount of effort into making our stay special. There were elegant flowers, delicious chocolates and chilled champagne on arrival, together with delicate outside lighting and tasteful mood lighting inside. The cost of this was very reasonable and well worth it in my opinion. Hats off to her, great stuff!!

The location is beautiful and there is plenty of outside seating to sit and look at the views and local wildlife. There are walks that start at the cottage door which are picturesque and we were lucky enough to see some deer in the woods. It is also only a short drive to Ross-on-Wye and Symonds Yat.

The grounds of the cottage include a beautiful wildlife garden including a bird hide for those that are interested. For us it was a great place to have a beer in the afternoon sunshine.

For those looking for a quiet retreat then I can't recommend this enough!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are glad that you had a great time at Wren Cottage and that we were able to help make your special occasion something to remember. We look forwards to welcoming you back one day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottages presented in idyllic part of the country”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My fiancée and I stayed in the Wren cottage for 3 nights and we were both pleasantly surprised with property. Very well equipped, and although small, served our needs perfectly. Clean and tidy upon arrival, and we did enjoy the complimentary welcome pack of apple juice and biscuits! The Internet access (which was important to us) was excellent considering the proximity of the cottage. The outside area has recently had a new seating/BBQ area built, and as the weather was good during our visit, we made the most of it. We went on some recommended local walks and thoroughly enjoyed the area. The cottages boast wonderful views of the Forest of Dean, and the noise levels were non-existent! We will 100% be back at some point to enjoy some more "quiet time" and explore the area further. 10/10 from us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
It's great that you had such a great stay! We're glad you enjoyed our BBQ area and found your stay with us so peaceful. It's also good to have the feedback on our new Wi-Fi system -it's obviously much better now. We look forwards to welcoming you back on your next stay. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clancys16
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful little piece of the world! A relaxing stay for those who love the outdoors!!”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a lovely stay at Wren cottage with our 2 mini dachshunds. The cottage was decorated in a very modern way which combined very well with the restored cottage! We felt like we were in the middle of nowhere with a beautiful view and a wildlife garden for the dogs to safely enjoy! Would highly recommend it and would like to go back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are really pleased that you had such a great stay and we look forwards to welcoming you back one day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean M
Wimborne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Off the beaten track and very peaceful. Just what we were looking for.
We would use this cottage again should we return to the Forest of Dean.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time out to review Wren Cottage, we really appreciate it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing