We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great comfortable base for family gathering and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ruardean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sonof_sou...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great comfortable base for family gathering and active weekend”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Found this rental after searching for some self catering accommodation for a long weekend to bring the family together along with a toddler and dog. The location based on the farm was brilliant and we were encouraged to go and explore, which was a brilliant way of entertaining the toddler. The cottage itself easily accommodated 6 adults with a large amount of room. Furnishings were basic, but comfortable and the large number of books made it rather homely, which is what we wanted. This cottage is for people seeking practical and comfortable well located accommodation. Lovely large kitchen with big dining table. there was a large fully enclosed garden which was great for the dog and child. There were a few small glitches, but the owners would bend over backwards to rectify these and were very welcoming. Location wise is brilliant for cycling, walking and exploring Forest of Dean. We did trips to Dean Heritage Centre, Cannop Bike Centre and Symonds Yat. I would definitely return and would recommend it to friends and colleagues.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loza888
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An enjoyable and comfortable stay.”
Reviewed 13 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really impressed with this holiday house. We visited in order to go to a funeral the next day and were travelling from Cambridgeshire. There was seven of us in all, my wife, in laws and my three children and I would say there was easily enough room for us all. We wished we could have stayed for longer than the one night, as it would have been a perfect base to explore the local area. I loved the log burner to load up when we arrived and everything seemed so clean and tidy and well organised. My only criticism would be regarding the non working Ray Burn as this would have really helped the warming up of the kitchen! However the kitchen was pretty well stocked with utensils for cooking and we had a gorgeous fried breakfast from the foods sold at the farm shop. Beds were comfy, although my eight year old daughter complained a little about the creaky bunk bed. Overall a wonderful holiday house which made a sad event that bit more bearable. Would thoroughly recommend this holiday let to friends and family, and would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lounge with log burner and lovely kitchen. All our 3 dogs were welcome :)
Liked least: broken Ray burn
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacq1968
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend in the Forest of Dean”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The Dairy is a wonderful place to spend a weekend with friends. Lovely cosy bedrooms, a fabulous living room with wood burner and an enormous kitchen with a huge table for comfortable dining. The house was very well-equipped and in a perfect location from which to explore the Forest of Dean. In summer, the garden, too, would provide extra space and lovely views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxed and friendly farm cottage.”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our weekend break at The Dairy and recommend it to others wanting some time out. The owners were attentive to our needs and kindly brought us 6 fresh eggs when we asked for some on our late arrival. We really liked the relaxed & friendly atmosphere at Crooked End Farm. We thought that The Dairy was a cosy 3 bed barn conversion that has a good sized kitchen and a pleasant well fenced garden for children and dogs. The Farm Café has a good menu of locally sourced produce and was busy with visitors all weekend. The Farm Shop inside the Café was well stocked and we were glad to be able to choose our own fruit and veg equivalent to the value of the boxes we'd ordered Crooked End farm is a good base to explore the many beauty spots in the Forest of Dean & its surrounding villages.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very happy and relaxing holiday with lots to do”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Three generations of our family (5) decided to stay at Crooked End Farm and everyone enjoyed the experience. All the people at the farm were extremely friendly and helpful.
The cottage was clean and comfortable – although there was only one mirror in the house.
The internet connection was good
We had access to the entire farm – the children enjoyed the trampoline with its audience of lambs and we all enjoyed walking to the top of the fields to see the incredible views and sunset. It was great to walk around the poly-tunnels and look at the organic vegetables and herbs.
I can highly recommend the chocolate brownies from the on-site shop and the fresh eggs were beyond description
We had not visited the area before but the location of the farm means that is simple to visit Symons Yat, Gloucester, Hereford Ross-on-Wye, the Forrest of Dean and Wales.
There are some beautiful castles in the area- Raglan and Goodrich are good examples.
We also found time to visit the Hereford Country Fair which was a great day out for all the family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in the kitchen
Liked least: Only one mirror
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$138
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing