We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old colonial feel to it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wombles Steakhouse Restaurant

Wombles Steakhouse Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Bryanston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Wombles is a destination restaurant which comfortably caters for corporate groups whilst simultaneously accommodating intimate diners.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Old colonial feel to it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent service, excellent food. Being served by three or more staff members make you feel special. As always it was superb.

  • Visited February 2017
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    652
    191
    71
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievable ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Decided to spoil my Girlfriend and Brother for their respective birthdays by taking them to this fine establishment. The food was top drawer, the service even better. The staff knows how to handle you from the moment you phone to book your table, when you arrive, during your evening, right up until when you leave. I don't think I have experienced service like this before.

We each ate off their grill menus and our respective steaks were cooked to perfection. The added vegetable plater was a great touch.

And don't forget to take something off the dessert menu - keep some space for that!

All in all, quite pricey at around R 600 per head excl wine (we took our own and they charged R100 corkage - also quite high I feel) - but definitely a Restuarant I will go back to again

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Elegant & Refined!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Highly recommend. It is an amazing experience of pure culinary delight. A menu that caters for the most discerning of tastes. Owner/Hostess is constantly on the floor, waiters are attentive without being intrusive. A romantic and memorable evening.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The service is awesome and the food is very tasty. It is also a cozy environment. It is fine dining and when you leave you feel contented.
It is not cheap but worth every penny.

  • Visited April 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vee007gp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanston, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Business lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice space for business lunch and service is always great. Had a fantastic time there and my guests also loved the atmosphere there. Keep up the good work folks

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank jokok2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wombles Steakhouse Restaurant also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Wombles Steakhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing