We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently impressive ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wombles Steakhouse Restaurant

Wombles Steakhouse Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Bryanston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Wombles is a destination restaurant which comfortably caters for corporate groups whilst simultaneously accommodating intimate diners.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Consistently impressive ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having recently visited the restaurant for a business dinner we ordered the fillet-on-the-bone with marrow sauce and all I can say is "wow".

Will definitely go back purely for this culinary delight

Highly recommended

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    653
    191
    71
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Level Contributor
450 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Ambience, Service and Food are all AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Three of us went here for dinner last week. It was my first time. OMG! It was the most amazing experience! First, the decor is relaxing and "colonial". It is a big restaurant but divided into small rooms giving it an intimate feel. The walls are busy with art and animals. We were seated immediately and our drink orders taken. We were also given warm bread with 3 types of butter. We were then given menus and told what the specials were. They don't take your order until your menus are closed! I had one of the specials which was a bone in fillet with a red wine and mushroom sauce. It was cooked perfectly! One friend had Scottish salmon and the other has rump steak. They both enjoyed their meals too. After dinner, there was whisky and coffee. We had a very leisurely dinner and were not pressured to hurry. I will go there again when I am in the area. It was not just a dinner but an experience.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank USExpat1nUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Ambiance ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Invited a key customer for a business dinner at Wombles. Was not disappointed.
Good food, efficient service and great ambiance. The fillet steak on the bone was delicious and well prepared.
However the wine was not the greatest.
The first bottle was harsh and sour. The second was bland. Otherwise it was great dinner. Be sure to book in advance.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Sewpersads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dined here for the second time in a month and the whole experience was once again faultless. I'd enjoyed what I'd ordered previously so much that I rather unadventurously chose the same again and didn't regret it.
Wombles is a real must visit if you're in Joburg and are looking for a quality restaurant - everything about the place is classy and worth the extra rand.
A special mention for the manager who is very friendly

  • Visited March 2017
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, USA
Level Contributor
195 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Service excellent, wine perfect, setting excellent, but food lousy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate with another couple who live in the area and said this was the best restaurant in Sandton and one which requires reservation long in advance. We were so looking forward to a memorable evening. It started out well with an excellent bottle of wine sitting around an open fire in the courtyard. The menu looked like a carnivore delight and we selected the 700 gram prime rib cooked medium (pink in the middle). After another bottle of excellent wine we began eating our dinner. Disappointment was our first reaction. The prime rib was very tough and tasteless. Definitely not up to the quality of the meat meals we had at several meals in Nicolway. This may have been a off night but one that would make us question returning.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Mountainmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wombles Steakhouse Restaurant also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Wombles Steakhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing