We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent again”

Wombles Steakhouse Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in Bryanston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Wombles is a destination restaurant which comfortably caters for corporate groups whilst simultaneously accommodating intimate diners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2017

Dined here for the second time in a month and the whole experience was once again faultless. I'd enjoyed what I'd ordered previously so much that I rather unadventurously chose the same again and didn't regret it.
Wombles is a real must visit if you're in Joburg and are looking for a quality restaurant - everything about the place is classy and worth the extra rand.
A special mention for the manager who is very friendly

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    193
    71
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, USA
Level Contributor
197 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Service excellent, wine perfect, setting excellent, but food lousy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2017

We ate with another couple who live in the area and said this was the best restaurant in Sandton and one which requires reservation long in advance. We were so looking forward to a memorable evening. It started out well with an excellent bottle of wine sitting around an open fire in the courtyard. The menu looked like a carnivore delight and we selected the 700 gram prime rib cooked medium (pink in the middle). After another bottle of excellent wine we began eating our dinner. Disappointment was our first reaction. The prime rib was very tough and tasteless. Definitely not up to the quality of the meat meals we had at several meals in Nicolway. This may have been a off night but one that would make us question returning.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Mountainmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2017

Was lucky enough to have an exquisite meal there this week with friends and family. The atmosphere is set as soon as you enter the courtyard - the staff are all super friendly and attentive. The decor is stunning and al our mean were sublime. Best meal we have ever had in Joeys!

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Simply said... Pure perfection! We decided to try Wombles-steakhouse for our anniversary, and after reading all the reviews, had high expectations. These expectations were satisfied in every aspect! Perfect service and I emphasise the perfect, you cannot get better service in JHB. The food is on a level which leaves you unable to stop, even though you know you should, absolutely delicious.

Well done to the owners and managers of Wombles-steakhouse you have the perfect recipe for a great evening's dining!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Darren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Came all the way from the UK. Booked 2 weeks in advance and feel we were given the worst table in the restaurant stuck in a back corner with a fine view of the car park and Spa super market! Pity because the atmosphere and decor in the front of the restaurant looked really nice. Can't fault the steaks - wife and I had T bones and my son went for the 1kg "man size" rump which defeated him! Meal let down by sides and sauces however. Rosemary potato wedges were more like unseasoned roast potatoes and one of the worst bernaise sauces I've ever tried - way too vinegary. Complimentary peas and onions Ok. Bland watery mashed squash really not nice!


Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank CTGuru2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wombles Steakhouse Restaurant also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Wombles Steakhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing