We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indulge in the rating!”
Review of Lanser's on Main

Lanser's on Main
Ranked #1 of 70 Restaurants in Bryanston
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Lanser's on Main serves exquisite home-styled Italian and French food with an ambience to match. We’re open from 11:00 – 21:30 every day, except Sundays. We’re always looking forward to welcoming you.
Restaurant details
Description: Lanser's on Main serves exquisite home-styled Italian and French food with an ambience to match. We’re open from 11:00 – 21:30 every day, except Sundays. We’re always looking forward to welcoming you.
Reviewed 5 September 2020

Our order:

For appetiser— table fave (tomato tart)
- carpaccio 5/5 (mature flavour,) - Chenin
- tomato tart 5/5 (Delightful and a perfect starter)

Mains— table fave (pork belly)
- prawn pasta 5/5 (simply delightful)
- southern chicken 5/5 (mmmm!)
- pork belly 5/5 (wow! Just wow)
- porcine risotto 5/5 ——-
NB! I am putting this on record NB!
Risotto - If you have ever had a longing to taste a risotto made the right way, this is it.

BEST RISOTTO I HAVE EVER HAD

Delightful endings— table fave (panna cotta)
- lemon meringue 5/5 (yum) Dom Pedro Amar. 5/5
- panna cotta 5/5

THE BEST PANNA COTTA I HAVE EVER HAD
(Was it even a panna cotta ( absolutely magical and Lite))

Absolutely exquisite!!
Modest approach to an absolutely satisfying and sophisticated dining experience!

Well done!

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank DevinDeLange
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanserF, Owner at Lanser's on Main, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Devine

The Tomato Tart is also a Restaurant Favourite, I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Between the Pork Belly and Risotto it's a tough call, and I'm really glad you enjoyed your meal.

You took so much time writing your review, and it's really appreciated. We promise to keep working hard to ensure every visit tastes like this one. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Lanser's on Main

-- Lanser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2020 via mobile

Excellent as always. Food is beautifully presented, the menu caters for pretty much everyone. The staff are totally lovely and discreetly attentive. I highly recommend a meal there

Date of visit: September 2020
1  Thank FJ-HUME
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanserF, Owner at Lanser's on Main, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, FJ-HUME

I'm so glad you enjoyed another fabulous meal at Lanser's on Main. The team were thrilled to get your feedback. Our aim is for all of our guests to enjoy a wonderful meal, in a relaxed and attentive environment.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit

-- Lanser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2020

We had the springbok rissoto. It was amazing. Cosmos was our exceptional server who tended to our every need. I love this restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank VlkV2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanserF, Owner at Lanser's on Main, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, VlkV2015

We're so glad you enjoyed lunch with your mom at Lanser's on Main. The Springbok Risotto is delicious and we regularly receive great feedback from our guests. We've passed your feedback on to Cosmo, and you're quite right, he is exceptional.

Thank you for visiting us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit

-- Lanser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2020

My husband and I visited this hidden gem for dinner to celebrate our anniversary. The bistro has a lovely, cosy atmosphere, with great service. The food did not disappoint either. We cannot wait to go back to try a pizza and pasta. Everything on the menu sounds delicious!

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank MegsandCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanserFourie, Owner at Lanser's on Main, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Hi MegsandCarl. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We're so glad you selected Lanser's on Main to celebrate your anniversary, and that it was a wonderful eating experience. no matter the occasion to do our best to ensure that all our guests enjoy wonderful food, person care and attention, and a laid back and relaxed environment.

Once again, thank you for visiting. We look forward to welcoming you back for Pizza and Pasta.

-- Lanser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile

I went with my husband after reading the positive reviews and we were not disappointed. We ordered venison and kudu for main dishes. Everything was perfect. The starters were equally delicious. My husband is a chef so he typically finds flaws in various dishes we taste, but he was happy with everything we tried here and tasted the michelin training of the chef. Congratulations. We will certainly come back the next time we are in Johannesburg.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank X6072CIjulial
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanserFourie, Owner at Lanser's on Main, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, X6072CIjulial

What a wonderful pleasure to have you and your husband visit us at Lanser's on Main. While Chef's are difficult to cook for, they're far more difficult to be married to (ask my wife), so I'm really glad you had a great meal with us :-)

The Kudu was one of our specials during your visit, and we were thrilled with the feedback from our guests.

Thank you so much for visiting us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Johannesburg

-- Lanser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lanser's on Main also viewed

 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Lanser's on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.