We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing food and staff”
Big enough to have great facilities but small enough to be homely!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Big enough to have great facilities but small enough to be homely!
Hot tub with views to Morzine and Avoriaz Cosy dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Big enough to have great facilities but small enough to be homely!
Hot tub with views to Morzine and Avoriaz
Cosy dining room
Sauna
Our great in-house bar
First floor bedroom
Top floor bedroom
Top floor twin room
The dining room can be arranged in any way to suit the groups
Plenty of soft seating and a big open fireplace
The new gondola at Prodains is just 5 minutes away
Avoriaz was the snowiest resort in the Alps in 2013
Can't beat a powder day!
The Hauts Forts mountains behind the chalet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
11 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Morzine, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michelle...
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food and staff”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is my 4th visit to the chalet and every year it gets better. I'm part of a large group who are well travelled and experienced skiers. The chalet staff are excellent and can't do enough to accommodate. The chef this year was the best yet! The convenience, food and welcoming staff are what bring us back year after year. Thank you Andy and Sylvie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Thank you Michelle for your kind words. Your group was a great last booking of the season for us and we very much enjoyed your company. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to our Chalet Hosts and Chef Sharif.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So good for groups”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Part of a ski party of 21.
Rooms clean and comfy but not overly large. Not an issue though as the main lounge area makes a great focal point for meeting up and evening chats.
Food was excellent and service friendly and prompt.
Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickMinaf...
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great skiing, great place, great hosts”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We took the whole of Chalet Thalassa - the group varied from a few months old to 65 years young.
The Chalet was warm and comfortable and the hosts extremely welcoming.
The in-house ski hire was very convenient and the equipment good value.
Nothing was too much trouble and the staff made our holiday as pleasant and easy as possible. The bar, Sauna and hot tub were a great hit.
The food was plentiful and of good quality and I can honestly say that we all had a great time. We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: The friendly welcome and the care taken to make our stay as easy as possible
Liked least: I cant think of any negatives
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noeyedeer...
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Basic”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Thalassa isn't in the same league as quality ski chalets (and doesn't aim to be). The market Haut Savoie are targeting is the budget end so don't expect top notch food/service.
For example, on our last evening we were fed sausage (tinned?) and bean casserole with over-cooked rice followed by chocolate croissant (breakfast leftovers) and butter pudding....hmmm!
Wine carafes are removed promptly after dinner and are not filled to the top when more is requested during the meal.
Overall service standards are limited (i.e. rooms are not cleaned each day) and chalet heating is timed to kick-in at 6:30, so don't expect glowing warmth on return - most other chalets are overheated, however.
On the positive side, the bar is cheaper than you'll pay in town, but that's about it.
So, compare prices with other providers before you book - if you can get similar deal at the same price it may be your best option. If you can't get a better price.....you get what you pay for!

Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are sorry to hear that the chalet didn't live up to expectations. I believe that you were part of the group booked through a solo traveller agency and the service that we provide at the chalet may not have been communicated adequately in advance.

Anyone booking direct will see clearly from our website that rooms are not serviced on a daily basis (most of our customers prefer their private space to remain that way for the duration of their stay) and that we offer the equivalent of 2 glasses of wine per person with dinner. The reason for that is simple and transparent... we have a bar and we would like you to spend money in there! Our 3 other chalets are priced higher to include cheese and port after dinner and unlimited wine. As you rightly point out, we are aiming to offer a good value option in a market saturated with luxury chalets.

With regards the food that we provide we have had many excellent comments from people this year (in real life rather than from behind the anonymity of a username). Your opinion is equally valid but it is a pity that we were not given the chance to speak to you at the time. The two dishes that you mention are usually very popular and to answer your two questions directly:
1) A sausage cassoulet is hardly an unusual dish in France and the sausages come from the local butcher.
2) Bread and butter pudding made with croissants is a French twist on a classic favourite for a client base that is 99% British. The croissants are baked in house for this purpose and are not simply breakfast leftovers. We have far more leftover bread every day but choose to use croissants!

It sounds like we won't be seeing you again in Morzine and if you were one of the many nice members of the group (as opposed to the one who urinated in the hot tub) I am sorry that your stay was not all that you had hoped for.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$2 245
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing