We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for quiet getaway or as a base to explore...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Royan, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Peter O
1 review
“Perfect for quiet getaway or as a base to explore the area”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Quick response from our host, who speaks good English and was very friendly and helpful, though not at all intrusive.

The property is on the outskirts of Royan, within walking distance of the beautiful beaches (15 minutes), and about two miles from the centre of the town. Situated at the back of the host's home with a private entrance and private garden, and off-street parking. There is wifi but reception is poor - you have to go around the side of the house to get reception.

Two rooms: en-suite bedroom with double bed and TV; and a kitchen with all you need. Evertything was very clean and convenient. Pretty garden, with table and chairs, and recliners, too. We had a very relaxing time.

There is a local convenience store about 100m away and an excellent supermarket about 800m away, which also sells petrol.

With a car you can easily reach a whole range of beautiful towns, vineyards, chateaux and beaches. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, peaceful, convenient
Liked least: Limited wifi access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martyn J
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Small, but very charming !”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

In writing reviews, a balance should always be made based on facts and opinions, and understanding of the points of view of others. I will say from the outset that we loved it, but lets look all the features of the property.
The property is located on about 900 metres from the gorgeous beach at St Georges de Didonne,. and about 2kms from Royan Town centre, not a problem for us as we love walking, especially along the nearby seafront. However, some may want to be closer to the centre of Royan. The property is situated on a busy-ish road, but is beautifully maintained behind electric gates. The accommodation is at the rear of the property and enjoys the benefit of a small, but very private fenced off garden, with barbeque and washing line if required. As such, there is little noise from traffic. Secure parking is available at the property
The property consists of a Bedroom and Kitchen. All are in excellent decorative order and well appointed. The kitchen is well equipped with everything needed to aid self catering. One possible drawback is that the property does not have an oven, but does have a sophisticated micro-wave oven. This wasn't an issue for us, but some may find this a shortcoming. The toilet/bathroom facilities are a toilet which is situated in what is basically a cupboard off the bedroom, and likewise the shower in another larger cupboard. Both are 'compact'. As former caravaners, we were able to adapt easily to the limited space, but again, some people may find the arrangements difficult to adapt to, so be warned. That said they were both well decorated and pleasant and quite usable... just small.
The beauty is that unless you are very unfortunate, the sunny warm climate of the Royan area means that you can live and eat outside the property very comfortably, and as can be seen from the photos, a bench and table is provided, as well as 2 Sun Loungers for relaxation. The garden gets full sun in the mornings and late afternoon, but I believe that (according to other reviews) the owners are amenable to part of their garden immediately outside of the flat's garden being used respectfully (to be verified with owners !) So to sum up, the property is small, and may prove to be too small for some people's enjoyment, but it was perfect for us. The use of the beautiful private garden compensates for the limited internal space. Wi-Fi is available and very good if you are in the right place... That said you may need to be prepared to check your emails from the side of the house. Again, this may not be an issue for many.
Gloria the owner, is incredibly helpful. She speaks very good English, and is always eager and anxious to ensure that your stay is all that you require. She is on hand to help you with any questions, and will offer great advice on the local area, (Shops/places of interest/Restaurants etc
There are also other flats within the property that are available for rent, so there are other larger options available for those with other requirements. One of the other reviewers called the place a 'gem', and this is true provided you able to live within the limitations of the flat.
If that is the case, then you'll love the place.
Would we return ? if we were to return to Royan, then yes we would 110%

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charming atmosphere and ambience of the place.
Liked least: ...just the Microwave oven !!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemis f
1 review
“Great holiday!”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My stay in Royan was great thanks to the owner of the apartment and the facilities of the apartment. I totally recommend it and I'll try to come back again. :)

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T
Kinmel Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent and well equipped apartment with its own private garden”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This apartment gave my wife and I everything we were looking for in our stay. It was well furnished with pretty much everything we could wish for and had its own private parking and secluded garden which caught the sun in the earlier part of the day. We were also offered the use of other parts of the garden when ours was in the shade.
Gloria the owner speaks very good English and gave us a warm welcome and helped us with anything we needed.
My wife has a problem with her knee, so we tended to use out car to go to the shops, restaurants and beaches, though these are not too far to walk for those who are fit.
We would certainly recommend it as very good value for money and a very relaxing holiday

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing