We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
65
144
57
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
144
57
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews presidential suite casino downstairs open sea sea view first floor limited free parking stayed here for one night comfortable bed two nights would stay here again ferry terminal slots seafront receptionist beachside renovation mercure
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Good price; great location.
Breakfast was okay; but a little bit short on fresh fruit.
You have to sign not to smoke in the room, but; I couldn't leave my window open without second hand smoke drifting in. I know a lot was coming from electritions working out side my room on the roof; but I think other guests may also have climbed out on the roof to smoke. I hate the smell of smokers; so, against my will I had to keep my window shut much of the time. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Much more expensive for beach view. If you want the beach....it is just across the street.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Great location & the rooms were fine but we were not warned of the extensive renovations going on. The website mentions maybe a little noise. There was no noise problem but the reception area, stairwells etc were building sites. The lift was not working the first day so we braved the flighty ataircases. The handrails were covered in thick dust & I'm sure the fumes & dust were a health hazard. We were given a coupon for a drink in the casino to compensate! When I spoke to the receptionist she said that we should have been informed & that, as we had paid in full up front it would be 'too complicated ' to do anything else for us.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte P, Responsable réception at Grand Hotel du Casino de Dieppe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Dee, thank you for your review.
We are sorry you were not aware of the renovation works, we published the information on all websites from August.
Indeed, all reservations prepaid are non refundable.
We would be so happy to welcome you again when the renovation is done by March 2018.

Kind Regards,
Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We came to Dieppe for the annual Retro car weekend and stayed at the Casino - a nod to a retro past when Dieppe had a MASSIVE beachside pleasure palace - see historic picture attached.

This is an ideal place to stay if you want a good mid-range place to stay and want to want to get out and about rather than spend time 'a l'hotel' . The hotel sits over the casino and, together with the restaurant on the second floor, is an useful amenity to the slots and tables rather than the main event - the reception is on the first floor. Rooms are arranged over the first to third floors and whilst there are renovations taking place at lower levels, they all seem recently refreshed and decorated. We weren't aware of any noise from the casino, bars or fellow patrons.

Our room had a 'city view' from which morning sun and the castle could be enjoyed - although rather a lot of air conditioning plant as well. The bedroom was of a reasonable size and the bathroom had a separate entrance from the mini-hall: smart with a bath and shower over, generously sized basin and good lighting. The bed was large and comfy with nice quality cotton sheets/ duvet cover and pillows. Usual hotel amenities abound including a safe.

Service was pleasant and effective; cleanliness was generally good and the bathroom spotless, but some of the carpets could benefit from cleaning.

Easy to find from the ferry terminal and a great location for touring on foot, bike or by car. Limited free parking is available adjacent to the hotel entrance, but if this is full free parking may be arranged in one of the 'Indigo' car parks opposite. Pets can also stay by arrangement!

Good value for room-only at €95 per night for two people.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCM_Tearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte P, Responsable réception at Grand Hotel du Casino de Dieppe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear SCM_Tearle, thank you for your nice & detailed review !
It is a pleasure to see descriptions like yours which will be helpful for Guests in the future.
We hope you enjoyed the famous Dieppe Rétro gathering, and we would be so happy to welcome you again next year ! Moreover, all the renovation works will be done by March 2018.
We look forward to welcome you again next year !

Kind Regards,
Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Had to walk up the stairs with luggage- lift out of use. Very unfriendly and unhelpful
Staff. Toilet seat broken in bathroom. No reception after 9 o'clock in the evening. Building works in the hotel entrance!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mah0ney67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte P, Responsable réception at Grand Hotel du Casino de Dieppe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear mah0ney67,
Lift was out of use because of the renovation works, but our staff was here to help and be of assistance of all our Guests.
It is so sad you did not mention the refund we gave to you after I listened carefully to your remarks.
Hotel reception is closed at 9pm but a signage indicates the casino reception is available to help Guests at any time.
We would be so happy to show you the property renovated in March 2018, hoping you will have a better experience.
See you soon !

Kind Regards,
Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Dieppe for a few nights while in town to visit the war cemetery. The hotel was under renovations/construction so there wasn't much of a lobby or a front desk but the staff did their best to make it functional.

The rooms are really spacious and roomy with a great ocean view. There is no noise from the casino what so ever. The grand hotel is close to a nice Saturday market as well as shopping and of course the pier and sea.

Would highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank jaetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte P, Responsable réception at Grand Hotel du Casino de Dieppe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear jaetee, it is a pleasure to read your comment. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the location of our hotel. We hope you liked the Dieppe market on Saturday morning, it is a must see !
We would be pleased to see you again when the property will be fully refurbished by March 2018. Please feel free to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews