We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devonshire tea well worth a try”

Pyengana Farm Gate Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Pyengana
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Home of Australia's heritage farmhouse cheese. We have been making traditional cheddar cheese continuously here at Pyengana for 130 years. We also have a cafe with an open fire place where you can enjoy a cuppa along with our delicious scones, orange cake, cheesecake or chocolate brownie. Lunch menu is also available for those wanting something more substantial. We also have Tasmanian beer, wine and ciders, and a lovely range of Tasmanian produce in our retail store. We are child friendly and offer a baby change table located in ladies toilet, playground and space to run around on the grass out back.
Reviewed 27 February 2021

Stopped here after walking to St Columbia falls. We ordered the Devonshire Tea, 2 plain and 1 savoury. The traditional devonshire tea came with large servings of strawberry jam and fresh cream. The scones were enormous and fresh cooked. The cafe also has a good selection of Tasmanian food. Cafe also offers indoor and outdoor eating. Come in the morning and watch cheese being made in the factory next door. Pyengana cheese is one of the best around.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank DebraH358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna C, Manager at Pyengana Farm Gate Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2021

Thank you for stopping by our cafe, really glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2021 via mobile

Stop here on our way to Launceston for a quick bite of lunch. Was a great spot. Staff were lovely and was good to sit in the Cafe and watch the cows being milk. Good range of food and drink.
Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank missfee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna C, Manager at Pyengana Farm Gate Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2021

Thank you for visiting us, really pleased you enjoyed your stop here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2021

On a cold day this was a great stop. The staff were super lovely and helpful, the food and drinks great and the experience of the dairy fantastic! Highly recommend! Thank you to all the staff (from managers to cheese makers, barista, farmers and pasteuriser) for for such an amazing day and experience

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Lara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna C, Other at Pyengana Farm Gate Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2021

Thank you for stopping by to visit our cafe and for taking the time to leave a lovely review. Really glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2021

We have been here before but this time it seemed under staffed had a long wait luckily they weren’t really busy. Just seemed very unorganised. Coffee ok cheese nice but very expensive, nice little gift section but also pretty pricey. No cheese tasting due to Covid.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jandp768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna C, cafe manager at Pyengana Farm Gate Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2021

Thank you for visiting us. As you can appreciate we are extremely remote and it varies how many people pass through from day to day. I am sorry you had to wait for your meal. Hopefully you relaxed and enjoyed the fabulous views over the valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2021 via mobile

It’s really sad, we have been coming to Tassie for 10 years and we always looked forward to coming to Pyengana for either breakfast or lunch and the opportunity to buy their great cheeses. Well unfortunately it’s gone from great to good to bad to just crap. We used to be able to get a nice meal, then apparently they were bought out and things went downhill from there. We went there last week and called to enquire as to what time they served breakfast, was told 0900, so we we there 0930 for, wait for it, meat pies, no breakfast menu, nothing. In addition the place was an absolute shambles, severely understaffed, customers making their own coffee, our coffee took over 40 minutes, and it was rubbish. I hate giving bad reviews but who ever runs this place needs a good kick up the clacker.

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank BigPoppaPauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna C, Cafe manager at Pyengana Farm Gate Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2021

Thank you for visiting our Cafe, I am not sure you have reviewed the correct place, you can see from other reviews this is not the case, we have a breakfast menu daily till 11am, full English breakfast, eggs and bacon, fruit toast as well as the full menu from 9am. There is no way customers make their own coffee, you need to get your facts correct before making negative reviews. I am sorry if you had to wait for your coffee but it was obviously a busy day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pyengana Farm Gate Cafe also viewed

Pyengana, Break O'Day
St Helens, Break O'Day
 
St Helens, Break O'Day
 

Been to Pyengana Farm Gate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.