We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous cottage, wonderful holiday”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Treffynnon, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lesley S
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 7 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

I wanted to give feedback about our stay last week at this cottage as there were several things I think needed to be reviewed with this cottage by the owners and not just leaving a poor review here that I haven’t sent to the owners today as well

We rented the cottage based on feedback from TripAdvisor with 5star ratings but looking again I see now that these reviews are 2/3 years old !! So perhaps this is why we found a different setting?

On arrival the cottage was cold which knowing that guests would be arriving was a disappointing start and it took some while to get the cottage warm and to understand the over ride on the heating settings

On first sight the cottage itself looked ok and some decor was pleasant but as our holiday progressed we felt very disappointed in our rental property

On arrival we went to make coffee no basic coffee only ground not everyones choice, tea bags but no sugar .. luckily we don’t take sugar but if had and hadn’t brought any with us we would have have been disappointed

A few gifts left out which was a great find and we have sent a thanks for these however the two fresh eggs that had been left out were way out of date as dated early March !
I had to throw these away!
(No fresh laid eggs for us! )

We made a light meal our first evening with food we took with us and went to use the pepper mill which we then noted to be broken as the two halves came apart as I picked it up and empty anyway with no pepper in it !

Not a great start!

The kitchen was poorly equipped with little to use even to make ‘ holiday meals’ with everything to be honest having seen better days!
I made a quiche and the only thing I could find suitable was the lid of a Pyrex casserole dish ( dish itself not there!)

Even basics like measuring jug and bowls to mix were not there

There is no waste bin in the bathroom and no bath mat left so we had to use a hand towel to step out from the shower onto the floor

The garden was a mess with twigs everywhere, broken flower pots, bits of grey polystyrene piping cover and not the greatest area to let out a six month puppy who kept trying to eat it all so we couldn’t let him roam the garden as we had hoped despite this area being secure which was a positive!

Today ( Thursday ) we decided we have had enough and to leave and go home early.

So we then went to tidy and clean around and leave the property in good order when to our horror when we pulled out the settees our to ensure no puppy toys had escaped we found mounds of fluff and debris! (Which we cleared ! )

Behind the lounge settee we also found a cracked / rather broken extension socket (parts missing ) which luckily so far hadn’t caught on fire !!! But a major fire hazard so this needs to be replaced urgently!

What is being provided here has been the worst place we have stayed at through Sykes Cottages and Booking.com where we have paid similar monies

We don’t except a palace but cleanliness and utensils do help ( especially for self catering !! ) and the need to ensure guests safety is paramount which surely with today’s health and safety legislation there are examples of breaking this in this cottage
There were some amazing poor examples of wiring in places !

Enough said we wouldn’t come back here which is a shame as the area and position of this cottage is great for where we wanted to visit with family living near. Also a short walk to Holywell and lots of things to see close by too.

This cottage has great potential so as owners of this cottage we ask that you look at our honest feedback and make some needed changes to meet visitor expectations and not just do enough to let it !
( photos of the issues raised have been sent to the owners)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2018
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

The property owner was disappointed to hear you were disappointed with your stay, and would have loved the opportunity to assist you during your booking. They have however taken on board the comments provided and ensured that the extension cable was replaced as soon as this was brought to their attention.

We are aware that the property owner has been in touch directly to arrange a gesture for the issues experienced at their property. If we are able to assist in any way, please contact us directly on 01244 345700.

Kind Regards,
The Customer Service Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieT283...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage, wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a wonderful week in the gorgeous Fron Cottage. From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right decision for our holiday. The cottage was beautiful, extremely clean and we were greeted by lovely welcoming gifts of homemade cookies, cake and even a bottle of wine. There were even essentials of a freshly baked loaf, freshly laid eggs and a pint of milk in the fridge. Our dog wasn't forgotten either and there was a bowl of treats for him too.
We felt right at home from the moment we arrived due to the lovely decor and cosy furniture. The cottage and garden were bigger than we were expecting and definitely dog friendly. We were very lucky to have great weather and were all able to fully enjoy the garden.
The cottage is in a great location with plenty of shops within a few minutes walking distance, from independent local shops (including a great butchers) to a large Tesco so there is no need to worry about running out of anything. There are also plenty of takeaways including the amazing Maggie's fish and chip shop which is well worth a visit.
There are lots of walks, beaches and places to visit close by. Talacre beach was our dogs favourite with miles of sand and sea to play in.
All in all we loved every minute of our holiday and would thoroughly recommend Fron Cottage. In fact we are looking to go back again soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra984
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing cottage”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just spent a wonderful week at Fron cottage. We were very fortunate with the weather and we toured North Wales, this cottage is an excellent base to tour from. We did not use the lounge much at all as the conservatory was so relaxing to sit in. The photo of the garden does not do it justice as it is far bigger than it looks in the photo. The neighbours were lovely and the cottage is only a few hundred yards from the Main Street where there is a wide variety of shops. We arrived to find fresh flowers, wine, home made cake and even dog biscuits waiting for us, a really nice gesture. Would definitely go back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyvan20...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy, cute and clean, dog friendly ....ticked all our boxes!”
Reviewed 22 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Fron Cottage is a great place to stay to explore North Wales.
Tucked away off a little lane, it gave us lots of privacy but just two minutes walk from lots of shops and supermarkets...great if you've forgotten a bottle of milk!
The cottage itself is wonderfully decorated throughout with wooden floors, possibly the comfiest couch ever, a lovely bedroom with feather duvet, a well equipped kitchen with a conservatory looking out onto a decent sized courtyard which is entirely enclosed if you have a dog who thinks he's Houdini!
The interior touches are lovely with log burning fire...grandfather clock and little wooden love hearts, fluffy towels...so nice to arrive to as was the bottle of vino and lovely cake.
There is a great book with lots of information on local area and the owners numbers if you need any assistance.
Lots of lovely villages and towns nearby, and nice walks for our little yorkie terrier Larry who was so chilled here we had to pick him up and carry him out.
Met one of the owners Jon on last day, lovely chap....hope to see you again, we may try
your new farmhouse next time Pistyll farm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: home from home...all appliances easy to use...peaceful relaxing place
Liked least: maybe an awning over conservatory for when it's raining would be good.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2016
Thank you ever so much for sharing this incredible review with us, we are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your holiday at Fron Cottage! It sounds like the property suited you down to the ground, and we love that we got a seal of approval from Larry the Yorkie - lots of walks and a comfy place to relax sounds like every dogs dream! We certainly hope that you all return very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cosy, charming and a home from home”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a gem!

Very impressed with this cottage.

We arrived on a rainy and dull Decembers afternoon to be greeted by a warm and cosy cottage, the fire was roaring and there was a lovely bottle of red with two glasses left out for us, with some treats for our four legged companion.

The living room is very well set out, comfortable with plenty of room. There is also a nice conservatory and plenty of outside space for summer BBQs.

The place was easy to find and a great hub to use for exploring Wales. We visited the local well, and Wetherspoons down the raod which was very reasonably priced and had a good atmosphere. The other pubs in Holywell are admittedly a bit run down but Spoons was surprisingly good.

Lots to do in the surrounding area, walking, local pubs a short drive away (the Fox Inn & Blue Bell are great). Our only regret is not getting the chance to visit Simon and Jon (the owners) on their farm - details in the local area book they leave for you. Maybe next time.

Thanks again, highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy feel
Liked least: Having to leave after our stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
Thank you ever so much for sharing this wonderful feedback with us, we are so pleased that you had a great holiday at Fron Cottage. What a welcome you received! It sounds incredible to walk in from the rain to the sight of the fire burning and a tipple to start your stay - great to hear your dog got the welcome treatment too! We certainly hope that you come back for another holiday very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing