We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great family cycling holiday”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Hello velo

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Chatillon en Bazois, Nievre, Bourgogne-Franche-Comte

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Caffy_12
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great family cycling holiday”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed for a week at Hello Velo with our 2 daughters, aged 7 & 9. Jo & Greg are wonderful hosts with extensive knowledge of the local area (best cycling routes, wild swimming spots, food, wine etc.) Jo is an excellent cook and tailored her food to suit our family. We all enjoyed the fun of eating en famille, often with other guests and locals. The canal cycle paths are perfect for young children and the roads away from the canal are very quiet so also make great cycling for adults and kids. We cycled most days but felt there would have been plenty to do if we'd had more days off. This is a beautiful,quiet, unspoilt area of France and Jo & Greg went out of their way to make our holiday special - we would love to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F
1 review
“Cycling, home cooking, wine, laughs”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My partner and I stayed five nights at Hello Velo and had a fantastic time! The house is in the pretty village of Grond, surrounded by the French countryside.

We spent three of the days cycling and our hosts Jo and Greg were on hand to offer advice on routes and good places to stop off for lunch. The other days we explored the excellent vineyards of Burgundy. If you choose to stay in then there's an extensive garden in which to chill out. I've never seen so many stars in the night sky.

The home cooked meals were delicious and varied with regional wines and a couple of English Ales to choose from.

Merci beaucoup to Jo and Greg. We'll definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann F
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Excellent accommodation in beautiful rural France.”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We spent a fantastic week here, mostly cycling round the local canals and quiet country roads. Being English speaking, it was easy for our hosts to give us valuable advice on the best cycling routes and places to shop, have lunch or swim. They also have a wealth of large scale maps, so there is no need to take your own. They have a van which they use to take you to the start or collect you from the finish of many rides, although the beautiful location enabled us to start and finish most trips from Hello Velo.
We were made to feel instantly at home and ate breakfast and dinner 'en famille' with delicious meals cooked by Jo. We were invited to join the local cycling club, of all ages and abilities, for a ride in the local woods followed by a visit to a local Vide Grenier and everyone we met was very friendly and welcoming.
The accommodation is in a lovely converted barn complete with a minstrels gallery and our en suite room was very clean and comfortable. The other rooms which we were invited to look at were of the same high standard.
We would highly recommend Hello Velo to anyone looking for an active break in a beautiful place. However, although we spent most days cycling, we could easily have spent more time relaxing with our books, touring the area or walking and enjoyed our holiday just as much.
Thank you Hello Velo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennugent
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Cycling base and accommodation”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Jo and Gregg went out of their way to ensure that we had several cycle routes to choose from. They provided excellent advice on where to stop for coffee or lunch breaks and places to visit if we chose. We joined them on several of the evening community events and had some great fun. There was a variety of evening cuisine very well cooked by Jo and plenty of it. So pleased we chose this venue for our cycling holiday in Burgundy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed friendly atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annelies...
1 review
“Great B&B in rural France”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

we, family of 4, stayed here for two weeks.
We really enjoyed staying with Jo & Greg and Solomon. The area is great for cycling for the whole family. Jo and Greg are great hosts, and Jo is a excellent cook!
They really took care of us. They gave advice about cycling routes nearby and they can pcik you up, if you had enough cycling :-). The B&B is in a very quite area, but there is enough to do, if you like swimming, cycling, trying some wine or visiting Great brocante markets etc.
It is a good place to stop for a couple of days on your way to the south of France or Spain, but also to stay for longer as we did and enjoy the beautifull countryside and lovely wine and sun.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great hosts
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing