We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An ideal, family friendly retreat for a reunion...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gaer Hall

The approach to Gaer Hall.  Footpaths start at the end of our drive and you can walk to the 2 pubs.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The approach to Gaer Hall.  Footpaths start at the end of our drive and you can walk to the 2 pubs.
The driveway at Gaer Hall with uninterrupted views over the Breidden Hills and Rodney's Pillar Gaer Hall in all its' glory!  Croeso!  Welcome!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
The approach to Gaer Hall.  Footpaths start at the end of our drive and you can walk to the 2 pubs.
The driveway at Gaer Hall with uninterrupted views over the Breidden Hills and Rodney's Pillar
Gaer Hall in all its' glory!  Croeso!  Welcome!
Breakfast al fresco, lunch al fresco - bbq later? Perfect for a small wedding party
Our well equipped kitchen comes with a Rayburn and double electric oven and dishwasher
Our glorious kitchen.There's a table and chairs for kids' tea as well as the dining room itself.
The kitchen again, bags of room for the cooks and helpers! There's two fridges and freezers as well.
The ground floor lounge/diner with TV,woodburnerwith view to the hall where we have the pool table.
Ground floor double shown with 2 extra singles to make a family room with cot.
Ground floor single/small double with ensuite, ideal for those with mobility needs.
Ensuite bathroom with shower,part of the ground floor single/small double bedroom.  Bed converts.
Ground floor hall with pool table, cloaks with WC,laundry room and ensuite single/small double room
The Library bathed in sunlight July 2014.  No need for logs for the 2 woodburners this weather!
First floor Master bedroom,ensuite with cast iron roll top bath and shower.  Room for a cot, too.
First floor single/twin bedded room with cloaks - WC and wash hand basin- opposite.
Bunk beds!  Like the single/twin room next door it shares the cloaks, WC and wash hand basin
Second floor double bedroom with views over open countryside.  Can take an extra bed .
Same room from the opposite angle.Snug as a bug. Full oil central heating throughout the Hall..
Second floor double bedroom with fantastic views over Gaer Fawr. Can take an extra bed/cot.
Second floor family bathroom with bath, shower, WC, and wash hand basin.
View from across our hay meadows to Gaer Hall with Gaer Fawr behind.
If we haven't won you over already, maybe the sports area will clinch it!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Guilsfield, Welshpool, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Montelima...
Berriew, United Kingdom
1 review
“An ideal, family friendly retreat for a reunion with friends”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Gaer Hall ticked every box for our needs: a large, kid-friendly house for the weekend with good facilities to host at home for a party of 11. It is as charming as it looks, and warm despite its size, on a chilly weekend in March. One of the main features of this house, however, was the generous amount of living and bedroom space, which meant that we were never under one another's feet and could cook for and seat the whole group at meal times with ease. In particular, the huge upstairs living room offered ample space for the kids to play in when the weather turned, with the adults making use of the cosy ground-floor kitchen, dining and lounge areas. The layout of the bedrooms on every floor meant that parents had the option of sleeping close by small children, if they wished. Effectively, each family in our party had their own floor, which worked perfectly, with more room than was required. Owner Margaret couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating, to what was a fairly last-minute booking request. It was a treat to arrive and find wine and Welsh cakes on offer and, most importantly, simple instructions that allowed us to easily manage and get the most from this period property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The generous amount of space and general character of the property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tgel26
Basel
1 review
“Wonderful family holiday”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had a wonderful time at Gaer Hall for Christmas. We were 8 adults and 5 children (all under 5) and we fitted perfectly. The two dining areas made catering a breeze and the huge living room/library upstairs was the perfect place for 5 toddlers to run wild and yet allow the adults a quiet space to sit and read. Very cozy and warm with great walking just out the front door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the 2 dining areas and huge living room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bushynose...
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Huge and Perfect”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic place for our family/friends get-together. Everyone had loads of space. Big kitchen where we could all chat over breakfast, massive dining room for dinner and games, and that fantastic, huge living room upstairs. Comfy bedrooms and lots to see nearby. A really nice place for a short break.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliecros...
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This is the 3rd time my friends and I have stayed at Gaer Hall. We will definitely be booking again soon. It's a beautiful lived in home which is full of character. Margaret is great, we know we can move beds around to suit and nothing is too much trouble. The welcome gift is always a nice touch too. If you want a relaxing retreat with lovely scenery then book Gaer Hall! We can't wait to come back.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andygreen...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place in a great location”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is the second time I have stayed in the hall and it was fantastic on both occasions. We were a stag party and the venue was ideal. House accomodated 10 of us comfortably and had plenty of beds spare. Room quality overal is great and huge communal areas which are perfect for a group. There's a small village in walking distance with two good pubs, both serving reasonable food, together with good cycling and running nearby and Shrewsbury is close enough for shopping or a night out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Standard of the house
Liked least: Could do with an extra bathroom, it has two showers
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2014
Thanks Andy, I'm so pleased you had another a great time on your second stay with us at Gaer Hall for the Stag Weekend. Hopefully we'll see you and your friends again soon. And for future reference .... we love having families with children to stay. We have at least 2 cots!!! Kind regards, Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$368
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing