We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderfully relaxing place, ideal for families”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Honeysuckle cottage - plenty of room for 3 generations
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Honeysuckle cottage - plenty of room for 3 generations
The play area - fun for the little ones
Fun in the pool - now fully heated
Honeysuckle kitchen - perfect for family dining
Honeysuckle lounge - read a book or watch t.v.
Honeysuckle King room - light and spacious
Honey the Dog
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Benassay, Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Battersea...
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderfully relaxing place, ideal for families”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We returned to Lac de Maison in late August for the second year running and had another fantastic week. Anna and Simon have got just the right blend of child friendly but great for adults too.

Our boys are 3 and 5 and they love it here. There are acres of enclosed space for them run wild, without us having to worry about what they’re up to, and lots for them to do – pool, outdoor and indoor play areas, trampolines, cycling, playing with Honey, the horses, etc

For the adults, there is a wonderful tranquility. Three gites share a huge plot in the middle of the countryside surrounded by fields of wheat and sunflowers, which gives it an incredibly calm, relaxing atmosphere, with almost nothing to be heard all day apart from the children playing in the garden. Day trips include local bike rides, a day trip to La Rochelle, and to ‘Green Venice’, but for us the best bit is just chilling out at Lac de Maison and enjoying the local food and wine.

The gites are very well equipped and comfortable, with wifi, digital TV (cbeebies!) and lots of good DVDs, and the cooking is excellent – this year we had an arrival meal, the barbecue night, an outstanding three course meal mid-week, and a leaving meal. All fantastic.

Anna and Simon are great hosts who have obviously put their heart and soul into this place – we really hope we can return!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven P
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing short of perfect!!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was our first holiday abroad since my Daughter was born. She is nearly 2 now and we came to Lac de Maison with our friends and their 18 month old Daughter. I have to say that it exceeded our expectations massively. It began on arrival when Simon and Anna greeted us. They were both so friendly and helpful, we were made to feel at home immediately. The grounds are vast and there is so much there to keep the children entertained onsite, both outdoors and indoors if the weather isn't great (which it was for the majority of the holiday). Given it's idyllic location, you always felt that the children were safe. Throughout the week, there were activities for the children to take part in, whether it be a horse ride or egg collecting. My Daughter absolutely loved that and is still talking about it now we are home. Simon and Anna always have suggestions for things to do and places to visit. We went out on a bike ride to the local golf club for lunch which was great, visited the nearby town of La Rochelle amongst several other things through the week. But if you just want to stay onsite and relax for the week, then this place is ideal too!

One thing I would recommend if you stay here is to let Simon and Anna cook for you. Their food is absolutely fantastic and value for money. Thanks to my Wife, I was treated to a special 3 course 'restaurant standard' meal for my birthday on our last night. Again, well worth the money if you want to try it!

So, there are a lot of superlatives there. But not enough to justify how good this place is. If you want a holiday where the parents can truly relax, despite the presence of young children, then this is the place to come. Loads to do, fantastic food, beautiful grounds and (almost forgot to mention) Honeysuckle Cottage was brilliant. Ideal accommodation for us all!

So thank you Simon & Anna! We will be back so look forward to doing this again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldWand...
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely, relaxing holiday for a young family!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in Honeysuckle for a fortnight in June and had a fabulous time. The gite is very comfortable and has everything you could wish for for a family. Toys, games, baby equipment and a well stocked kitchen are all provided and Anna and Simon were happy to get the odd additional thing we needed. The gites are set in a beautiful courtyard, surrounded by a huge garden equipped with outdoor toys for all ages. Our children are 4 and 18 months and loved the trampolines, sandpit and, for those days when the sun didn't shine, the play barn.
As most people have commented, the animals really do bring an extra special element to Lac de Maison. Both our girls adored Honey the dog and loved being able to take her for a walk. They enjoyed riding the ponies, collecting the eggs from the chickens and having Tornado the horse join us over the fence at the weekly barbecue!
Anna and Simon are the perfect hosts and always went out of their way to help make our stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible. Their cooking was fabulous and it was such a treat to have dinner brought to our door, rather than having to cook ourselves every night. Anna was particularly good at catering for our gluten-free and vegetarian needs and whipped up some delicious meals!
We went looking for a relaxing, stress-free holiday where our children could play with other children in a safe, picturesque environment and that’s exactly what we got. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nursey_gi...
Bristol, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Could not have asked for more. See you again next year!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Myself, my husband and two children (1 year and 3 years) stayed in Rose Cottage for 11 nights in June. We travelled with friends who stayed in the other two cottages, and I have to say it was our best family holiday to date.

Anna and Simon have thought of absolutely every home comfort you may need when travelling with young children. Real cots, highchairs, booster seats, buggies, blackout blinds for the windows, bath toys, wetsuits for the pool, outside toys, children's crockery and cutlery..... everything!! We literally packed a case of clothes each and that was all we needed.

The accommodation itself is beautiful and in a peaceful location, as well as being spotlessly clean. The selection of available bikes is extensive and there are suggested nearby towns to cycle to on quiet, safe roads. The pool was a huge hit, as was the playbarn to escape the midday sun.
The children enjoyed egg collecting and pony rides - Tamara was very patient with them!

We took advantage of the family meals Anna and Simon offered on the evening we arrived and again the night before we left. We also had the BBQ they cook for you. All VERY good food and a welcome break from doing it yourself. Us Mum's in the group had a treatment each from the visitng beauty therapist and I'd also recommend this.

The pastries/bread from the boulangerie in Vasle were the best we found. Parthenay was also a lovely town to spend a couple of hours and have lunch al fresco. We went to La Rochelle for the day, and spent about 2 hours in the aquarium. Next time we'll go for a much longer day, spend a decent amount of time in the aquarium and longer mooching around. We also went to the Monkey Sanctuary for the day which we all enjoyed. Apart from that we just stayed at Lac De Maison, enjoying all it has to offer to keep the children amused and catching a sneaky few moments in the hammocks when able.

So perfect was our holiday, that we are booked to return next year and simply cannot wait! Thank-you Anna and Simon (and Honey!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hassle-free with fantastic facilites
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DillyLond...
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic hosts, relaxing stay, perfect for children”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Anna and Simon could not have been more welcoming or helpful right from our very first email enquiry. Our gite was equipped with everything you could need for our little ones (11 months and nearly 3), and it was the first holiday where we genuinely wanted to stay put day after day. There's so much space and so many things to do, pool, endless grass to run about on, play barn, sand pit, swings, trampolines, we even had a go at cycling ( they have all the kit you need) and pony riding. I would recommend to anyone who wants a great, safe, quiet space to relax in and enjoy special family time altogether . Added bonus was the brilliant cooking, can heartily recommend the 3 course dinner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: So much beautiful space
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$201
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing