We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Miss”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tramore Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Taken from the utility door at rear of house
Sitting room
Dining area
Open Plan Kitchen/Diner
Separate Utility
Family Bathroom
Hallway
Hallway to bedrooms
Master Bedroom with Ensuite
Master Bedroom with Ensuite
Master Bedroom with Ensuite
Master Bedroom with Ensuite
Master Bedroom Ensuite
Second Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Childs bedroom
Childs bedroom
Children bedroom with  toys
Childs bedroom
Childs Bedroom
Childs Bedroom
Tramore Beach when the tides , can walk from house
Tramore Beach when the tides out, can walk from house.
Downings Beach
Downings Beach
Downings Pier
Harry Blaney Bridge
Doh Castle
Tramore Beach Boardwalk at Cuan na Ri
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Carrigart, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
esloss
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a great 5 days at Tramore cottage! The accommodation was in exceptional condition; clean, modern and comfortable. We also appreciated the information booklet provided that helped us make the most of our stay. It's also in a good location, 5-10 minutes drive from beautiful spots including Ards Park and Marble Hill beach. All in all we loved it and would definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
justback1...
antrim
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday!”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Wonderful week spent in Tramore Cottage. The photos don't do justice to how spacious and lovely the house is inside, and it is spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The owner is very considerate sending you loads of information about the area and checking in with you to make sure everything's going well. House is set just in front of Glen Hill and the Lough - wonderful views from the kitchen and back garden and we even saw a couple of deer which was a rare treat.
We spent a lot of time on Tramore Beach, mainly on our own which was heavenly having a beach pretty much to ourselves. It's very clean and very close to the house.
I would definitely recommend a trip up round the Rosguill Peninsula and to Glenveigh National Park for the breathtaking beauty of the area. I think this is truly the most beautiful place I've been to in Donegal as it's still so wild and untouched in areas. Wherever you go, you can see Mount Errigal standing over the top of the mountains.
We also headed out through Glen (don't forget to have a Guinness with Angus in the Olde Glen Bar) on the Lough Salt Drive - amazing views and really helps to get your bearings on the whole area. Doh Castle is also well worth a visit.
Downings was lovely, fantastic value for food on a Thursday night in the Downings Bay Hotel and Dunfanaghy was a lovely town full of quirky art galleries and gift shops. Sadly we'd just missed the latest festival, but I should imagine there's always something on there.
We ate out at The Travellers Inn in Milford which was fantastic - another lovely traditional bar with great food. Logues coming out of Carrigart was also lovely for a quick pint on the way home from a day out.
All in all I would not hesitate to go back to the area and definitely to Tramore Cottage.
Many thanks to Margaret Lucey for sharing her lovely house with us.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M P
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean and pleasant, and good location”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Finding Tramore Cottage would be a little easier if there were a sign to indicate you'd actually arrived at the right place, but at least it is on the main road between Carrigart and Creeslough so is well located. The house itself was perfectly clean and tidy, with good (if basic) facilities - the kids would have liked a DVD player and the wifi was understandably erratic. As was the oven, but once the owner advised via text to turn it off then old again (that old trick) every time you wanted to use it then it worked fine. Good to have ensuite in the main bedroom so the kids could have a bathroom to themselves and the place as a whole was spacious and modern-looking. Not much to look at from outside, and there are places with much better views nearby, but for the money a very good choice. And it does have beautiful hares that visited the garden in the mornings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in Co. Donegal
Liked least: Lack of soul/homeliness
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda T
Selby, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fabulous holiday in a beautiful area of Ireland”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A really enjoyable 2 weeks in a lovely property with everything we needed. Very clean and well cared for with all modern amenities. The area was perfect for anyone wanting a chilled, relaxing holiday with fabulous walks, sandy beaches (with nobody on them but us!), and great food. A beautiful area for exploring by car or on foot. The only negative was the appalling weather but hey-ho, that's Ireland!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: The weather - but that's out of your (or anybody else's) control!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura K
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Fantastic !”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Tramore Cottage was such a lovely, pleasant place to stay for the week. It was not too far from Carrigart centre or the beach , which was lovely to walk along at night considering we got the weather for it . The place was top spec condition and very welcoming. The facilities within the house were fantastic !!! Would recommend Tramore Cottage to anyone looking for a break to Ireland . Loved it that much we are looking to go next year again .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How welcoming the house was , I really did feel like I was at home.
Liked least: The fact we were only there for one week , just wasnt enough
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2015
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Tramore Cottage next Year.
Regards
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing