We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property
Acorn Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Acorn Cottage
Acorn Cottage Outside dining near the ancient oaks and plenty of parking
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Acorn Cottage
Acorn Cottage
Outside dining near the ancient oaks and plenty of parking
Downstairs twin bedroom
Twin beds can be fixed together to make a super king size bed if desired.
Twin bedroom with beds made up to a superking size bed.
Lower lobby leading to twin bedroom
Kitchen in open plan living / dining area
Kitchen & open plan living /dining area.
Living / dining area with views out to the gardens and landscape beyond
Living / dining area
spacious living area.
Master bedroom with king size bed.
Dressing area of master bedroom. Spacious, light room at the front of the property.
Master bedroom with views to the front of the property.
Spacious main bathroom with white suite, shower over bath.
Bathroom.
Gardens
Bird feeders as viewed from upper living room windows.
Red squirrels are regular visitors to the feeders.
red squirrels can be seen from the upstairs windows and twin bedroom.
View out of upstairs windows onto landscaped gardens and bird feeders
Arisaig on a warm summers day
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Banavie, Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
983yusuke...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Despite the rainy weather, we really enjoyed staying there with my wife and a 20 months baby. Interior is very pretty and everything is tidy like bland new. Kate is always really kind and friendly so does her husband Malcolm. Although price may look a bit higher than the others around, it's definitely worth it and actually it is a ideal cottage where once I'd love too have someday, very pretty surrounded by beautiful woods with a nice view of the Ben Nevis.
There are so many things to see and go around within 1-3 hours distance and we loved everything such as Glen Coe, Jacobite Steam Train, Oban, Isle of Skye, lakes, castles etc... Really hope to visit with nice weather. Oh, and don't forget Kate's beautiful lemon cake which can be one of your purposes to stay there:-)

妻と1歳半の娘と三人で1週間の滞在しました。娘が小さいので、ホテルよりも広くてご飯も自由が利くコテージをと考えて宿泊しましたが、思った通り、素晴らしい夏休みになりました。
コテージそのものは写真で見るよりもさらに広くて清潔でセンスがよくとても居心地がよかったです。
オーナーのケイト夫妻も非常にフレンドリーで親切な人たちです。普段は基本的には距離を置いてくれている感じですが、トラブルがあった際には親身になって相談に乗ってくれました。少し値段は高く見えるかもしれませんが、間違いなく値段以上の価値があると思います。
周囲にも訪れる場所がたくさんあり、トレッキングしたり蒸気機関車に乗ったらドライブしたり、天気があまりよくない中でも毎日楽しめました。グレンコー、オーバン、グレンフィナン渓谷、西ハイランドレイルウェイ、スカイ島など、1-3時間程度の距離に見所が数多くあります。
私たちはイギリス在住なので自家用車でしたが、レンタカーなどの足は必須になってしまいます。その辺りが問題ないのであれば、是非とも一度ステイしてみたらと思います。ハイランドでのんびりしたバカンスを楽しめること間違いなしです。
ケイトの作るレモンケーキは絶品なので、そちらもおたのしみに(無理を言ってお土産用にも作ってもらいました)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thank you both for taking the time to review Acorn Cottage. We are delighted you liked it and enjoyed your stay. I have very high standards so like the accommodation to be pristine for every guest.
We are pleased you managed to see so much in spite of a few wet days and hope that you can leave climbing Ben Nevis and other sights in the area for your next visit.
We look forward to meeting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top quality accommodation, perfect for exploring the Great Glen”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A very nice holiday accommodation, pleasingly decorated and feeling very much a home from home. Facilities are exactly what one would expect from high quality self-catering - a well-fitted kitchen; bath and shower; lots of storage space in the bedrooms; wi-fi, television and dvd. Parking is ample and the garden is a pleasant bonus. Acorn Cottage is tucked away on a quiet lane a few miles out of Fort William and is well situated for a family wishing to explore the Great Glen and Inner Hebrides.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. We hope the cottage provides guests with a welcome retreat and all the amenities to live comfortably during their stay. Being four miles from Fort William, we are close enough to enjoy the proximity of the town, but far enough away to feel the tranquility of rural life.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and managed to see some of the places on your list, and would hope to welcome you again if you venture this way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding holiday cottage in great location”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is perfect for a holiday in the Scotland highlands and very good value for money. Great accommodation, Kate was very welcoming (including a home baked cake as an arrival gift!), you're only a few minutes drive from the main road and Fort William but it felt secluded and peaceful. You can walk to the caledonian canal in a few minutes and it's about a 2 mile walk to Neptune's Staircase. From there you can walk into Fort William (about a further 3 miles) or catch a train from Banavie station.

We were very lucky to get a tour of the new 1 bedroom cottage (Little Oaks) while we were staying in Acorn Cottage - it's brand new and has been furnished to a really high standard (as has Acorn Cottage). It would be perfect if there's just two of you.

We would definitely return to either Acorn Cottage or Little Oaks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Thank you all for taking the time to share your thoughts on Acorn Cottage, Lottle Oaks & the surrounding area. We are delighted the accommodation met with your expectations and were only to happy to show you round our new property.
We have the benefit of being close enough to Fort William for necessities, but far enough away to feel the joys of rural life. It is a lovely place to both live & visit.
We look forward to meeting you again if you venture this way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
A big thank you for your kind review. We are pleased your long journey here was rewarded with a relaxing enjoyable week touring the area. We hope it bought back some happy memories from years past & created some new ones.
We would look forward to welcoming you back to Acorn Cottage or Little Oaks again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Diane-TA
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed for a week in this lovely cottage. We booked the cottage because it had 2 double bedrooms with bathrooms. The accommodation was clean and spacious. The double bed and pillows were comfortable. Watching the birdlife on the many feeders from the open plan lounge/kitchen/dining area, was a delight. The location of the cottage was excellent for exploring the region. Our favourite was a day trip to Skye.
The only negative about the cottage was the upstairs shower lacked water pressure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Acorn Cottage. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The bird feeders are always well frequented and keep us all entertained.
We will check the water pressure, as we were not aware it had dropped. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing