We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Nearby Hotels
Club Peace & Plenty(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$624
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas(Long Island)
US$447
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Island Time Villas(George Town)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Lumina Point Resort & Spa(Stocking Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Exuma Palms Hotel(Great Exuma)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Francis Resort(Stocking Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveller rating
300
187
53
26
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
187
53
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjolly hall beachsplash barfree shuttlefish frystocking islandfull kitchenwater taxibedroom cottagegreat exumashuttle servicerented a carpaddle boardsclose to townocean sidehotel restaurantexuma marketchat n chill
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Hideaways at Palm Bay to celebrate our 11th Anniversary. Unfortunately, the accommodations were not quite what we expected.
We arrived and we greeted courteously. However, when we were taken to our villa, we were disappointed. We were taken across the street, up a hill facing other residences. The "road" to our studio was strewn with discarded furniture, logs and other items. We had to go back across the street for everything. The room was clean, but dated. It just was not what we expected. When we asked about moving, we were informed that it would be $40 per day plus VAT. It would cost the same to cancel. Hubby and I decided to suck it up and try to enjoy our stay.
Our stay was fine. Not great, not bad. Internet was available at reception, at the pool and at Splash (the restaurant). But it was spotty.
Would we return to Hideaways? No because we are used to better accommodations. (They were remodeling the neighboring studios and ours was set be remodeled upon our checkout). You even have to pay extra to have your room cleaned and towels exchanged.
However, most of the staff was quite pleasant and that helped. As did the lack of crowds and the small but pleasant beach. The water was actually warm.
I am not bashing the place, however, if you are used to 4-5 star accommodations, be warned. On the other hand, if you are looking for somewhere without luxury but convenient, then Hideaways may be a good option.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JulyWed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev B, Guest Services at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Hello JulyWed,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts on your recent Exuma vacation with us on Tripadvisor.

When you book through a Vacation Club, all reservations are contracted with our Hillside of the property, Island Time Villas. Island Time Villas rates are designed to make vacation lodging accessible on almost any budget while still receiving all access to Hideaways Exuma's resort amenities. Upgrades to Hideaways are available at request and we offer all vacation club guests a discounted rate to all available amenities on the beachside.
We are sorry if this was not made clear by the company you had booked through.

We would like to apologize for any inconvenience our room upgrades had caused you during your time here. The specific room you stayed in has started it's upgrade and this should be completed by Friday August 4th, 2017. The furniture we had been storing by our dumpster has since been cleaned as we were awaiting our dumpster to be emptied.

I sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again here to Hideaways. Should you wish to make another reservation in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly for Hideaways, Beachside rates.

Warm Wishes,
The Hideaways Exuma Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

I am very mitigated here.

We arrived the rooms was not ready and we had waited more than one hour being told it would take 10 minute. The same to get the car... ok we are relax in exuma but it was too much here.

Some people working there was not friendly at all having the feeling we were bothering them especially at the restaurant.

Our rooms was "accross the street" meaning we could not enjoy the breakfast buffet and pay a lot for a poor bacon and egg. The food at the restaurant expensive and so so... the expresso cafe is just awefull.

The appartement is very big with pleinty of space but well one is at the beach most of the time..

The snorkling kit was in very bad shape so we could not use it. Upset!!

Fortunately the island is paradise with awesome people everywhere!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank liyoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev B, Guest Services at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Liyoug,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent Exuma vacation with us.

When you book through a Vacation Club, all reservations are contracted with our Hillside of the property, Island Time Villas. Island Time Villas rates are designed to make vacation lodging accessible on almost any budget while still receiving all access to Hideaways Exuma's resort amenities. Each vacation club that works with Island Time Villas, has opted out of our breakfast plan available to Hideaways guests to ensure they are able to offer you the best rate possible.
Upgrades to Hideaways are available at request and we offer all vacation club guests a discounted rate to all available amenities on the beachside.
We are sorry if this was not made clear by the company you had booked through.

We are sorry you experienced less than exceptional service during your stay. We hope that in the future you may visit us again and give us the opportunity to show you that this was not typical of the helpful, friendly, hospitable Hideaways Staff.

All the best,
Staff & Management of Hideaways Exuma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

The hotel is comfortable, clean, amazing and helpful staff from Hotel. I had an accident with "the pet Sharks" of Compass Cay Marina, when I returned to hotel, the front desk without I ask anything, promptly provided a free shuttle to the hospital for medical attention. Worth the trip DEFINITELY!!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rsalvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev B, Guest Services at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Rsalvad,

Thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel with very valuable feedback on your stay with us. We truly appreciate you pointing out the staff friendliness and helpfulness during your stay.

We are very proud of the great job our team does for our guests and even happier to hear directly from you, our guests, when they do.. We hope to be able to welcome you back again for future stays.

Warm Wishes,
The Hideaways Exuma Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Small little place to feel comfortable in this laid back area - tv, wifi, restaurant ok, very nice villas - small pool, nice small beach with lots of shallow waters good for the free kayaking and stand up paddeling - not too many tourists

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank dennys34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev B, Guest Services at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Hello Dennys34,

Thank you for being our guest. Your comments are very valuable and we want to express our gratitude to you for taking a moment to share your experience on our property.
We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your trip and benefited from our accommodations and services.

We hope to welcome you back to Hideaways again soon, should you wish to make another reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Warm Wishes,
The Hideaways Exuma Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

My Family visited this resort in July, not sure what to expect but the resort was very nice! The rooms were clean and they put us right on the water, the view was fantastic! A few tips, there are plenty of guided tours and they can get a little pricey but in the end,so far it's been worth it. There is a little restaurant/bar that is pretty good also, we still have 2 more excursions to do and I will leave a review for those later.
The cottage was clean,nicely decorated and the staff were very helpful. The pool is nice and they have complimentary kayaks and paddle boards, it's a perfect place to unwind and enjoy the beautiful Bahama weather. Very excellent place!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Gbluzy335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev B, Guest Services at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Hello Gbluzy335,

Thank you for reviewing us. We appreciate the time it took to review our hotel and are over joyed to hear you are enjoying your stay as well as other attractions of the island. We are one of the few resorts on the island that offer complimentary water sports and are glad you got a chance to get out on the water to utilize them! Getting out on the water is definitely a must while staying on Exuma!

Enjoy the rest of your stay on Exuma, we hope to welcome you back to Hideaways again soon!

Best Regards,
The Hideaways Exuma Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews