We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really quiet & pleasant stay there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed 11 August 2017

The hotel is exactly what we needed in order to rest for a few days.
The bar is very casual, very quiet.
Everyone is laidback and happy to serve & help, we feel at home here!
The hotel is right by a beautifil beach with no one !

I definitely recommand.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thibaut c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev B, Guest Services at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hello Thibaut C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your vacation at Hideaways. We are thrilled to know you had a spectacular trip and we truly appreciate you pointing out the staff friendliness and helpfulness during your stay.
Hopefully you left relaxed and rejuvenated after your time here.

We would be delighted to welcome you again. Should you wish to make another reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us for rates and availability.

Warm Wishes,
The Hideaways Exuma Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Hideaways at Palm Bay to celebrate our 11th Anniversary. Unfortunately, the accommodations were not quite what we expected.
We arrived and we greeted courteously. However, when we were taken to our villa, we were disappointed. We were taken across the street, up a hill facing other residences. The "road" to our studio was strewn with discarded furniture, logs and other items. We had to go back across the street for everything. The room was clean, but dated. It just was not what we expected. When we asked about moving, we were informed that it would be $40 per day plus VAT. It would cost the same to cancel. Hubby and I decided to suck it up and try to enjoy our stay.
Our stay was fine. Not great, not bad. Internet was available at reception, at the pool and at Splash (the restaurant). But it was spotty.
Would we return to Hideaways? No because we are used to better accommodations. (They were remodeling the neighboring studios and ours was set be remodeled upon our checkout). You even have to pay extra to have your room cleaned and towels exchanged.
However, most of the staff was quite pleasant and that helped. As did the lack of crowds and the small but pleasant beach. The water was actually warm.
I am not bashing the place, however, if you are used to 4-5 star accommodations, be warned. On the other hand, if you are looking for somewhere without luxury but convenient, then Hideaways may be a good option.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JulyWed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev B, Guest Services at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Hello JulyWed,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts on your recent Exuma vacation with us on Tripadvisor.

When you book through a Vacation Club, all reservations are contracted with our Hillside of the property, Island Time Villas. Island Time Villas rates are designed to make vacation lodging accessible on almost any budget while still receiving all access to Hideaways Exuma's resort amenities. Upgrades to Hideaways are available at request and we offer all vacation club guests a discounted rate to all available amenities on the beachside.
We are sorry if this was not made clear by the company you had booked through.

We would like to apologize for any inconvenience our room upgrades had caused you during your time here. The specific room you stayed in has started it's upgrade and this should be completed by Friday August 4th, 2017. The furniture we had been storing by our dumpster has since been cleaned as we were awaiting our dumpster to be emptied.

I sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again here to Hideaways. Should you wish to make another reservation in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly for Hideaways, Beachside rates.

Warm Wishes,
The Hideaways Exuma Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

I am very mitigated here.

We arrived the rooms was not ready and we had waited more than one hour being told it would take 10 minute. The same to get the car... ok we are relax in exuma but it was too much here.

Some people working there was not friendly at all having the feeling we were bothering them especially at the restaurant.

Our rooms was "accross the street" meaning we could not enjoy the breakfast buffet and pay a lot for a poor bacon and egg. The food at the restaurant expensive and so so... the expresso cafe is just awefull.

The appartement is very big with pleinty of space but well one is at the beach most of the time..

The snorkling kit was in very bad shape so we could not use it. Upset!!

Fortunately the island is paradise with awesome people everywhere!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank liyoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev B, Guest Services at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Liyoug,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent Exuma vacation with us.

When you book through a Vacation Club, all reservations are contracted with our Hillside of the property, Island Time Villas. Island Time Villas rates are designed to make vacation lodging accessible on almost any budget while still receiving all access to Hideaways Exuma's resort amenities. Each vacation club that works with Island Time Villas, has opted out of our breakfast plan available to Hideaways guests to ensure they are able to offer you the best rate possible.
Upgrades to Hideaways are available at request and we offer all vacation club guests a discounted rate to all available amenities on the beachside.
We are sorry if this was not made clear by the company you had booked through.

We are sorry you experienced less than exceptional service during your stay. We hope that in the future you may visit us again and give us the opportunity to show you that this was not typical of the helpful, friendly, hospitable Hideaways Staff.

All the best,
Staff & Management of Hideaways Exuma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

The hotel is comfortable, clean, amazing and helpful staff from Hotel. I had an accident with "the pet Sharks" of Compass Cay Marina, when I returned to hotel, the front desk without I ask anything, promptly provided a free shuttle to the hospital for medical attention. Worth the trip DEFINITELY!!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rsalvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev B, Guest Services at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Rsalvad,

Thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel with very valuable feedback on your stay with us. We truly appreciate you pointing out the staff friendliness and helpfulness during your stay.

We are very proud of the great job our team does for our guests and even happier to hear directly from you, our guests, when they do.. We hope to be able to welcome you back again for future stays.

Warm Wishes,
The Hideaways Exuma Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Small little place to feel comfortable in this laid back area - tv, wifi, restaurant ok, very nice villas - small pool, nice small beach with lots of shallow waters good for the free kayaking and stand up paddeling - not too many tourists

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank dennys34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev B, Guest Services at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Hello Dennys34,

Thank you for being our guest. Your comments are very valuable and we want to express our gratitude to you for taking a moment to share your experience on our property.
We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your trip and benefited from our accommodations and services.

We hope to welcome you back to Hideaways again soon, should you wish to make another reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Warm Wishes,
The Hideaways Exuma Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
2.2 km away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
3.2 km away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
175 reviews
17.8 km away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 km away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
0.2 km away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
307 reviews
0.2 km away
Exuma Beach Resort
Exuma Beach Resort
#4 of 13 in Great Exuma
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaways at Palm Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaways at Palm Bay

Address: Jolly Hall Bay at Queens Highway, George Town 00000, Great Exuma
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in George Town
Price Range: R3 293 - R5 056 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hideaways at Palm Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are planning a trip to the Exumas, look no further than Hideaways at Palm Bay. Our beachfront resort offers you a variety of accommodations, ranging from studio, one & two bedroom cottages to one, two and three bedroom villas. We have it all for you here at Hideaways. Our casual, friendly, and peaceful resort offers you the opportunity to play in the sand on our private beach, or lounge by the pool with a drink in your hand from Splash!, the on site bar and grill. Hideaways was made for you, and our amenities and facilities were designed with you in mind. Offering in suite massage for pampering, complimentary water toys for entertainment, and gorgeous views for enjoying the sunset on our private patio, you will find Hideaways is filled ample opportunity for couples, families, and friends, all to have a great time away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hideaways at Palm Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaways At Palm Bay Hotel Great Exuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing