We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Augusta Bay Bahamas(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$218
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Club Peace & Plenty(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Time Villas(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Yacht Club(George Town)
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Cottage Cut Villas(George Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
EMBRACE Resort(George Town)
No availability for your dates from our partners
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveller rating
307
188
53
28
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
188
53
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjolly hall beachsplash barfree shuttlefish frystocking islandfull kitchenwater taxibedroom cottagegreat exumashuttle serviceocean sidepaddle boardsclose to towncar rentalhotel restaurantchat n chillvisiting exuma
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 589 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Please note that my 'average' rating is based purely on service.

We were forced to stay in the Exumas for a night as we could not take off in our plane due to high winds. We loved the look of this place and there was a two bed villa available on booking.com. However we phoned and the receptionist said they had no availability. We were literally stranded. The airfield marshall then phoned her back and 'had a word' and miraculously the villa became available.

When we checked in, the young receptionist was disinterested and charged us more than was agreed on the phone. We had had such a bad day and she made it 10x worse. We stood at reception for at least 15 minutes in silence before getting shown to the villa. It was an absolute disgrace.

Then at breakfast the next day we were berated by the waitress for not having a breakfast voucher - the receptionist had given us no information about this whatsoever so we looked like complete idiots.

It was such a shame as the villa was really nice and the facilities at the resort looked great. If you are in a family of four the villa was really well equipped and parents can have their own room whilst being under the same building as the kids. We did have an issue with hot water in the morning but I could not face complaining! The service and food in the onsite bar were brilliant.

We might consider staying here again if the receptionist is sacked - she is doing nothing for business and is quite likely losing the owner money. Even the most placid of our group lost the plot with anger which is saying something!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Kas25Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Prior to arrival, we were told a taxi driver would be waiting for us at the airport holding a sign with our name- didn't happen. However, a few minutes later I was able to grab another taxi at the same price. Although, the price booked with Travelocity states "All prices include taxes & fees," you will have to pay the additional $328.98 for hotel fees & taxes, plus a $300.00 security deposit. On the 3rd day, at the 7:30 AM breakfast they ran out of milk & said they would have to send someone to the store. We just ate the cereal dry that morning. Two of the entrees that I ordered at the Splash restaurant were not completely cooked.....pizza wasn't cooked thoroughly and chicken sandwich tasted rubbery. Dinner at the Latitudes restaurant next door was much better! I also recommend Shirley's Fish Fry and try the fried lobster at Santana's! On the evening before our excursion I tried to get fresh beach towels but was told they were still in the dryer and I could pick them the next morning before I left on the excursion. The driver picked us up at 7:45 AM, but the office didn't open until 8:00 AM, so had to go on the day long excursion without beach towels. We first went on the 1/2 day Exuma Water Sports tour with Justin and it was awesome! Since we wanted to go to the grotto also, I booked another tour with Four C's - it was awesome too! There were a few glitches with no ice at first & the restrooms in the their office were temp. out of order, but all went well and we had a great Bahamian lunch at Lorraine's Cafe. We were supposed to also see the calming cave and starfish alley, but that didn't happen because of time. Our tour lasted approx. 8-1/2 hrs, but didn't get to see everything as advertised. Exuma Hideaways has the best beachfront and we had a wonderful time. I also recommend that you catch Elvis' water taxi & go over to Chat & Chill for the Sunday Pig Roast and also feed the stingrays. They are amazing and the food was good too! We absolutely loved our villa and the proximity to the beach. We will be back to Georgetown soon!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank sandbucketlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We were staying at Hideaways and had a couple of requests for the staff. Each one was a flat out "no." If we had booked our room at a steep discount, maybe we would have been a little more zen about their inability to problem-solve but we actually paid an amount for our room that was far greater than the posted rate in the room. Super disappointing! We ended up checking out and moving next door.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank misopiso88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev B, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Each review, whether good or not so good is very important to us. The reviews are tools to let us know what we are doing right and where we need to improve.

We would have liked the opportunity to assist you with the requests that were made. We wish that you had asked for assistance from upper management, where we would have maybe been able to find a solution if what you were requesting was beyond our standard policies.

We would love to hear from you directly to get a clearer picture of the requests you made that we weren't able help you with. Improving our services are always on the forefront!

We apologize that you found our staff unfriendly and unhelpful, that is certainly NOT the Hideaways way!

Respectfully yours,

Staff & Management
Hideaways Exuma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Ocean view is the key to the happiness there :) Excellent front desk services.... everyone at this resort were nice, friendly and pretty much getting out of their way to help and satisfy everyone; Anisa at the front desk was beyond amazing! Shuttle drivers would stop when seeing you walking to make sure you don't need a ride to or from town.
Food was great :) Anita <-- the manager was making sure everyone got their food on time and in order :)
Pool always clean, however, we were swimming in the ocean :)

Room Tip: always upgrade to an ocean view... you will never regret it :)
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank hannah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

We arrived here and the first thing was she said we had to pay the taxi, but we had a voucher of transportation. so then she wanted to see it and you could read in her face that she was pissed of. she was one of the most unmotivationed person i've ever seen in my life. the positiv thing was we could get into the room earlier than the official check-in. she just gave us the vouchers for the breakfast: no information about tours, where the breakfast is, that you could have dinner here... NOTHING! i asked then how it works with the transportation again to the airport. same again, yes we have a voucher. i asked her when we have to stay at the airport. first she said tree hours before. really, just to go to another island in the bahamas? she like: oh then two hours before, i said to the taxi to pick you up at 6.30 am (our flight was at 10.00 am!!). fortunately there was another woman and she said no, one hour is enough so they organise a taxi for 8.30 am. the day before we left i asked if it's ok with the taxi. it was the same woman and she was like hearing it the first time. again if we had a voucher. YES WE DO! i asked if she want to see the voucher. no, she has a copy she said..! at the pick up day there was a man at the front desk. the taxi came at 8.40 am and she said that the man said we have to pay for it. DO YOu HAVE A VOUCHER? i was already hating that question! then she went back talking to him and said us that he said again we have to pay. but she was kind and said after seeing our voucher she said that she will talk to the hotel later.

at the airport we got informed that our flight is at 11.45 am and that the called the hotel to inform us. how can such a small hotel be that desorganised???

- bar: the food was not that but, but you have to bring time, you have to wait very very long and our appetizer arrived while we were eating our main menu.
- rooms: the room was clean and had a good size, bed was cosy
- we asked about a supermarket. she said in town. i asked if it's far. she said yes. i asked how far. she said 20 minutes walking. i asked if it's open now. she said yes. i asked until when (it was saturday 06.15 pm). it was so boring talking to her because you had to fight for any information. by the way: one way was 45 minutes walking at the dangerous route
- other hotel staff: half of them said hello and the rest was ignoring us
- breakfast: there's not that much but you can eat it. at the departure day we went there at 07.30 am but they opened at 07.40 am. so maybe everyday it's different...
- wifi didn't work in our room during the day (everyday)

better stay at another hotel because that was so enoying and costs you a lot of energy!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank patriciacR5402MU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev B, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Hello Patricia,

We apologize for any misunderstanding. This is not an excuse, but the voucher was not provided by the tour operator to Hideaways which caused the confusion with the Front Desk Staff.

We are sorry that your experience was frustrating. Your comments have been reviewed by our Front Desk Manager and each have been discussed with the staff member that you dealt with. Yes, you were and still are very important to us and we are disappointed that your experience with us wasn't as it should have been.

We hope that in the future you may visit us again and give us the opportunity to show you that this was not typical of the helpful, friendly, hospitable Hideaways Staff.

All the best,

Staff & Management of Hideaways Exuma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews