We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first trip that was not all inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Most of the people at the reception desk were very nice but there was one girl who seemed disinterested at best. We had a 1 bedroom villa with partial ocean view which was very nice and not too far off of the beach. The restaurant on site had good food but the service left much to be desired. The whole time we were there (9 days) we had 1 waitress that was actually friendly. The get an automatic 15% gratuity so they don't seem to care if you need anything after you get your food or not. Being a former waitress I found the service sketchy at best. Most of the time we had to find our waitress and ask for our check so we could leave. There was plenty of beach to walk on and the water is the most beautiful color I've seen. Pool was nice and kept very clean but they need to put a strip of color on the end of the steps, they blend in with the water and I saw several people almost fall off of the last step because you can't tell it's there.

Room Tip: We had a 1 bdrm. villa with partial ocean view not far from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Please note that my 'average' rating is based purely on service.

We were forced to stay in the Exumas for a night as we could not take off in our plane due to high winds. We loved the look of this place and there was a two bed villa available on booking.com. However we phoned and the receptionist said they had no availability. We were literally stranded. The airfield marshall then phoned her back and 'had a word' and miraculously the villa became available.

When we checked in, the young receptionist was disinterested and charged us more than was agreed on the phone. We had had such a bad day and she made it 10x worse. We stood at reception for at least 15 minutes in silence before getting shown to the villa. It was an absolute disgrace.

Then at breakfast the next day we were berated by the waitress for not having a breakfast voucher - the receptionist had given us no information about this whatsoever so we looked like complete idiots.

It was such a shame as the villa was really nice and the facilities at the resort looked great. If you are in a family of four the villa was really well equipped and parents can have their own room whilst being under the same building as the kids. We did have an issue with hot water in the morning but I could not face complaining! The service and food in the onsite bar were brilliant.

We might consider staying here again if the receptionist is sacked - she is doing nothing for business and is quite likely losing the owner money. Even the most placid of our group lost the plot with anger which is saying something!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Kas25Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Prior to arrival, we were told a taxi driver would be waiting for us at the airport holding a sign with our name- didn't happen. However, a few minutes later I was able to grab another taxi at the same price. Although, the price booked with Travelocity states "All prices include taxes & fees," you will have to pay the additional $328.98 for hotel fees & taxes, plus a $300.00 security deposit. On the 3rd day, at the 7:30 AM breakfast they ran out of milk & said they would have to send someone to the store. We just ate the cereal dry that morning. Two of the entrees that I ordered at the Splash restaurant were not completely cooked.....pizza wasn't cooked thoroughly and chicken sandwich tasted rubbery. Dinner at the Latitudes restaurant next door was much better! I also recommend Shirley's Fish Fry and try the fried lobster at Santana's! On the evening before our excursion I tried to get fresh beach towels but was told they were still in the dryer and I could pick them the next morning before I left on the excursion. The driver picked us up at 7:45 AM, but the office didn't open until 8:00 AM, so had to go on the day long excursion without beach towels. We first went on the 1/2 day Exuma Water Sports tour with Justin and it was awesome! Since we wanted to go to the grotto also, I booked another tour with Four C's - it was awesome too! There were a few glitches with no ice at first & the restrooms in the their office were temp. out of order, but all went well and we had a great Bahamian lunch at Lorraine's Cafe. We were supposed to also see the calming cave and starfish alley, but that didn't happen because of time. Our tour lasted approx. 8-1/2 hrs, but didn't get to see everything as advertised. Exuma Hideaways has the best beachfront and we had a wonderful time. I also recommend that you catch Elvis' water taxi & go over to Chat & Chill for the Sunday Pig Roast and also feed the stingrays. They are amazing and the food was good too! We absolutely loved our villa and the proximity to the beach. We will be back to Georgetown soon!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank sandbucketlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We were staying at Hideaways and had a couple of requests for the staff. Each one was a flat out "no." If we had booked our room at a steep discount, maybe we would have been a little more zen about their inability to problem-solve but we actually paid an amount for our room that was far greater than the posted rate in the room. Super disappointing! We ended up checking out and moving next door.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank misopiso88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev B, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Each review, whether good or not so good is very important to us. The reviews are tools to let us know what we are doing right and where we need to improve.

We would have liked the opportunity to assist you with the requests that were made. We wish that you had asked for assistance from upper management, where we would have maybe been able to find a solution if what you were requesting was beyond our standard policies.

We would love to hear from you directly to get a clearer picture of the requests you made that we weren't able help you with. Improving our services are always on the forefront!

We apologize that you found our staff unfriendly and unhelpful, that is certainly NOT the Hideaways way!

Respectfully yours,

Staff & Management
Hideaways Exuma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Ocean view is the key to the happiness there :) Excellent front desk services.... everyone at this resort were nice, friendly and pretty much getting out of their way to help and satisfy everyone; Anisa at the front desk was beyond amazing! Shuttle drivers would stop when seeing you walking to make sure you don't need a ride to or from town.
Food was great :) Anita <-- the manager was making sure everyone got their food on time and in order :)
Pool always clean, however, we were swimming in the ocean :)

Room Tip: always upgrade to an ocean view... you will never regret it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hannah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
2.2 km away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
3.2 km away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
175 reviews
17.8 km away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 km away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
0.2 km away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
307 reviews
0.2 km away
Exuma Beach Resort
Exuma Beach Resort
#4 of 13 in Great Exuma
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaways at Palm Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaways at Palm Bay

Address: Jolly Hall Bay at Queens Highway, George Town 00000, Great Exuma
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in George Town
Price Range: R3 254 - R5 103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hideaways at Palm Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are planning a trip to the Exumas, look no further than Hideaways at Palm Bay. Our beachfront resort offers you a variety of accommodations, ranging from studio, one & two bedroom cottages to one, two and three bedroom villas. We have it all for you here at Hideaways. Our casual, friendly, and peaceful resort offers you the opportunity to play in the sand on our private beach, or lounge by the pool with a drink in your hand from Splash!, the on site bar and grill. Hideaways was made for you, and our amenities and facilities were designed with you in mind. Offering in suite massage for pampering, complimentary water toys for entertainment, and gorgeous views for enjoying the sunset on our private patio, you will find Hideaways is filled ample opportunity for couples, families, and friends, all to have a great time away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hideaways at Palm Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaways At Palm Bay Hotel Great Exuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing