We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
4
5
12
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
5
12
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Pluses for this place; posh appearance, nice pool, good outdoor dinning and bar with a really excellent band in the evening. Minuses; typical hotel water issues, lighting, comfort, etc. The breakfast restaurant was better than most. SDdlB is quite small and unremarkable and there is not a lot going on outside the hotel walls. The hotel is also adjacent to the local hospital and my group was awakened by shrieks of grief in the night. On the plus side, not too much dog barking.

When we stayed there, ours was one of four cycling groups, so the place is very friendly to cyclists.

You may meet Pilo, a local English teacher (the local school is a bock away, and he is out roaming during recess)who is a straight-up guy but at the same time will endeavor to get a few CuCs out of you by showing you the sad state of his library and gym supplies. My interaction with him was one of the more remarkable ones of my journey in Cuba, and I wish there was a way to get the money to where it should go and not just to Pilo. In Cuba, this type of hustle is not a bad thing. You meet someone with a good story who can tell you about life on the island without a filter, and what is a few bucks to you if you already made it this far? His English is perfect.

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank scottbsauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

This region is very interesting, with mogotes and caves from ancient limestone deposits. Rooms are along an open corridor where one might encounter a tree frog or lizard on the wall, lovely swimming pool with plaza around it. Food was the usual Cuban fare, plain but plentiful. Plumbing worked fine.

Room tip: Only first floor is wheelchair accessible, but steep paths & stairs connect areas, so difficult for handicap access
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

This hotel, like many in Cuba is charmingly stuck in the sixties. We stayed there for two nights while birding in the area. The pool is fantastic - large and attractive and nice after a day of hiking. The food was plain but good. One morning there was a hatch of flying ants. They were in the outdoors corridor drawn by the lights. Sort of like something from a movie. Aside from a couple that made it into the room there were no bugs. One night it rained so we couldn't enjoy the bar with the thatched roof. We did just fine.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Not really able to grade the hotel itself because our reservation never reached the hotel or the reservation center. Nevertheless the Staff was super helpful and really nice. They managed to find a solution for our group of 8. They litterally saved our trip avoiding us 1 night in the car ! Thank you !

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank Virginie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

This was a lovely old hotel. Our room was comfortable although a little musty smelling at first. But the AC worked and the shower was warm. The beds were comfortable. Our meals were excellent and we found the staff to be warm and accommodating. We even had a salsa lesson from the charming and energetic instructor. For me the very best was the music at dinner. A highly talented group, Fantasmas, played each evening. They were superb by any measure, and I was delighted to be able to obtain one of their CD’s. I would go back to the hotel anytime just to hear them perform.

This was a great place to stay for birders.

One challenge we found throughout our stay in Cuba was finding places to exchange money. Hotels often did not have enough currency to exchange, so when in a city, take the opportunity to find a bank and exchange some currency.

In Cuba, as in other third world countries, we endeavor to enjoy the cultural vicissitudes and idiosyncrasies of the accommodations, transportation and meals. No question that we are viewed as representatives of our country. We take this role seriously, always trying to be ambassadors and never the “ugly American”.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Richard_Milsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews