We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A humble and beautiful home in Coral Bay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our spectacular view overlooking Coral Bay and the BVI chain of islands.  Welcome to Villa Morena! Welcome to Villa Morena!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Our spectacular view overlooking Coral Bay and the BVI chain of islands.  Welcome to Villa Morena!
Welcome to Villa Morena!
Villa Morena sits in the prestigious neighborhood of Upper Carolina
The lower level guest suites are accessed by a seperate entrance
Three-story Villa Morena
One of friendly neighbors.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coral Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Natasha G
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A humble and beautiful home in Coral Bay”
Reviewed 25 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed at Villa Morena the first week of March 2016. Ten years ago we visited St. John and stayed at Maho Bay Camps. They have since been sold to a private owner. Yet for the many reasons we came before, we knew we'd discover those and more when visiting again.

We arrived on St. John knowing this is not a resort tropical island. Our reasons for coming back included the quiet, nature-filled beaches, the wild donkeys, the lush vegetation and the eco-tourism that the island boasts. This time we discovered even more.

It started with our communications with owner, Dan. The photos of Villa Morena are beautiful and the price was right. We have a seven and five year old whose safety we were concerned about being so high up on the cliffs of Coral Bay. Dan and I spoke on the phone and he reassured me that the backyard was secure for the children not to plunge off the cliff; mom worry here.

We got our rental jeep from Amelie in St. Thomas. They were awesome. They picked us up at the airport and made it so easy.

Villa Morena is built on a steep hill like most houses on the island. After the first rugged drive up the hill I was used to the drive. The outdoor balcony is high up and children should be watched on the deck. But it is an incredible view. The house is well appointed and well kept. It's minimal decor works for me; it's cleaner because of it. I love the mango-wood (or looks like) ceilings. So beautiful. Our bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable.

Overall Villa Morena is a great place to stay if you are looking for a basic, clean home overlooking gorgeous Coral Bay. We didn't turn on the TV during our stay but they have a couple. Our friends stayed in the apartment below and loved it. We kept the sliders open at night to listen to the rain and sounds of the wildlife. There is a gutter outside of the master bedroom. After it rains (and during) there is a dripping sound that for some reason is very loud. I had earplugs that really helped. So I'd suggest earplugs if you are a light sleeper, for it rained every night while we were there. I called it the perfect rain because it was only at night and never during our beautiful beach days.

The washer and dryer were locked when we arrived. They are on the older side and small. Don't plan on much laundry while visiting because of the washer and dryer and because Villa Morena uses the rainwater system to get its water. This is an eco-feature that I really appreciated. It gave our children their first experience of real water conservation.

There is a clothesline on the deck with plenty of clothes pins. That was our preferred laundry option.

Dan and Lorena keep Villa Morena a humble vacation spot well worth the rate.

Enjoy! We really did.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Hi, Natasha,
Thank you very much for the Villa Morena review you left. My husband and I have purchased the Villa Morena and already made several improvements to the villa to make our guests' stay even more enjoyable. We have replaced the washer and dryer. However, with the costs of our electric bill and to conserve on water consumption, we take our items to a local laundry service. We have updated all of the linens and towels at the villa and replaced all of the bedding. We hope you will visit again and see all of our improvements.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OhioJacki...
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Amazing vacation!”
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first trip to St. John USVI. I did not know the area or anything about accommodations. Dan proved to be a wonderful resource. From booking, arrival and throughout the stay he was only a text or an email away. The Villa Morena is on the "quiet end"on the island near coral Bay. We stayed in the lower two bedroom, efficiency - type apartment. It was perfect for us. We had total privacy, a gorgeous view of coral Bay- all nestled in a tropical mountainside paradise. The house is gorgeous. The neighborhood is beautiful. There are so many things we enjoyed about staying there. There were beach chairs, a small cooler and snorkel equipment for our use. All were appreciated and used. The welcome package was also a wonderful treat. I won't say more because I don't want to ruin anyone else's surprise! Dan recommended a boating charter and jeep rental that we used and both were perfect. One morning we woke up to donkeys on the driveway. We also fed the local birds from our beautiful patio. All week long we were entertained by the bananaquitwho who came and ate sugar out of a bowl that we put on the patio! Saint John is without a doubt the most beautiful place in the world I have ever visited. Don't hesitate to stay at this property. You will not be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2017
Jackie, where do I start! Thank you so much for the generous words! I couldn't be happier that you guys had an amazing vacation and loved your trip to our little paradise. It was our pleasure having you at Villa Morena and we hope to see you for many years to come. THANK YOU!

Dan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonyaF_79
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful adventure!”
Reviewed 6 December 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I can honestly say that Dan was truly helpful and always had answers for us. Villa Morena was exactly what we were looking for. We had the most beautiful views and the location was perfect. Thanks so much Dan for helping make our island adventure perfect!! We will definitely be coming back to Villa Morena!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2016
Thank you for the kind words Sonya! We enjoyed having you and it was a pleasure to assist with all your questions. We hope you had an amazing time on our little rock in the middle of the ocean, and we truly hope to see you soon on St. John!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbonneau
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mr.”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The villa is amazing and private. Dan is always in contact and extremely helpful. Dan does everything to ensure you are attended to from being picked up at ferry upon arrival to excellent suggestions on what you may need or want to do. The villa is not to be missed. It's close to everything from beaches to cruz bay. Dan makes sure from jeep rental to dive cruises you have whatever you need or want. The view from the deck is amazing and breath taking. The snorkel, chairs and towels are great for the beach. Definitely returning to this great place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2016
Thank you for the kind words! It was amazing having you both at Villa Morena and meeting you. I can't wait for your return so we can help plan another amazing trip for you guys! Don't forget our amazing friends and family discounts and return traveler discounts. We will definitely have a cold one waiting for your return trip :)

All our best,

Dan and Lorena
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterfb20...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house, great views, enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I said all I am going to say right above. The house was well equipped. We had some problems
that were immediately taken care of. We enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing