We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Surpassed expectations”
other travellers have booked this property
Stunning views of the Caribbean Sea, Hurricane Hole and the British Virgin Islands are the focus
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning views of the Caribbean Sea, Hurricane Hole and the British Virgin Islands are the focus
Coral Bay Eco-Retreat beckons you to enjoy the Virgin Islands view from your outdoor dining deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Stunning views of the Caribbean Sea, Hurricane Hole and the British Virgin Islands are the focus
Coral Bay Eco-Retreat beckons you to enjoy the Virgin Islands view from your outdoor dining deck
Views over the Caribbean Sea,gazing over the horizon,watching brightly lit cruise ships in the night
It's so peaceful that the Banana Quits land on your hand for their morning sugar
Aerial view of location-yellow pen on left is pointing to it
Pawley Island hammock for two is perfect for favorite island sports: hammock warming and star gazing
The colors of the expansive view change throughout the day
House exterior from south
Exterior showing closest neighbor(white roof on left)
Lower BR deck & banana quits in feeder on tree by bed
You're welcomed by a mermaid
Exterior from east showing part of kitchen
Bamboo etagere' in living room wlecomes you with Caribbean books and hiking trail maps,St. John info
Living room bamboo etagere' holds books, magazines, TV/DVD player (no TV reception/DVD only)
'Jenny', a painting by Nevis artist of a legendary goat woman; CBER was once a home for rescue goats
Living close to nature includes visits from local critters: donkeys, deer, sheep, mongoose
View from open-air master bedroom, private deck, bathroom, massage table area, view of Caribbean Sea
Master Bath includes shower, eco-low-water usage toilet, wicker chest, pedestal sink and open view
Sunrise 'Morning Show' is spectacular, peaceful, beautiful, serence way to start the day
Gheckos abound as bug exterminators, crumb cleaners and computer consultants!
Sunrises and sunsets are spectacular and offer meditation and contemplation and a natural light show
Tropical flowers, indigenous plants abound in aqua ceramic planters
Hermit crabs sometimes join you in the kitchen!
Traffic jam Coral Bay style on the Johnny Horn Trail
Did we mention the fabulous sunrise aka as the Morning Show
Exteror from across the valley-shows 44 steps, driveway
Angels, statues, crystals join the natural settings of rocks and trees to create serenity and peace
Upstairs half-bath is open air and shares an outdoor garden shower
View towards Coral Bay harbor overlooks Bordeaux mountain and often captures rainbows
Mural in massage area created by the first guest to stay in Coral Bay Eco Retreat
The deck is the centerpiece for outdoor living with the hammock, grill and glass-top table
exterior from west-upper deck
The historic and beautiful Emmaus Moravian Church, built in 1700's, is the gatekeeper for JH trail
Map/sign at the Johnny Horn Trailhead; 1.5 miles to Leinster Bay
Challenging part of the road to C B E R- requires four wheel drive vehicle/adventurous spirit
Whimsical metal frog statue adorns the massage are garden
Painting by Bahamian artist of Little Girl in Prayer
Painting by Jamaican artist of Caribbean woman cleaning fish; my father & grandfather were fisherman
House on right:Located adjacent to the VINP, perched on a hillside;nearest neighbor is home to left
massage table area/deck adjacent to lower br
Banana quits are so friendly...a bird in the hand!
Tiny gheckos visit bromeliad in bedroom garden
The sugar birds will call you back!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Coral Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nathan H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surpassed expectations”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I honeymooned here and it was couldn't have been much better. Allison, as other reviewers have said, is wonderful and very helpful. She has a gift for creating welcoming and comfortable spaces. Seriously though, every aspect of the house was well thought through and intentional.

We stayed without a jeep and stayed mostly at the house. It's a good hike to the beach which is the only downside to doing this, but for the active and vigorous, it's an adventure.

The views were breathtaking, the birds ever-present, and joys of living in the open air unending.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lostsol95
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed 14 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Idyllic is the first word that comes to mind when waking up and experiencing the sunrise perched high on the Johnny Horn overlooking Coral Bay, the neighboring islands, and the expansive sea beyond.
Allison is a wonderful person and peaceful in nature. She unobtrusively checked in with me before, during, and after my stay.
The accommodations were very comfortable and had a nice balance of being open to the outdoors and still private, while leaving a minimal, if any, footprint on the environment. Wildlife surrounds you. I had bananaquits eating out of my hand, hummingbirds whizz past me, and anole lizards keeping the place in check!
My intentions for my stay were to live simply and experience St. John's natural surroundings, and Allison's Retreat exceeded my expectations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, View, Birds, Hammock, every part of the home
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Liked best: Views, Close to Nature, Seclusion, Access to Restaurants/Beaches
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for your kind and beautiful words. It was a pleasure to have you and your bride at the retreat....I love having people in love at the Love Nest!!! I truly hope you can return....and thanks for noticing the details. It IS a bit tricky to keep it pristine with all the critters and winds blowing through! Take care and come back!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Viktoria1...
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We can’t say enough how much we enjoyed Allison's eco-retreat. The beauty of the surrounding and the welcome feel of the home were incredible.
Every morning you get up with a beautiful sunrise and humming bird with bananaquits hovering around. The location of the tree-house is awesome. The place is located uphill on a winding road, close to the town, but high enough to feel in peace and provide an amazing view of the bays and surrounding hills. The road is hikeable but I would not recommend unless you are really-really determined to get some exercise. I would definitely advise renting 4WD.
We loved that the house was built with preserving environment in mind. The outdoor shower, the rainwater “dishwasher”, the solar powered lights, everything was remarkable and I wish there were more people on this earth that had the same attitude toward the environment as Allison does.
Thank you for everything Allison, you have created an amazing piece of heaven and we cannot wait to come back again!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and eco focus
Liked least: We had to go back home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2013
Dear Viktoria, Thank you for your kind words. It was a total pleasure to have you at the eco retreat and I so appreciate your upbeat comments and appreciative heart! I hope you get lots of hummingbirds at your little recycled feeder! Let me know if you have any visitors. Hope you can come back soon. I'd love to have you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing