We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous”
The Grange - comfortable 4* house and 12m heated swimming pool.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Grange - comfortable 4* house and 12m heated swimming pool.
The Grange - Dining Room, high quality white china place settings and no shortage of glassware. Cosy evenings in The Grange, log fires and wood fired central heating.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The Grange - comfortable 4* house and 12m heated swimming pool.
The Grange - Dining Room, high quality white china place settings and no shortage of glassware.
Cosy evenings in The Grange, log fires and wood fired central heating.
Relax by the pool! It is heated and illuminated for those who wish to swim in the evening.
The Grenier - enjoy panoramic views of the countryside, breakfast through to evening
The Grenier, kitchen with full oven, induction hob, dishwasher, microwave and high quality china
The Grenier Sejour
12m heated pool, with cover and opening sides
Poppas - Living Room with mezzanine - overlooking the gardens
Poppas - the sunny kitchen opening on to a south facing terrace
Cookery books and plenty of equipment in each property
The Neighbours
The Wine Rack - for empties only!
Penstemmons in the pretty garden
Wonderful sunsets and clear night skies for star gazing - no light pollution.
Saumur Chateau above the pretty town of Saumur with its glistening white buildings and busy market.
Giseux Chateau, just 10 minutes away
Springtime at the end of our private drive.
The Rose Allée - a calm and relaxing place to read a book or take morning coffee.
Sunset by the pool
The old bread oven, we have a pizza oven too.
We think about the little things to make your holiday a happy one.
Mouth-watering menus in the local restaurants
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Parcay-les-Pins, Maine et Loire, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Chloe M
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 23 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Our group was made up of three generations of our family - 2 adults, 2 teenagers and 2 grandparents. The grandparents were in the 2 bedroom apartment upstairs, and the four of us stayed in The Grange. Facilities in the Grange were very good, every imaginable kitchen utensil, plently of crockery, barbeque, wi-fi, iPod dock on TV and plenty of plug sockets. We couldn't have been happier with the holiday. The weather is changeable in France, but we were lucky and only had 2 days of light rain. The property was well stocked, and traditionally decorated. It could maybe have been a little cleaner, but it was definitely homely. We were greeted warmly, and the hosts even booked a meal for us on the first night when we couldn't get to the supermarket. They were lovely people. and always cheerful. The area is remote, but SuperU, the local supermarket, stocks everything you need for a self catering holiday. You need to have a car with you to enjoy the area really, you can walk into Parcay Les Pins but there's not an awful lot there. There's a tennis court at the bottom of the road, which is open to the public. The pool is brill, oxygenated so chlorine doesn't burn your eyes and throat. Our next door neighbours were ponies and chickens! Would be a brilliant safe area for people with young children. The Gites are close enough to feel communal, but private enough to have your own space which is a major bonus. Would definitely reccomend this rental!

Places to Visit.. The tank museum (better than we expected and good for a rainy day), the chateau at gizeux, big lake with a steam train on Sundays (sorry, can't remember what it's called but i'm sure the hosts will know).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Downstairs shower room could be redone in The Grange
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2012
Thank you for the lovely review. The steam train is at Lac Rillé and worth the visit, as is the nature reserve and bird hide at the other side of the lake. It's a visiting place for migratory birds too.

We always take cleanliness very seriously and do a lot of 'unseen' work to make sure everything is hygienic for our guests. An old property never looks as pristine as a new build, but we steam clean all the bathrooms,, regularly change the pillows, use a UV cleaner for the furniture throughout the properties and provide freshly laundered pure cotton bedding.

We thought you were such a well organised and active family of 3 generations and enjoyed some interesting reminiscences with your family too. We would love to see you back again here too.

August 2013 - Just spotted the comment about the downstairs shower room, which was in our programme for October 2012. It was done then, fitted with large shower tray, glass shower screen with safety glass and new tiling. Looking pretty good!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Reviewed 29 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 May 2012
Happy memories of a lovely family. We so enjoyed your stay here too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
COparroth...
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Good Place to Explore the Loire”
Reviewed 10 November 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We stayed with Mike and Jean at Les Mortiers with a group of 8 adults. We originally had only reserved two of the three units for the 8 of us but Mike and Jean graciously allowed us to have all three units we had the entire complex. Mike and Jean are gracious and fantastic hosts. All of the accomodations are comfortable and clean. Although we were not traveling with children the facilities would be perfect for families looking for a nice getaway. We explored a new area of the Loire daily. The location of Les Mortiers has that country charm. Numerous attractions and more populated towns are within a 45 minute drive in any direction. We spent a lot of time exploring but could see how the place could be relaxing to just "chill out" around the pool if you so choose. If you are looking for lots of activity and nightife this is probably not your first choice...if you are seeking a relaxed atmosphere in the French Countryside with wonderful hosts you wont be dissapointed. Jean is an avid gardener and Mike has an amazing craft making custom silk fly fishing line......you can just imagine the picture!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our little wee house and the ponies
Liked least: Distance from towns and other sites
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2011
Thank you for such a lovely review.

What a delightful group of friends you all are. We enjoyed sharing Les Mortiers with you and hearing each day about your different adventures in our part of France.

We were delighted that you enjoyed the day at Le Tasting Room to discover Loire wines, but sorry that your time passed too quickly for your Talent Evening to take place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzie J
Berkhamsted
2 reviews
“Wonderful rural France, close to amenities, superb sightseeing and activities if you manage to leave Les Mortiers at all”
Reviewed 7 November 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Original, rustic, comfortable, wonderful pool and nothing is too much trouble. Mike and Jean have created a superb 'home from home' and we are due for our 5th year in a row in 2012. Not so sure we want to let anyone know about this treasure in case you book our week the following year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
Beckenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We will return”
Reviewed 20 August 2011 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Another great week at Les Mortiers with outstanding hosts Jean and Mike. This was our fourth visit over the years to this wonderful and comfortable location in the Loire which is peaceful and an absolutely wonderful place to chill out. It is also an ideal location for exploring the many delights of the Loire its history, the numerous chateaus and especially its wines. Whilst there we spent an extremely enjoyable and educational day devoted to food and wine at the Le tasting room being tutored on the finer points of wine followed by an outstanding lunch and wine tour in the afternoon; a day not to be missed. After all of these excesses it was great to be able to chill by the pool at Les Mortier and soak up the sun. A place to be recommended to which we will return.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2011
It was delightful to welcome you here again and see the family growing up too. A lovely time of the year to visit and a happy coincidence that our guests from Australia were together at letastingroom at the same time. The Loire has such a lot of wine styles to offer - all within a short distance.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing