We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunningly beautiful and blissfully relaxing”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

14rainerb
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful and blissfully relaxing”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The perfect get-away place in the beautiful mountains of Tuscany. This monastery has been lovingly restored to a high-end finish. Chilling by the pool with the only background sound being bird songs and the wind rustling in the trees, as it is some distance from a main street or other dwellings, being situated high up, offering sublime views across the valley.
The kitchen and dining room are spacious and equipped to satisfy any chef's desires and there even is an out-door pizza oven!
The restored church is grand and awe-inspiring with a library in the loft to chill out in, that overlooks the space. We watched the football on the big screen - projected onto the church's wall!
The host is incredibly friendly and easy-going. The food was delicious and of the highest quality. People in the small local village and its shops are also super friendly (around 15 minutes walk down the hill) and there is also a superb restaurant there.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dora W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful retreat”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed here for one week and could've stayed for a month! The rooms were classic and spacious, and the place was very peaceful. The swimming pool was great and made it a bit hard to leave! Steven and Lindsey were lovely hosts and the food was amazing (especially the homemade pizza from the pizza oven). The local village is a short walk and there are also wonderful places to ear nearby. We'll definitely be back and would thoroughly recommend it.

Date of stay: June 2014
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic stay with great food”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed for a six night stay in June and had a great time. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to get away from it all and wants some down time. It sits in a beautiful valley with fantastic views across the forest and is a very peaceful spot. The outside pool is also a great addition.

A lot of love has gone into the renovation and the place looks stunning. It has been beautifully renovated with an obvious love of Tuscan architecture. The best thing about my stay was the food which was an education to me. Steven (the host) loved cooking and was willing to share his knowledge.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The walk to my room as I was at the top of the house
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachi3kay
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I spent a wonderful week here with some old friends. Steven and Lindsay are very charming hosts, and cooked up a storm each night with incredible local produce. I'm looking forward to returning when they have the cooking and glass-blowing classes underway. Well recommended!

Date of stay: June 2014
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.